We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
TUI SENSIMAR Savoy Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 September 2009

We stayed at the Savoy Gardens in Madeira last week and I have to say that our stay from arriving to departure has been excellent. The staff in the hotel are very friendly and efficient and the team from Thomsons was exceptional. We looked forward to coming down each morning to see Hayley's smiling face and the activities and entertainment provided by the whole team were excellent. They did not put on pressure to join in but always had plenty of people joining in as they made each activity an enjoyable experience. We found the food to be very good with plenty of choice and something different every day. The rooms were spacious, modern and comfortable. There were tea and coffee making facilities in the room but you need to take your own tea and coffee as there was only enough for your first day and then you were charged if you wanted more,
There was never any fight for a sunbed and we always found one available no matter what time of day it was. The roof terrace provides fabulous views over funchal. You need to be fairly fit to stay in this hotel as the walk back up from the town was quite steep. Overall I would recommend this hotel to anyone who would like a quite holiday, relaxing in the sun.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank langerDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,973)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,854 - 1,860 of 1,973 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2009

Hotel its self was clean and staff very friendly but the location and the food is poor. They have a gala night and even on that night the food was not good. We thought it was a bit unfair that guests had no choice on the gala night it was a set menu. There was a few complained about this but the menu was the same for everyone. There was nowhere to sit after 9 o clock and have a quite drink as the staff were sent downstaires into the entertainment room to serve behind the bar. The pool is situated along side a busy road in the front of the hotel. Because the hotel is in the centre of a residential area there are alot of barking dogs, and they seem to bark all day and every day. We did enjoy our holiday but would definately not return to the Savoy Gardens. Thomson have rated it a 4 star and it is in their gold selection, but in our opinion on food and location alone it should not be there.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2009

hotel spotlessly clean, location poor. stayed in other thomson gold hotels and food much better ,lack of variety and food slow to be replenished .Thomson reps very helpful and entertainment team worked hard but much of the same thing most nights.Only one professional act on week (Bobby Bennet comedian ) very good.Local night with the folklore dancers very poor.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank essenelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2009

This hotel is new refurbished and is clean and friendly with several different areas. Thomson reps very helpful and enthusiastic. Thomson trips were very expensive so used Strawberry world which were excellent and much better value for money. Drinks in the hotel were very expensive eg. hotel wine at dinner table was 13 euros a bottle. We found it in the supermarket for 1.75 euros - what a profit. Also bar drinks expensive, go to the White house just down the road for better value. Food was extremely disappointing. Breakfast - eggs and bacon swimming in oil and repetative. Dinner - cold and repetative. Most food cold and overcooked. If vegetarian there is little choice and most salads had 'meat' in them until I requested they were not added to all salads. Gala night food poor quality - overcooked and tasteless. In fact the chef did not seem to be able to make anything with any flavour most things were bland. Desserts sickly creamy stuff - jelly and icecream the best and fresh fruit. Entertainments far too noisy - impossible to talk to anyone - we tended to sit outside and could still here easily without our ear drums being damaged!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smiley98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2009

We stayed in the Savoy Gardens Hotel for 2 weeks In July and August
The Hotel Rooms Staff were excellent.
Hayley and John are realy nice the Thompson Gold Reps
The Entertainment Team Jinx, Adele, Alex, Liam, Richard and not forgetting Justin on lights and sound were very good.

The thing that did dissapoint me a bit were the variety of food was limited.
And the price of Thompsons Excursions I thought were very over priced
We used a local company calle Strawberry Wold.Com executive coaches with leather seats.
I would reccomend this
company as you will get excellent tours at half the price this company has no involvement with timeshare.

Overall this was an excellent hotel and would reccoment it.

Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
2  Thank KARL39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2009

Lovely Hotel but let down by the location and somewhat limited menu.
Although reasonably fit the location of this hotel is not for anyone with
mobility problems, walking into the centre of town takes at least 30 minutes and
15 minutes to the Lido ( which is mainly used by local teenagers ).
The rooms and public areas are spotless and very up to date.
Entertainment 50/50 some nights excellent and other nights dreadfull.
Quite a lot of traffic noise from the road and at night whilst sitting on your
balcony the continuous barking from dogs was annoying.
Madeira itself is ok but expensive ( 2 vodka/coke = 12 euros ) with limited entertainment

We might go back one day but it would be for a mini break or
better still for a stopover whilst on a cruise.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melon7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2009

Have just returned from two weeks at this new Thomson Gold hotel. We paid extra and stayed in a suite with sun loungers on the huge balcony which had full sun in the afternoon. We found this abit overpowering and while we were there the hotel fitted a canopy over the patio door to enable us to have some shade. The suite itself was very spacious and kept spotlessly clean by our maid who came twice a day. In the morning she cleaned and in the afternoon about 4 o'clock to ask if we needed anything. The public areas of the hotel were also kept very clean.
All the staff were very friendly and the entertainment team worked very hard as the cabaret room didn't have a big stage and pillars restricted the view from some seats, they tried to overcome this by having screens on the walls.
We found the food acceptable, we really enjoyed the choice for breakfast and always found something to our liking for evening meal.
The downsides for us were that the whole area is very hilly and a walk was impossible without having to negotiate a hill, also the road in front of the hotel was noisy at times with traffic, however this did not seem to bother other people.
We made some good friends during our stay as everyone spoke the same language so it was easy to chat.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fiftyishwestmids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
3,075 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
0.1 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 88 in Funchal
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Enotel Lido Madeira
Enotel Lido Madeira
#21 of 88 in Funchal
2,645 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#32 of 88 in Funchal
2,425 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pestana Casino Park
Pestana Casino Park
#34 of 88 in Funchal
3,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TUI SENSIMAR Savoy Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TUI SENSIMAR Savoy Gardens

Address: Azinhaga Casa Branca 7, Funchal, Madeira 9004-543, Portugal (Formerly Savoy Gardens)
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Funchal
Price Range: £64 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — TUI SENSIMAR Savoy Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cradled against an oceanfront hillside and located in a quiet and sunny suburb of Funchal, within approx 2km from the city centre, the renovated Hotel Savoy Gardens (ex-Vila Ramos), renowned for the provision of friendly and personalised service, offers amazing mountain and sea views across lush verdant plantations. The Savoy Gardens is a friendly boutique-style hotel that provides its guests a modern feel and a traditional quality. All 119 completely renovated rooms include 9 suites. All have their own furnished balcony and are equipped with air-conditioning, direct dial telephone, flat screen TV set with interactive TV, FREE internet wireless system, tea and coffee making facilities, safety box and mini-bar, plus a fully equipped bathroom with bathtub, shower and hairdryer.The elegant and new interiors are all designed in soft colours with excellent materials to create a relaxing atmosphere throughout the hotel. The Savoy Gardens Hotel features the Restaurant Laurissilva, serving a daily buffet breakfast and themed Buffet dinners with cooking station. In a reserved cosy area, this restaurant also features a elegant a la carte dinner service. The Cica cocktail bar serving evening cocktails and the Palmeira bar serving snacks, hot and fresh drinks throughout the day as well as a daily suggestion of healthy and delicious light dishes for lunch. One outdoor freshwater heated swimming pool, a panoramic rooftop 360º view terrace with sun-lounges, jacuzzi, shower and self-service bar - the ideal location to spot the daily arrivals and departures of cruise liners in Funchal's harbour. Some of the facilities are also located in the lower-ground floor, such as the Spa with themed and seasonal promotions and special spa packages, the hairdresser, a games and TV room with internet desk and the Night Club Magnolia with nightly live music and entertainment. The Savoy Gardens Hotel is a new concept in Adults Only accommodation. Conceived as a place for rest and fun specially dedicated for those seeking a relaxing although extravagant vacation: unique experiences, amazing entertainment programmes, personalised service and attention to detail and all the commodities and services of a hotel for guests over 16 years of age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your TUI SENSIMAR Savoy Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Savoy Gardens
Savoy Gardens Funchal
TUI SENSIMAR Savoy Gardens Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing