We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Eira do Serrado Hotel & SPA
Ranked #53 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Everyone else has adequately described the stunning location and fantastic views so I will just add that the staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
We managed to get a really cheap deal which made it incredibly good value for quality of the hotel. There aren't many additional facilities at the Hotel which was fine for us because we wanted to be out and about exploring the island but for those that want to spend their days at the Hotel we were told they would be closed for a couple of months in the summer to build a swimming pool.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    53
    21
    8
    2
See reviews for
18
101
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
152 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

The hotel is strategically situated next to a "miradouro".It´s in the middle of the island, what is it perfect if you hire a car because you can drive around, however it´s not exit road to the north because the road ends there. Very hilly island with some narrow roads, but you have a new tunnel which connect most of the island. It´s also a very accesible island for handicapped people. Lot of places adapted.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pikinina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel is located on a ridge overlooking a small village ringed by tall mountains. Our rooms and the restaurant enjoy this fabulous view. The drive up the winding road is equally spectacular. The room decor is modern and pleasant and had a glass- fronted sun lounge as well as a balcony from which to enjoy the view. Given its remoteness one moreorless has to eat in the restaurant where we found the food average. We did notice a bar about 4k down the road that we could have driven to. Wifi in reception only.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Denise0086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Stayed for one night, you dont need any longer really, drive up from Funchal was fun !! take it steady and watch for coaches on the final stretch as its narrow with passing places. Hotel was very good standard with great balcony looking over the valley, evening meal was freshly prepared beef on a skewer and fish with garlic bread. We did drive through the tunnel next day to see the villages that we saw from our balcony, beautiful almost like a forgotten place although now coach parties visit so souvenir stands appearing.

Room Tip: we did have some background noise in our room from heating pumps, didnt stop until 3am but we were o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed 6 nights in July 2013 in this beautiful hotel with breathtaking views. Rooms are very clean and the staff very friendly. The restaurant offers the best garlic bread in Madeira but meals & drinks should be slightly cheaper. The hotel is very quiet & relaxing. I will definitely come back for those amazing views.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Curehead77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schweiz
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2012

Since it was off-season the hotel was nearly empty and the price unbeatable. The rooms are spatious and very clean. The surrounding is breathtaking, the view from the big balcony just amazing. The winter-garden (part of our room) is a luxury. The staff ist very friendly and obliging. The food in the restaurant of top-quality. So why not 5 Stars?
The promised Whirlpool was not in service since not yet built (so they told us...) and the isolated location (which is adorable) makes it nescessary that you need a car if you want to move freely (allthough they have a pick-up service as I'm informed).

Room Tip: Take the mountain-view rooms, allthough I don't think there's any others! :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anybami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

We have stayed here about 5 years ago and there has been some beneficial remodelling of the bedrooms and restaurant. I don't really understand some of the negative comments re the location of this place as it must be obvious that it is totally isolated above Curral do Freiras since the new tunnel has been built and a car is almost a "must". I would say however that probably a 2-3 day stay would be a good idea as most walks originate in the vally below and it does take a little time to get to/from either Curral/Funchal or wherever at the start/end of each day. Furthermore it shouldn't be a surprise that most Madeiran roads built prior to the last 15 years are of the steeply inclined, bendy and narrow variety - as dictated by the geography. The route to/from this hotel is no exception and is part of the experience !
The view from the adjacent miradour over the "Nun's Valley" is truly spectacular, as is the view from the restaurant (much of the old open air terrace is now behind glass).
This is a regular stopping point for tourist buses so the attached shop/cafe can get busy during "peak times", but early morning and evening is much quieter. However the location is such that the venue is popular for wedding receptions so we'd recommend avoiding a weekend stay.
Regarding the view it should be emphasised that this hotel is in the mountains and as is typical of Madeira, clouds can be attracted to the high peaks from mid afternoon. Whilst this can sometimes obscure the valley view it can oftain provide a wonderful view of Curral being covered in cloud whilst the hotel and surrounding peaks are in glorious sunshine.
All staff helpful and restaurant pretty good. A frequent niggle of mine is that whilst free wifi internet was accessible in reception and restaurant this didn't extend to the bedroom.
Overall to be recommended for a 2-3 day stay and we will return.

Room Tip: Bedroom views on lower floors can be impeded by nearby trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Canarytops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Funchal
2.2 mi away
Hotel Quinta da Serra
Hotel Quinta da Serra
#1 of 2 in Estreito de Camara de Lobos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
6.7 mi away
Solar Da Bica
Solar Da Bica
#1 of 5 in Sao Vicente
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
4.3 mi away
Quinta do Monte
Quinta do Monte
#58 of 87 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Enotel Golf Santo da Serra
Enotel Golf Santo da Serra
#1 of 1 in Santo Antonio da Serra Machico
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
5.1 mi away
Apartamentos Sao Paulo e Alegria
5.2 mi away
Alto Lido Hotel
Alto Lido Hotel
#40 of 87 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eira do Serrado Hotel & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eira do Serrado Hotel & SPA

Property: Eira do Serrado Hotel & SPA
Address: Rua do Serrado | Curral das Freiras, Funchal, Madeira 9060-300, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Eira do Serrado Hotel & SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eira do Serrado Hotel & SPA is a modern and comfortable 4-star country hotel. Surrounded by stunning scenery, the Hotel will impress you with the beauty of its fascinating mountains and breathtaking views stretching to the lush valleys below. Nature is present from all rooms and public areas of the hotel. It is the perfect place for a holiday, calm, romantic and unforgettable in Madeira. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Eira do Serrado Hotel & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estalagem Eira Do Serrado Hotel Funchal
Estalagem Eira Do Serrado Funchal
Eira Do Serrado Hotel & SPA Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing