We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value”

Madeira Story Centre
Ranked #30 of 144 things to do in Funchal
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Madeira Story Centre is a Museum situated in Funchal's Old Town centre where you can learn about Madeira's history in such a way, that you will feel that you are a part of it! The contents of the Museum are rigorous and detailed in order to give the the best information about the History and Culture of Madeira, from the island's volcanic origins to hydroplanes, its discovery and attacks by ferocious pirates, all described with the precision that you require. The Madeira Story Centre includes a large handcraft and souvenir shop with regional products, as well as a typical restaurant situated on the panoramic terrace with capacity for 200 people promoting Madeiran gastronomy. There are also thematic gardens where you can see the typical plants and flowers of Madeira, overlooking a magnificent view of the historical centre of Funchal. Madeira Story Centre Be a part of Madeira's history
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Very enjoyable and informative well worth the ticket price which was reasonable anyway. Lots of history to take in and a good value cafe and shop.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank OverLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StoryCentre, Gerente de relações com clientes at Madeira Story Centre, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for your visit and comment.

We hope to see you next time you visit Madeira Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    274
    102
    27
    16
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
79 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Interesting visit”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We enjoyed our visit to the centre which costs about 10 Euros per person. The centre shows the history of Madeira and we learned a lot that we did not know yet. The exhibition is spread out over two or three floors. There are many interactive games and quizes. A fun visit for a more educational experience about the Island of Madeira.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kjongman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StoryCentre, Gerente de relações com clientes at Madeira Story Centre, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for your visit and comment.

We hope to see you next time you visit Madeira Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Informative”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Not over expensive and lots and lots of history on the Island from it's pre historic beginnings up to modern day.

Interactive museum with lots of reading.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jody B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StoryCentre, Gerente de relações com clientes at Madeira Story Centre, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for your visit and comment.

We hope to see you next time you visit Madeira Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Fascinating.”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I usually steer well clear of museums, but this one tickled my fancy, and was superb. Basically an interactive history of Madeira, set out in an interesting way. Spent longer there than expected!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank keith1001340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StoryCentre, Gerente de relações com clientes at Madeira Story Centre, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for your visit and comment.

We hope to see you next time you visit Madeira Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rothes In Scotland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Very lacking in the basic history of the island and how it developed over the years. Seemed to concentrate on one or two historical times but didn't fill in the gaps. Very disappointing

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ALANMURF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StoryCentre, Gerente de relações com clientes at Madeira Story Centre, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for your comment and visit which we will take in account.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Madeira Story Centre also viewed

 

Been to Madeira Story Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing