We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable stay in Funchal”
Review of Dorisol Estrelicia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dorisol Estrelicia
Ranked #86 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 12 September 2009

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (426)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

98 - 104 of 426 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2009

We stayed in this hotel for two weeks half board and was very impressed. The rooms were all spotlessly clean, our bedroom had very good views. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was fine. Good amenities. The hill was a challenge to say the least for two retired people but was managable. There was a courtesy bus into Funchal several times a day. We visited the restaurant Solar Da Ajuda, where the food was excellent. Try the steak on a stone it is wonderful. We booked for 7.45 and the restaurant was full by then, but there were a few tables vacant at about 9pm. It is advisable to book.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheFolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2009

The hotel is up a steep hill which may put some people off but my party of 7 quiet enjoyed our stay. The hotel is not 4* but we only paid £17 per night and for that we got an excellent breakfast the only gripe was the coffee from the machine. The rooms were clean and the maid came everyday and tidied and replaced any towels that needed it. This hotel had a heated indoor pool a jacuzzi gym and sauna, this was a godsend as the weather has not been too good in Madeira just recently. The hotel has it's own restaurant at the bottom of the hill which serves Italian Indian and Portuguese dishes this was far better than I expected and the service was excellent, prices cheaper than some other restaurants in the area. I have to recommend the Chinese restaurant you turn left at the gates to the hotel complex it's not far on the same side of the road it's called the China Ming the food was lovely as was the service and the price was again excellent try the liqueur coffee's. My last recommendation is the E Pra Picanha restaurant on the way into Funchal it's about a 10 minute walk from the hotel on Avenue do Infante it's before you get to the bridge. The food here is to die for, especially if you like steak, the serve steak on a skewer and bring it to your table and cut pieces off on to your plate. The staff will come back as many times as you like or you can just have a picanha steak, I promise you, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2009

A little bit daunted by the prospect of the steps up to the hotel based on other reviews and yes it was a bit of a climb up the hill with the buggy but it wasnt that hard for a couple of semi fit 40 somethings. Gave us the chance to work off the excesses from our lovely hotel buffet breakfast and the previous nights delicious evening meal in one of the many great local restaurants. The hotel is in the perfect local. You can walk to the centre of Funchal within 25 minutes. There is a major bus stop at the bottom of the road and there really were plenty of restaurants within 5-10 minutes (Solar A'juda literally just down the hill serving fabulous meat on stone and espada in a very authentic madeiran setting) . Overall we enjoyed our visit to the Estrelicia - helpful staff, clean well serviced rooms, fabulous indoor heated pool for our 4 year old son to enjoy and great views from our large balcony. The gym was ok but probably not for a good cardiovascular workout.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Fozziebythesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2008

Basic accommodation but was o.k .,cheap holiday
Poor breakfast.,surly staff, but other staff were helpful.Was provided with fan on request as no air-con, and transferred to a better room with double bed.
Indoor pool was o.k although I caught an ear-infection doing aqua-yoga...beware!
Outdoor pool cold with light fitting sticking out..dangerous!
Good courtesy bus to Funchal.
Excellent local restaurants..especially Italian pizzeria half-way down hill on right ...great value, Dragodeiro on left ...great chateaubriand, and Restaurant at front of complex serving excellent steak-on-the-stone .
Cable car ride to Monte was excellent ,as was Palace Gardens,also toboggan ride , although taxi trip back up was expensive .
Day trip to Porto Santo very good.
Very enjoyable holiday , will be back! to a different hotel though

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cockneyrobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2008

We booked a 'cheapie' week, doing it all on our own rather than a package. We only booked B&B at this hotel as we didn't expect too much for the price, especially after reading some reviews about poor food etc. God ! What do these people want ? The Estrelicia was immaculate, spotlessly clean and the staff helpfull and friendly. The breakfast was typical continental. Fresh Bread, Ham, Cheese, Eggs, Yoghurt etc. always plenty laid out and good quality. The pool area was spotless also with plenty of sun beds etc available. Even operated a good, free, courtesy bus service to the town. We were astounded at what great value we got for our money. Only downside was no air con, but it wasn't too hot when we were there and it's a beast of a hill to climb up to get to the hotel. Could be a problem for older folks. Would we recommend it to friends / You bet... Top marks Estrelicia.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank jimmcguc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2008

We had a very pleasant stay at the hotel which has very helpful and friendly staff. We had heard that the food was not up to much so we did B&B only. Just as well, as even the breakfast was terrible. If you like low fibre stuff (white bread and Cornflakes, Coco-pops etc.) then you might love it, just don't expect anything slightly healthy. Almost no fresh fruit available (except couple of days cut up pineapple chunks) and no fresh fruit juices (just squash). All this on an island that grows wonderful oranges and bananas. One day no breakfast tables were cleared for more than 30 minutes and later breakfasters had to pile up the used dishes of others. On talking to the catering manager he just shrugged and asked what he could do about it - my suggestion was more staff but just another shrug. I would suggest management is complacent from my encounters with it and the fact that they've not improved things.
Bedroom fine, pool good, access to many excellent restaurants nearby very good. Great courtesy bus to Funchal. Entertainment a bit tacky and lame but then I'm not a great fan of that anyway so am probably a poor judge.
So good and cheap overall in good setting but don't bother eating there - eat out.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Gomeraman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Funchal
0 mi away
Dorisol Mimosa
Dorisol Mimosa
#80 of 88 in Funchal
369 reviews
0 mi away
Dorisol Buganvilia
Dorisol Buganvilia
#75 of 88 in Funchal
398 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dorisol Florasol
Dorisol Florasol
#53 of 88 in Funchal
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Flame Tree Madeira
The Flame Tree Madeira
#52 of 88 in Funchal
346 reviews
0.2 mi away
Raga Hotel
Raga Hotel
#51 of 88 in Funchal
803 reviews
10.9 mi away
Dom Pedro Madeira
Dom Pedro Madeira
#1 of 2 in Machico
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorisol Estrelicia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorisol Estrelicia

Address: Rua Casa Branca 98, Funchal, Madeira 9004-535, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Spa Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £33 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dorisol Estrelicia 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dorisol Estrelicia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorisol Estrelicia Funchal
Dorisol Estrelicia Hotel Funchal
Dorisol Estrelicia Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing