We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Apartamentos Sao Paulo e Alegria
Ranked #54 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Reviewed 26 May 2012

It’s in the Centre of the city, so traffic noise exists but it’s not overwhelming. Old town is within walking distance. A shopping centre is 5 minutes away with a Pingo Doce supermarket.
We had rooms on the top floor (numbers 19 and 20), so we had a magnificent advantage: the roof terrace with great views of Funchal, the terrace has tables and chairs so you can eat outside. These apartments have 2 rooms, 4 individual beds and the possibility for 2 extra beds; 2 bathrooms with shower and hairdryer. Furniture is a little bit outdated but in good condition. Change of towels is done every day. A small kitchen with fridge, microwave and the essential kitchenware is also available. Cable TV is available on both rooms. Good breakfast included, with various breads, cheese, ham, cereals, fruit, yogurt, coffee, milk and tea, etc. Free WiFi is available and also free Internet corner at the lobby. No AC available.
If you plan to go walking on “levadas”, like we were, the manager is very helpful, he knows the trails because he himself does it .The staff is very friendly and welcoming.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ptnov64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

64 - 70 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2012

My wife and I stayed for 20 days over the Christmas/New Years period. Great location, clean and very friendly staff. They will provide advice on which sights to see, arrange car rentals, etc. It is a 5 minute walk to a shopping centre with a large super market. Food prices are good, and with the apartment's stove, microwave, fridge and dishes; you can eat well on a modest budget. Complementary wireless internet is provided in all rooms -- fast and reliable.

Breakfast is included, and it was good with various breads, cheese, cereal, fruit, coffee and tea, etc.

If you rent a car (we did) inexpensive parking is provided across the street. Madeira is not small, so if you are comfortable driving a standard shift, as all rentals are here, that is the best way to get around. If not, one of the main bus terminals is 5 minutes away and will take you to most of the major attractions on the island.

You can pay more and stay at a luxury hotel, but if you want the flexibility of doing most of your own cooking and enjoying the central part of traditional Funchal, you will be hard pressed to beat this place.

We really enjoyed our stay at Apartamentos Turisticos Sao Paulo e Alegria, and we highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

We found the hotel in Airmiles and were attracted by it's location. It is merely a 5 minute walk to the harbour side and all the local shops and restaurants. It is a small but homely hotel and the Manager and staff were excellent. Nothing was too much trouble. The accommodation was better than expected for a low to medium budget hotel, with it's own kitchen should you wish to self cater. Being near the town centre, and on the ground floor, we did find traffic noise a little distracting but the other features far outweighed this. We will certainly return to this hotel when we visit Madeira again, hopefully in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank BrianBriggs32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

The location of the apartments is very good if you plan to travel a lot using the buses (either local or long distance) as the numerous bus stops of Avenida do Mar are within 10 minutes walk and the SAM terminal within 5 minutes. Old city also within walking distance. A shopping center 5 minutes away.
My studio was in the "Alegria" which is a separate building, 30 meters away from the main building. Breakfast is served in the main building. Nothing extraordinary, orange juice made from powder and water, butter available only in salted version, but a big choice of cereals. Went there only for the first day, bought some food from the Pingo Doce supermarket at the shopping center for the next days.
Apartment was quiet, excepted from time to time some dogs barking in the vicinity, which is from my experience a very common situation in Portugal. Studio had two separate beds (rather small). Bathroom was with a shower, which was really too small. A kitchen with fridge and microwave was also available. The balcony was minuscule and with no view except of the roof of the nearby building. A very good free WiFi is available.
Furniture is a little bit outdated but in good condition. Apartment is a little bit dusty and bathroom could have been cleaned more thoroughly. There was also often a very bad smell of sewer in the bathroom. And during the evening, in some places in the studio there was a smell of cigarette, coming either from an other apartment or from the restaurant at the base of the building?
So in summary I have a mixed feeling about this hotel; I had a decent week there, but a lot of details could be easily improved for a better experience.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
6  Thank CH_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2011

For those put off by the comments regarding the noise, they probably had the windows open, and this hotel is in the Center of the city. I couldn't hear any noise with the windows closed. Room with 40+ Cable Channels Including News in English/French/German, Discovery/History Channels. Easy Walking to Marina and Center approx 5 Mins. Secure underground Parking cost less than street parking. Part of one way system but easy to find. Kitchen with Everything you need for Self Catering, if you would like something extra like a pasta drainer, just ask! Supermarket within 5 minutes walk. 1 Weeks Food Shopping 20 Euro's for 2. Super Fast Internet available by Secure WiFi from the Studio with speeds of 200Mps. Very nice Positive Energy from All Staff who are more than willing and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kaizenking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2010

This was my third time staying at the Alegria apartments. Excellent value for money. Welcoming, and friendly staff who do their best to make you feel at home. Clean rooms, fresh everything, balcony, smart and adequate facilities…keep me coming back. The apartments are very well situated for local sights, amenities, and shops, and ideal for the visitor who wants a location in a part of town with its life on your doorstep. (This is not the location for people seeking sun-loungers by the pool, and isolation). Walk out of your door, and you’re in old town Funchal, with the bus station and access to the rest of Madeira 2 minutes walk away. The marina, and harbour is less than 10 minutes walk for nice bars, restaurants, and cafes, big game fishing, whale & dolphin watching, sailing excursions, and the Porto Santo ferry. All of Funchal within a walk.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Flawka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2010

This is a good value, clean hotel in a regular Funchal neighborhood away from the high rise tourist hotel area but minutes walk from everywhere which is a good thing. The owner and staff couldn't be nicer.
Hookers comment???? I never saw one, ever, in three trips to Madeira.
I hope to get back for a fourth visit Sao Paulo someday soon,
Ron NS Canada

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bluenosebuoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.4 mi away
Aparthotel Imperatriz
Aparthotel Imperatriz
#55 of 88 in Funchal
155 reviews
0.8 mi away
Residencial Parque
Residencial Parque
#63 of 88 in Funchal
88 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residencial Colombo
Residencial Colombo
#84 of 88 in Funchal
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Residencial Mariazinha
Residencial Mariazinha
#58 of 88 in Funchal
101 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Flame Tree Madeira
The Flame Tree Madeira
#49 of 88 in Funchal
343 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Monte Carlo
Hotel Monte Carlo
#65 of 88 in Funchal
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Sao Paulo e Alegria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Sao Paulo e Alegria

Address: Rua Pimenta Aguiar 2, Funchal, Madeira 9000-026, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Funchal
#40 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £31 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartamentos Sao Paulo e Alegria 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartamentos Sao Paulo - AT*** and Apartamentos Alegria I and II - Al- are a 30 studio apartments located in 3 historical neighboring buildings perfectly located at the heart of Funchal, within walking distance from all Funchal's main points of interest, shopping areas and bus stations. Each studio has been decorated with simplicity and comfort. At guests request studios with balcony or facing the garden are also available. All of our one or two bedroom studios come with compact fully equipped kitchens, 1 or 2 bathrooms, 1 or 2 flat screen tv's with internacional channels, telephone, safe and free wi-fi. Apartamentos Sao Paulo e Alegria offer daily housekeeping, continental buffet breakfast, complimentary Wi-Fi , panoranic roof terrace, garden and barbecue area, conference room, rent-a-car service, transfer service , tickets to excursions and ferry boat trips and multilingual reception. The staff provide the best suggestions to visit the Island and the manager being an expert Levada walker itself will make the best to ensure that guests get to know the Island as locals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Apartamentos Sao Paulo e Alegria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sao Paulo e Alegria Hotel Funchal
Apartamentos Sao Paulo e Alegria Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing