We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“went that extra mile”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sensimar Savoy Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“went that extra mile”
Reviewed 25 October 2010

Excellent hotel! The hotel staff were fantastic, very friendly and helpful. The thomsons reps encouraged everyone to get the most from their holiday. The only thing to beware of is the hill to the hotel, however there are plenty of buses and (cheap) taxis so don't be put off. A special thank you to the dining staff for their hard work and patience while we learnt a few words of Portugese!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crinklytowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,832 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    957
    640
    173
    49
    13
See reviews for
64
1,607
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (910)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2010

Stayed for two weeks at the Savoy Gardens and it was great. Our room (707) was one of the suites and it was just superb, our balcony was the envy of the other guests. A clean, comfortable and friendly hotel we loved it. The reception staff were extremely obliging and informative with any question we asked. Infact ALL the staff were lovely including Mr Grumpy behind the bar, we got used to him.
The food although not a great selection was of a good quality and cooked very well. The Thomson entertainment team were very very good and quite made the holiday with their evening shows.
Our wedding anniversary was the day before we left and my husband asked if we could have breakfast in our room. It arrived complete with a glass of champagne - compliments of the hotel, it was a very nice touch and we had a happy anniversary card from them.
The hotel is on a steep incline but even with recovering from a knee op I managed it ok.
We went on more trips than usual ('cos of my knee) and they were good value for money and the guide(s) were very informative. The Western tour was in our opinion much better than the Eastern tour (more to see). 45 mins at the fishing village was far too long, wasn't even pretty.
Maderia itself is a lovely island and the people really appreciate it when you attempt to try their language.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mazzy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 October 2010

A lovely, well-run hotel. Food excellent with plenty of fresh fruit and vegetables. Staff very helpful and friendly. Extremely steep around hotel but buses and taxis easily available.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pearl069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2010

From the outside the hotel looks very 80s-ish in colour. But it has undergone a masive refurb and is classy and stunning inside. Our room was a sea-view (some rooms are mountain view so be sure you check when you book!) and had it'sown fridge which is great for putting water and drinks in to cool. There were absolutely no faults with the hotel. The only thing that we didn't know when we booked (and this was the travel agent's fault for not stating) was that there is s dress code for dinner ie men are not allowed to wear short. We had to buy a pair of dress trousers for my partner.
The staff work really hard to look after you and they really apprecaite you trying a few words of Portuguese - it really does go a long way with them. The food is gorgeous and there was plenty of choice - too much at times! The hotel is four star but is honestly closer to five star! Just be aware of drinks prices though. You are in a four star hotel and expect to pay hotel prices. However you can ofcourse stock your room fridge from nearby shops. The entertainment team were absolutely brilliant. They were polite, considerate and respectful. There were poolside activities from 10.30am hourly until 3.30am. If you didn't want to take part there was no pressure and you certainly were not forced! The same team put on great shows for the evening and were a great laugh. Again you could take part as much or as little as you wanted. But you only get out of this what you put in! This team have changed our opinion of holiday entertainment - they were professional and friendly. Best we have ever experienced! A word of warning - Funchal is hilly so be prepared! You will come back fitter!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeetMidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2010

The Hotel Savoy Gardens is a very good hotel and I would certainly recommend it and
look forward to going back. The room we stayed in was by far the best we've ever had,
there was a free safe, plus it had tea and coffee facilities, and a fridge for our own personal items. We were not that the high up, but the seaview was still good and well worth the extra money. I was not that impressed with the view from the rear of the hotel,
and felt those situated there would be disappointed. The food was very good and there was always a variety, but alas the Gala night was a complete shambles, and a big non event, I couldn't believe they got it so wrong. First they had a cocktail meeting, but they only served cheap wine, so to call it a coctail meeting was misleading. Then the meal was served in one sitting and everyone had to wait ages for the starters, and then the meal turned into a free for all carvery and because the restaurant was packed guest
had to join endless queues and wait for the food trays to be refilled. I have stayed in other Thompson Gold Hotels and these ran a seperate restaurant where you could book a special meal once a week, it was a real treat. I hope the Hotel Savoy Gardens take heed - if not, my adivice is eat out that evening. While I am having a gripe let me mention two other niggling faults. The hotel is small and the enteraitment is held in the basement, the entainment is good, but only those sitting directly in the front see what going on, those sitting in the wings have to watch it on TV. The swimming pool is small and not very deep, and sun bathing space seemed limited, but the roof has a sun terrace which is great. I had the impression the hotel is a stop gap and Thomson will move to a bigger and larger hotel at a later date - I could be wrong. But these are only three tiny gripes that did not spoil our holiday, so don't be put off, like I said I enjoyed the holiday and look forward to going back. All the staff were excellent, very friendly and polite, nothing was too much trouble. The entertainment staff all work hard and were very talented - some nights were better than others, which is to be expected. The Thompson staff were always at hand and very helpful - probaly the best we ever had. The location of the hotel was a long walk from Funchal, but the bus service is excellent and taxis are cheap, so don't be put off by the hill, you can always walk down and catch the bus back. Funchal runs a sight seeing bus that travels around the city, there are about twenty stops and you can hop on and off when ever you want, the ticket lasts for 24 hours and is good value. Funchal is fantatstic, really loved the place and the cable car ride is a must, but the tobaggan ride was poor value, we only did it because it seemed obligatory - you can't go to Funchal and not do it. All the locals were very friendy and the whole island seemed well looked after and clean and crime free. I really can't shower enough praise upon Madeira. We are well travelled and it is by far the best place we have ever been. If we win the lottery I would seriously consider a permanent move. The scenery is awesome, and a trip into the mountains is quite an experience, the bus drivers really earn their tips. The views from the eagle's nest at Nuns' Valley and from Cabo Girao took my breath away. The Levada walks are quite sedate and very enjoyable, but the panorama was often obscured by bushes and trees. We did a Levada walk to the Madeiran Lakes only to discover they were rather shallow rock pools, but it was still a good day out, and our guide was a real comedian he kept everyone in high spirits and his friendy banter was non stop. There are only two proper beaches on Madeira and in truth I would say the island is more geared for those interested in the flora and fauna, admiring the scenery and walking - if you are a night clubber look else where for a holiday. Madeira is probably for the older more discerning holiday maker, which for me was a big plus. It's a lovely island with lovely people. I am sure you will have a great holiday. Oh, nearly forgot...beware of the Poncha!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roundtoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2010

We stayed here for new year and decided to return. The food did not seem to be as good (my wife has an onion allergy and had very little choice when it came to salads) The 2 reps were magnificent and sorted out our few minor problems and were always prepared to stand and chat and offer their advice. The staff of the hotel were polite and attentive (not always found these days). The entertainment was okay, the duo were good but the resident entertainers were more about enthusiasm than talent. (even if a representative of the company who employed them did try and turn some nights into a football terrace with screaming and whistling...... Which we found embarrassing). Get the food right and we may return.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank themariner93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2010

Starting with the hotel,we found it very comfortable and welcoming. the room was a very good size with everything we needed. It was well serviced and the cleaning staff first-class. The food in our opinion was excellent we prefer buffet style meals, with plenty to choose from. The entertainment most evenings was also very good, they certainly work very hard and deserve a lot of credit. If you dont like walking go somewhere else!. Things not to miss in Funchal- Take the cable car to Monte, the gardens and the veiws are spectacular. Also walk the Levada Dos Tornos, stop for lunch at the Hortensia Tea House wonderful views. Also try the farmers and flowers market,its fun. We did one trip with Thomsons to the west coast and north terrific scenery and a very good lunch at Porto Moniz the guide was brilliant. After a long walk try the Jacuzzi wonderful. If we had one complaint which is very surprising, it was the weather! cloudy and rain at times And be careful the wine at the hotel is expensive.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wizard97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.4 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#29 of 86 in Funchal
2,213 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 86 in Funchal
2,821 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#6 of 86 in Funchal
1,352 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#15 of 86 in Funchal
1,863 reviews
1.7 mi away
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
#10 of 86 in Funchal
1,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sensimar Savoy Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sensimar Savoy Gardens

Property: Sensimar Savoy Gardens
Address: Azinhaga Casa Branca 7, Funchal, Madeira 9004-543, Portugal (Formerly Savoy Gardens)
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sensimar Savoy Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cradled against an oceanfront hillside and located in a quiet and sunny suburb of Funchal, within approx 2km from the city centre, the renovated Hotel Savoy Gardens (ex-Vila Ramos), renowned for the provision of friendly and personalised service, offers amazing mountain and sea views across lush verdant plantations. The Savoy Gardens is a friendly boutique-style hotel that provides its guests a modern feel and a traditional quality. All 119 completely renovated rooms include 9 suites. All have their own furnished balcony and are equipped with air-conditioning, direct dial telephone, flat screen TV set with interactive TV, FREE internet wireless system, tea and coffee making facilities, safety box and mini-bar, plus a fully equipped bathroom with bathtub, shower and hairdryer.The elegant and new interiors are all designed in soft colours with excellent materials to create a relaxing atmosphere throughout the hotel. The Savoy Gardens Hotel features the Restaurant Laurissilva, serving a daily buffet breakfast and themed Buffet dinners with cooking station. In a reserved cosy area, this restaurant also features a elegant a la carte dinner service. The Cica cocktail bar serving evening cocktails and the Palmeira bar serving snacks, hot and fresh drinks throughout the day as well as a daily suggestion of healthy and delicious light dishes for lunch. One outdoor freshwater heated swimming pool, a panoramic rooftop 360º view terrace with sun-lounges, jacuzzi, shower and self-service bar - the ideal location to spot the daily arrivals and departures of cruise liners in Funchal's harbour. Some of the facilities are also located in the lower-ground floor, such as the Spa with themed and seasonal promotions and special spa packages, the hairdresser, a games and TV room with internet desk and the Night Club Magnolia with nightly live music and entertainment. The Savoy Gardens Hotel is a new concept in Adults Only accommodation. Conceived as a place for rest and fun specially dedicated for those seeking a relaxing although extravagant vacation: unique experiences, amazing entertainment programmes, personalised service and attention to detail and all the commodities and services of a hotel for guests over 16 years of age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sensimar Savoy Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Savoy Gardens
Savoy Gardens Funchal
Sensimar Savoy Gardens Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing