We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,146)
Filter reviews
2,146 results
Traveller rating
1,089
771
202
60
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,089
771
202
60
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews roof terrace honesty bar magnolia lounge entertainment team thomson staff couples hotel sea view thomson gold building work steep hill lovely hotel games area plenty of choice dogs barking evening entertainment a la carte restaurant breakfast and dinner
Filter
Updating list...
95 - 100 of 2,146 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2018 via mobile

The location of this hotel, in my opinion, is perfect! You are a short walk into downtown which is nice because it is a bit quieter than other locations.

There is construction going on right next door which takes away a little bit from enjoying relaxing poolside but it’s not terrible. I wouldn’t let the construction to stop anyone from staying here.

The rooftop terrace is what makes this hotel stand out above the rest. The view from the roof is outstanding ! And I can’t forget to mention the great bar tenders at the pool and roof top terrace, especially Andre! He was very friendly and gave us some fabulous recommendations on local places we must go.

I would give the hotel a 4 star rating if the construction hadn’t been going on at the time.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank briangun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maria do carmo g, Manager at TUI SENSIMAR Savoy Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Dear Guests,
Warm greetings from sunny Funchal!

We were delighted to welcome you at the TUI Sensimar Savoy Gardens Hotel and thank you for taking the time to share your experience on this website.

Our elevated location is definitely a plus and we greatly appreciate you highlighting the stunning views of Funchal bay, harbour and the extensive ocean views stretching out to the horizon from our wonderful rooftop facilities – indeed an additional strong point at the Savoy Gardens and we are pleased you did appreciate it. Equally, we will be happy to pass on your compliments to the entire team, in particular Andre at the bar who will pleased to hear of your kind feedback.

As we have mentioned in previous reviews, the building work close to the hotel, this is a low-story block of deluxe residential apartments and completion is scheduled for late 2018. The works have now reached the final phase of fixtures and fittings being finished off, and we have liaised with the builders to ensure any sporadic noise is only carried out at certain times of the day and of less inconvenience to our guests. We have also tried to minimise any visual impact on our guests whilst work is ongoing and we always endeavour to allocate rooms away from the work. We are sorry to hear that this prevented your full enjoyment of your stay on this occasion.

We hope your travels will bring you back to Madeira Island and the Savoy Gardens Hotel one day, it will be a pleasure to serve you again.
Warm regards and Muito Obrigada.
Aida Nunes
Hotel Manager



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

We (2 couples ) had a fantastic 1 week in Madeira . Hotel was nice and the breakfast and dinner exceptional every day. The variety of food was good and the staff friendly and helpful.we liked our sea facing double rooms and the hotel had spa, swimming pool, hair dresser and gym.
Would highly recommend a week in Madeira for a relaxing and enjoyable holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for a double room with sea view and on the upper floors like 4-6
Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
7  Thank Kirit P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maria do carmo g, Manager at TUI SENSIMAR Savoy Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Dear Guests,
Warm greetings from Funchal!

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your great feedback following your recent stay with us at the TUI Sensimar Savoy Gardens Hotel. We were delighted to read that we met your full expectation, you all had an enjoyable stay with us and we equally appreciate your high recommendation.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future when we will be sure to strive to exceed you expectation, once again.
Warm regards and Muito Obrigada.
Aida Nunes
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2018

Lovely hotel, very good food, pity about the building works going on next door and the weather was very unpredictable too in May, quite a steep hill to get to hotel. Tui Rep, Zamir is brilliant, had cold drinks offered on arrival with an introduction to the hotel by Anna.

Stayed: May 2018
4  Thank CarolE1656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maria do carmo g, Manager at TUI SENSIMAR Savoy Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2018

Dear Guest,
Warm greetings from Funchal!

Thank you for making the TUI Senismar Savoy Gardens Hotel your preference on your first visit to our beautiful Madeira Island. We were pleased to know that you enjoyed our delicious food offerings, received a warm welcome and we will certainly be sharing your kind words with Zamir and the rest of the team who will be delighted they could make your stay an enjoyable one.

On this opportunity, we would like to inform you that the construction close by to the hotel is of a low-story block of deluxe residential apartments and completion is due for late 2018. The works have now reached the final phase of fittings and finishes and we have liaised with the builders to ensure any sporadic noise is only carried out at certain times of the day and of less inconvenience to our guests. We are sorry to hear that this has affected the full enjoyment of your stay on this occasion.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back and to be of service to you again with our warm Madeiran hospitality.
Warm regards and Muito Obrigada.
Aida Nunes
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2018

Hotel access very hilly. We went in May 2018 and found a lot of building work all around the hotel creating a lot of dust. The only outstanding think about this hotel was the food, first class. Generally, the prices are very high in Maderia and in my opinion, you don't get value for money. . The hotel rooms are very small. The reception girls are quit tetchy and not very helpful. We had room 217 at the back of the hotel which was over the refrigerated area so we had a 24/7 noise from the generators.
Would not recommend this hotel to my worst enemy.

Room Tip: Don't except mountain view
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank miketravisbradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maria do carmo g, Manager at TUI SENSIMAR Savoy Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2018

Dear Guest
Warm greetings from Funchal!

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts following your stay in May at the TUI Sensimar Savoy Gardens Hotel. Although we are very pleased to note that you enjoyed in particular our delicious food offerings, we are concerned to learn that we did not meet your entire expectation on this occasion, particularly with the room you were assigned. On this opportunity, we would like to inform that we do feature a wide selection of rooms in higher categories, and perhaps on a future visit you could look at the option of reserving one of these room types to make your stay more comfortable.

Please be assured that at the TUI Senismar Savoy Gardens, we all continuously strive to provide a high level of service and courtesy to each and every guest and we are pleased to inform that the vast majority of our guests have a fully enjoyable time with us.

We do hope that you will decide to return to our hotel one day, it will be a pleasure to serve you again and to provide you with a more positive experience. If we can assist you with a future booking, please do not hesitate to contact us directly prior to your next visit.
Warmest regards and Muito Obrigada.
Aida Nunes
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2018

Just returned from our 7th visit to Savoy Gardens, our home from home. Hotel and staff superb, food choices are good with something for everyone. The food in the new Culinarium a la carte restaurant really good. Hotel set away from main road uphill but this leads to fantastic views over Funchal. The view from the roof terrace is incredible. The hotel is exceptionally clean, the rooms on the front are big with plenty of space and the upper floors have fantastic views. Funchal is a lovely city with some really good cafes and shops. Madeira is a stunning island so take some tours to see it. A trip on the cable car is great fun. Cannot wait to go back.l

Room Tip: High floor for stunning views over Funchal
Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
3  Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maria do carmo g, Manager at TUI SENSIMAR Savoy Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

Dear Guest,
Warm greetings from sunny Funchal.

Foremost, thank you for your renewed preference for the TUI Sensimar Savoy Gardens Hotel – your continued loyal support over the years is truly appreciated and is the best compliment we could ask for!

We will be delighted to share your wonderful review with the team here who will be delighted to know that they are the main reason you return to stay with us.

We all look forward to welcoming you back at your ‘home away from home’ on many more occasions.
With warm regards and Muito Obrigada.
Aida Nunes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews