We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low-key jet cosy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Apartamentos Sao Paulo e Alegria
Ranked #54 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Reviewed 14 June 2008

"Is this the place where we must stay all week?" my sister asked when the handle of the kitchen's cupboard came off to her hand. The room was a little dodgy; the eguipment of kitchen were minimal, there were cockroaches in the bathroom and we had to wash the floor because our socks came so dirty. But the location was good, except it takes a long time to go to the Lido's seawaterpools. And the sounds of traffic disturbed a bit. But most of finnish travel agents averages this hotel with two star class and I think it's very realistic.

  • Stayed: October 2004, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank llauraa-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
There are newer reviews for Apartamentos Sao Paulo e Alegria
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

70 - 76 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank pureedepat23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Marion33160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonia261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaoPauloeAlegria, Diretor-Geral at Apartamentos Sao Paulo e Alegria, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Sofia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaoPauloeAlegria, Gerente at Apartamentos Sao Paulo e Alegria, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Las habitaciones en el último piso son las mejores, cerca de la terraza común con vistas a Funchal.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: s.o., zur Gartenseite mit besserem Blick auf Berge und zT Meer, aber teurer.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gesi235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaoPauloeAlegria, Gerente at Apartamentos Sao Paulo e Alegria, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.4 mi away
Aparthotel Imperatriz
Aparthotel Imperatriz
#58 of 88 in Funchal
150 reviews
0.8 mi away
Residencial Parque
Residencial Parque
#62 of 88 in Funchal
85 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residencial Colombo
Residencial Colombo
#84 of 88 in Funchal
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Residencial Mariazinha
Residencial Mariazinha
#55 of 88 in Funchal
100 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Flame Tree Madeira
The Flame Tree Madeira
#49 of 88 in Funchal
337 reviews
0.4 mi away
Albergaria Catedral
Albergaria Catedral
#65 of 88 in Funchal
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Sao Paulo e Alegria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Sao Paulo e Alegria

Address: Rua Pimenta Aguiar 2, Funchal, Madeira 9000-026, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Funchal
#40 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £30 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartamentos Sao Paulo e Alegria 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartamentos Sao Paulo - AT*** and Apartamentos Alegria I and II - Al- are a 30 studio apartments located in 3 historical neighboring buildings perfectly located at the heart of Funchal, within walking distance from all Funchal's main points of interest, shopping areas and bus stations. Each studio has been decorated with simplicity and comfort. At guests request studios with balcony or facing the garden are also available. All of our one or two bedroom studios come with compact fully equipped kitchens, 1 or 2 bathrooms, 1 or 2 flat screen tv's with internacional channels, telephone, safe and free wi-fi. Apartamentos Sao Paulo e Alegria offer daily housekeeping, continental buffet breakfast, complimentary Wi-Fi , panoranic roof terrace, garden and barbecue area, conference room, rent-a-car service, transfer service , tickets to excursions and ferry boat trips and multilingual reception. The staff provide the best suggestions to visit the Island and the manager being an expert Levada walker itself will make the best to ensure that guests get to know the Island as locals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Apartamentos Sao Paulo e Alegria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sao Paulo e Alegria Hotel Funchal
Apartamentos Sao Paulo e Alegria Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing