We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Madeiran Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vila Teresinha Guest House
Ranked #8 of 31 Funchal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
West Sussex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Madeiran Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

This is a lovely guesthouse with everything you could want e.g. plenty of storage, cutlery, plates and glasses near the fridge. There is a large terrace with views of the ocean. The rooms are a reasonable size though the beds were very hard. The owners are very helpful and provide a substantial breakfast in excess of what we have had in other Residential hotels. The location is excellent for getting to the centre of Funchal but rather difficult for taxi drivers as it is in a narrow one-way street. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a balcony and ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WestSussexMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    29
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
9
48
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

We enjoyed very much our stay at Vila Teresinha. The family atmosphere and our reception was excellent from the very moment that we arrived. Vila Teresinha has an excellent view over the sea and the city. We would like to thank the kindness and the special attention that we received both from Agostinho and his wife Catarina who where always available to help us with any questions that we may have had. The information that Agostinho gave us, from bus trips to excursions that we wanted to take and even when we decided to hire a car, Mr Agostinho made all the reservations for us, making our stay at Madeira a fulfilling experience. The room itself that we stayed in was very nice which also included a spacious bathroom, all very clean. The Guesthouse also has a common fridge for all with a compartment reserved for each room and there is also a microwave which came in very handy. Vila Teresinha may not be a five star hotel but is a very pleasant place to stay and has everything you need to have a great stay on the Island and it is a great base to explore the island as is is near the bus stations, museums and the harbour. We highly recommend anyone to stay there and we certainly will be back.

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Joao T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

We stayed here for one night on route to our holiday villa and the attitude from the owners was unfriendly and rude. The accomodation and breakfast was as previously described by other reviews, basic but clean and perfectly adequate representing good value for money.
The lady of the house was surly and unfriendly the gentleman sarcastic. We asked why on earth had they taken the booking for one night if they were so unhappy about it. He replied it was an oversight on his part and they no longer took booking for less than 4 evenings. So their mistake yet we suffered the consequences quite unfair we felt. Fortunately the rest of our holiday was good and we did not encounter any other objectionable portuguese. We were actually quite upset at their attitude and it still rankles that they could have set the tone for the holiday. This should not detract from anybody staying here it could have been a good experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MJJ35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

Advantages. The managers of the bed and breakfast are middle-aged husband and wife. They do everything and do it very well. You can always ask for an advice or to do a small favour (call a taxi, print or copy something, ask for an advice how to go somewhere, book a tour). The breakfast is very nice, continental one. You also get fresh fruit with your breakfast, and the sweet part of the breakfast changes every day (banana cake was wonderful). The rooms are really good, nothing special but very functional and clean. Make sure you get the room with the ocean view! There is a very nice terrace on the 1st floor, where you can sit and have a snack while looking at the ocean and the Funchal panorama. Every evening at around 9 pm the ship from Porto Santo comes back and it is very nice to watch. You get the access to a microwave oven and a fridge. The free wireless internet functions in public areas, but you can also sometimes catch it in your room (the owner said that the internet in rooms would become paid soon, however). The location is just perfect, a couple of streets away from Funchal centre and from Rua da Carreira, where you can find many restaurants for every budget. For shopping, a few steps away you find the nice Dolce Vita shopping centre.
Disadvantages. There is very little which can improved in this place. The bathroom needs some renovation and that the shampoo/shower gel was not provided. The place has a card reader installed, but the managers insisted that we pay cash. We did not have the cash ready and ended up paying 4 euros in the ATM for cashing out, but this is all very understandable, as the card companies charge businesses very much for their services. The place is not very well known among taxi drivers, but again, this is not their fault mostly.
All in all, it was certainly one of the most pleasant hotels or bed and breakfasts in which I have ever stayed. I would recommend anyone not to overpay for staying at a 5 star hotel in the hotel area near Funchal and experiencing a truly personal approach towards clients.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pliumbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2011

Stayed for 6 days in April for romantic break. Had a lovely time. The hosts are very friendly, and were very helpful with our late arrival due to flight delay, staying up late to let us in. It wasn't till the morning that we opened door to balcony and realised what a fabulous view we had - looking down over the town to the sea.

Room and ensuite were basic B&B style, but comfortable and very clean. One of the lovely things about Teresinha is the thoughtful attention to what people need - plenty of hangers in wardrobe, a fridge for guests to put their own wine and food in - the hosts even donate a cupboard full of glasses and crockery to use.

Breakfasts were amazing. The usual continental was supplemented by cooked eggs, cheese and ham, fruit and a slice of home made cake - and every day something different - we even got little chocolate chickens at Easter!

We had room with balcony, and enjoyed starting each evening sitting out there with a glass of cold wine watching the sun set over the sea. And for guests who don't have room with balcony, there is a large terrace which everyone has access to, with tables and chairs, pots full of geraniums, and the lovely view. Most times there would be guests out there playing cards, reading etc, with the cold beer/wine. Very chilled!

Will definitely be trying to stay at Teresinha again if (hopefully when!) we got back to Funchal.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ephemeraUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2011

Vila Teresinha is perfect for anyone travelling on a budget. Clean, warm, and comfortable, the rooms provide a more than adequate resting place. If, however, you are looking for a room in which to spend long hours during the day entertaining , this is not for you. The point of Madeira is, however, to get out and about, and the Vila Teresinha is in a great location for doing just that; just far enough off the beaten track to ensure a restful night, but close enough to ensure that you are never more than a short walk from the picturesque streets and welcoming restaurents. It is also about a fifteen minute walk to the Maritimo stadium, where a home game is an unusual experience for anyone used only to English Premiership football.

The hosts are friendly and helpful, the continental breakfast hits the spot (with some great local breads and jams a particular treat), and there is a large fridge for cooling beers and wine for late evenings spent on the terrace looking out at the twinkling lights of the town, a particularly good way to wind down after a day enjoying Madeiran hospitality.

I would advise buying (or taking) a "proper" size mug if you want to brew a cuppa in your room. The standard drinking vessel supplied has the capacity of a smallish tea-cup, so I found myself brewing up more frequently than usual.

One warning - initially very difficult to find, especially given the one-way streets. Even harder when the Diversion signs are up. Once you have found it, however, you will wonder how you didn't find it more easily first time.

A large car park opposite charges 3 euros a day for parking (Free on Saturday and Sunday) and never got anywhere near full during my stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MikeDeller55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2010

Vila Teresinha offers comfortable rooms, a very friendly ambience, a location in 'real' Funchal, easy access to the town centre and bus termini (15 minute walk), generous breakfasts with some home made items (but not a great big buffet approach), all for a value for money price. The restaurant and bar were not available when we were there but that encourages the exploration of eateries in town. Ask for a front facing room with a balcony for views over the roof tops to the sea. A good place to stay for walkers who want a genuine Madeira experience in a true, small guest house.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RomanSeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Sao Paulo e Alegria
0.3 mi away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#9 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,077 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
2.1 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#16 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,814 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quinta Da Penha De Franca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Teresinha Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Teresinha Guest House

Property: Vila Teresinha Guest House
Address: Rua Cruzes 21, Funchal, Madeira 9000-025, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Vila Teresinha Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vila Teresinha is situated 5 minutes walking to the centre of Funchal and near by the bus stations for people who like walking the many levadas the Madeira has to offer. This family-run Guest House offers you excellent accommodation in 12 bedrooms which all have private bathrooms, direct phone and satellite television. Some rooms include a private balcony, which has a direct view over the city of Funchal. The amenities of the Guest House comprise of a wide esplanade with a view of Funchal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vila Teresinha Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Teresinha Guest House Hotel Funchal
Vila Teresinha Guest House Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing