We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel - shame about the hill”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
TUI SENSIMAR Savoy Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2010

First class hotel. Lovely clean room with wonderful sea views, large bed was very comfortable and every amenity - although not impressed by supplying tea and coffee for one day only! But thanks to Trip Advisor I followed someone's advice and took out my own tea bags.
Loved the Roof Sun Terrace - very peaceful with wonderful views.
Restaurant pretty good for Half Board - different selections very night, some very tasty. Desserts got a little repetitive though.
I thought Thomson Reps helpful - unlike other people, however they will all be changing soon, so good luck and thanks to Charlotte and Jade in their summer locations.
Not quite sure about the Gala Dinner - it felt like a way to get the Waiters an early night. One glass of wine doesn't constitute a Cocktail to me!
But the location - oh dear - I must have walked past a dozen hotels I would rather have stayed in - that hill is really a killer - and when you get back to your room do your stretching exercises. Don't go there if you have health problems. After Dinner unless you were super fit or didn't mind paying Taxi fares you really did feel "confined to quarters".
However we did have a lovely relaxing holiday.
Missed out on booking the trips with Strawberry World because we couldn't make up our minds, so splashed out on a Taxi Trip to the Nun's Valley. Although the Taxi Driver couldn't speak much English, it was an excellent trip and worth the extra expense.
Incidentally the Madeira Government are doing an Excellent job on clearing up after the Floods - so don't let that put you off. Although the Lido is very damaged.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JaneHoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,947)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,805 - 1,811 of 1,947 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2010

Holiday was wonderful there is nothing that we could fault, excellent flight, hotel,food,and entertainment ,Beauty spa treatment was also excellent and recommended,
Maderia is a magical place we would return and stay in this hotel again.
A supermarket which stocks most things is down by the LIDO also consider a local firm
which we used to go to Nunns valley just inside the shopping complex Monumental Lido they pick you up from the hotel and drop you back (Maderia happy tours) also cheaper for the boat trips THEY ARE NOT TIMESHARE but be aware of cheap deals on trips and people doing surveys because these are, we where caught out and wasted time trying to cancel when we realised our mistake.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PlymouthMeekie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2010

We found this hotel as a 'late deal' so we had excellent value for money. The hotel was extremely clean and the staff very friendly and helpful and the food was wonderful! The Thomson 'welcome meeting' did go on a little too long but it was useful to listen to. We wouldn't advise you pay the prices Thomson ask for trips however as they can be found much cheaper in town. Be aware of people trying to sell trips cheaply in receipt of you attending 'timeshare' meetings (they don't tell you they are trying to sell timeshares but we found this out and if a deal seems too good to be true it probably is!!)
The entertainment team were excellent. Lots of fun activities to do during the day and optional entertainment in the eve should you wish. Very talented young people. There is so much to do on the island, hiring a car would be very useful and probably save you money in the long term as trips to vist different parts of the island are not cheap. I would love to go back to Madeira and would definitely stay at the Savoy again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SomelikeithotWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2010

We know it's hilly before we go, so that is not really a downside.
Just had a week on half board and it's all as said before..........very professional, clean and an excellent restaurant.
Went with Thomsons and perhaps their efforts deserve a few criticisms. To mature and mainly seasoned travellers to endure an hour-long sales presentation, (which is what is called the "welcome" meeting ), is totally unnecessary. After 3/4 hour, we, along with several others, had to leave. The first item on the agenda was how to purchase your return seats located together!
I believe a Thomsons Gold Standard hotel would be better served by more mature reps.
If you do your own thing then you will find this a superb base.
We hoped for an upgrade to a suite as it was our Golden Wedding Anniversary while there, but did not get it. The reps did not seem too concerned and made no great effort to accommodate us. We did not even get the promised Flowers, Fruit and Sparkling Wine!
However, the hotel did offer to upgrade us 36 hours later if we were prepared to pay for this.
So, my tip is.......do not believe all you read or expect any help..........unless it is for something you will be paying for.
Strawberry world is a first class local tour company which offer excellent trips around the island.
Bus service is great, with the pre-loaded pay cards.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Staffbri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2010

We spent 14 nights Half Board at the Savoy Gardens and found it to be excellent in every way. The Hotel itself was spotlessly clean with the bedding changed every second day. Nothing was too much trouble for the Hotel staff and they went out of their way to please and help. The jewel in the crown for us was the Restaurant and the Entertainment. The food both at both Breakfast and Dinner was of the highest quality and standard and the entertainment in the Magnolia Lounge was of amazingly good professional level. I would unhesitatingly recommend this Hotel . We had previously stayed at the Raga and the Bia Azul and found this hotel to be superior on all counts

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CassiaLymington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2010

Savoy Gardens is situated out of Funchal and as there are hills all over Madeira you had to go up some to get there. The view from the roof top was amazing plus a jacuzzi to go in. There was also sunbeds and sofas to relax on up there. The room was very spacious and comfortable. Tea making facilties were provided as well as a bottle of water each day. Again the view from the balcony was sublime. The buffet food was plentiful and by the end of the week we found the warmed plates. The entertainment was enjoyable, especially the comedian. All the staff were friendly. The cable car ride was brilliant and the toboggan ride fun. The Botanical gardens are worth a look too. The walks are most enjoyable. We did 25 Fontes and Baio d'abra. The second being quite exhilerating. It was our first trip to Madeira but we will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank YorkshirePearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2010

We travelled out on March 1st - as other reviewwrs had noted Thomson not having the least interest in changing our booking because of the extensive flood damage. Nevertheless the island is beautiful and the locals had been working very hard to repair the damage. Don't have any doubts about the island now - go if you were planning to! Little to add to the other reviews - hotel is very good, and spotlessly clean. Food was very good (although agree that the coffee was crap). Our room (upgraded to 6th floor) was spacious and comfortable with lovely views over the harbour. Yes steep hill back to hotel took some of the gloss off the evening stroll, but not really a problem. Staff (Thomson) were a bit juvenile, and could have been more helpful about local facilities (eg there are four bus companies and the recommended GIRO card only works on one of them!). The Thomson tours and extras are outrageously priced, and the tours operated from the Lido (10 mins walk) by Strawberry World were outstanding - brand new bus, excellent local staff - cannot speak highly enough of them and for about 1/3 the Thomson price.
We organised ourselves for the entire duration of our stay and did not participate in any Thomson activities - and this worked really well.
Two highlights of our holiday were the full day Strawberry World tour and the wonderful Mandolin orchestra concert at the English Church on Friday.

Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank tracerWarwick_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
3,007 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#32 of 88 in Funchal
2,378 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
1.1 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
0.1 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 88 in Funchal
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TUI SENSIMAR Savoy Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TUI SENSIMAR Savoy Gardens

Address: Azinhaga Casa Branca 7, Funchal, Madeira 9004-543, Portugal (Formerly Savoy Gardens)
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Funchal
Price Range: £64 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — TUI SENSIMAR Savoy Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cradled against an oceanfront hillside and located in a quiet and sunny suburb of Funchal, within approx 2km from the city centre, the renovated Hotel Savoy Gardens (ex-Vila Ramos), renowned for the provision of friendly and personalised service, offers amazing mountain and sea views across lush verdant plantations. The Savoy Gardens is a friendly boutique-style hotel that provides its guests a modern feel and a traditional quality. All 119 completely renovated rooms include 9 suites. All have their own furnished balcony and are equipped with air-conditioning, direct dial telephone, flat screen TV set with interactive TV, FREE internet wireless system, tea and coffee making facilities, safety box and mini-bar, plus a fully equipped bathroom with bathtub, shower and hairdryer.The elegant and new interiors are all designed in soft colours with excellent materials to create a relaxing atmosphere throughout the hotel. The Savoy Gardens Hotel features the Restaurant Laurissilva, serving a daily buffet breakfast and themed Buffet dinners with cooking station. In a reserved cosy area, this restaurant also features a elegant a la carte dinner service. The Cica cocktail bar serving evening cocktails and the Palmeira bar serving snacks, hot and fresh drinks throughout the day as well as a daily suggestion of healthy and delicious light dishes for lunch. One outdoor freshwater heated swimming pool, a panoramic rooftop 360º view terrace with sun-lounges, jacuzzi, shower and self-service bar - the ideal location to spot the daily arrivals and departures of cruise liners in Funchal's harbour. Some of the facilities are also located in the lower-ground floor, such as the Spa with themed and seasonal promotions and special spa packages, the hairdresser, a games and TV room with internet desk and the Night Club Magnolia with nightly live music and entertainment. The Savoy Gardens Hotel is a new concept in Adults Only accommodation. Conceived as a place for rest and fun specially dedicated for those seeking a relaxing although extravagant vacation: unique experiences, amazing entertainment programmes, personalised service and attention to detail and all the commodities and services of a hotel for guests over 16 years of age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your TUI SENSIMAR Savoy Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Savoy Gardens
Savoy Gardens Funchal
TUI SENSIMAR Savoy Gardens Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing