We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vila Teresinha Guest House
Ranked #10 of 34 Funchal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great value for the money”
Reviewed 11 December 2012

This is a great place to stay if you're not interested in a hotel with a pool and a bar. It is very basic, but very clean and the owners are very friendly. There were a lot of extras not stated in their advert, such as a communal fridge, the cupboard full of crockery, glasses, cutlery, and corkscrew. The breakfast was very large and set you up for the day ahead. When I needed to eat breakfast a bit earlier than was normally served, they invited me to come down earlier so I could make it to my tour bus pic-up point in plenty of time. This guest house is quite close to the old town area of Funchal. Also, nearby is a new-ish shopping mall call La Dolce Vita. Three floors of good shopping, including a food hall. I'd recommend this B&B to anyone looking for a cheap, clean place to stay and they have both double bed rooms and twin bed rooms...perfect for all types of travellers!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank No1Fox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    30
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
9
49
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012

+ superb location, close to town center, surrounded by little museums, 5-min walk to bus center;

+ room is basic but very very clean! everyday, they clean up the room and leave my window open to get some fresh air. :) nice terrace with great view. can tell that owner cares about the property as well as the comfort of ppl staying here;

+ humble breakfast but with everything: toast, egg, cheese, ham, jam, butter, orange juice, tea/coffee, muffin, fruits. again, prepared with care and nicely presented. i thought it was repetitive, but somehow I miss it now.

+ last but not least: hospitable owners, always ready with solutions for your questions yet not restrict you to his opinions. I tried the day trip tour from his contact, thumb up.

+ if you are looking for a safe, clean, convenient, beautiful and friendly place, this is certainly the best choice.

- i could hear noise of neighbour coughing from next door at night, only my last 2 nights. so that is fine.

Room Tip: i enjoy my room at the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lingyun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maroochydore, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

I enjoyed my stay here very much...there were a lot of extras that I didn't expect. The communal fridge, the cupboard of glasses and cutlery and corkscrew, to mention a few. The breakfast was huge and really enough to set you up for a long day of sight seeing. The position of the Guest house is ideal for getting around Funchal easily. I found the hosts very nice people and friendly and helpful.

There is no little luxuries like shampoos and body creams. And I think a sign telling the times of the local bus to the airport and where you can catch it would be useful.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coralhorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyne & Wear UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We stayed here in May 2012 for a week and had a lovely time. The owners are very helpful and really hospitable, nothing seemed to be too much trouble. Our room was on the top floor and had it's own terrace, which was great. There is another terrace for all guests, but I would recommend requesting one of the rooms with its own. The beds were fine for me and the room was very clean.

As other reviews have said, the vila is up hill, but that's just Madeira, it's hilly. It takes about 5 minutes to walk to the main supermarket and another 5 (at most) to be at the marina and the walk along the sea front. Be sure to get some garlic bread from the little stall on the promenade, 2 euros and it's divine.

Visit the old town and look at the painted doors, the botanic gardens and the lido at Hotel Galamar in Canico de Baixo. Riso in the old town is a great restaurant with an amazing view, and Cafe do Teatro is a great place for coffee, cake and people watching.

My partner went diving with Manta Diving which is at the Hotel Galamar in Canico de Baixo. It was 80 Euros for the day and he really enjoyed it and would recommend it. It's also a lovely place to relax for the day if you're the non diver.
www.mantadiving.com

Overall, I would recommend the Vila Teresinha without hesitation.

Room Tip: Request a room on the top floor with its own terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dlebox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

The vila is uphill ,for walking but has a ca rpark across the road if you have a car. The room had great view of harbour, clean and breakfast was choice of fried, scrambled or boiled eggs, local breads and jams, piece of fruit ,fruit juice and choice of usual hot drinks. The beds were very hard, I don't mind that but my husband doesn't like it. Owner and wife very welcoming , overall good value for money,although wouldn't like to stay here for more than a few days. Beware they require payment in cash, this came as a bit of a shock because our booking said they accepted credit and debit cards.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank westie034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

This is a lovely guesthouse with everything you could want e.g. plenty of storage, cutlery, plates and glasses near the fridge. There is a large terrace with views of the ocean. The rooms are a reasonable size though the beds were very hard. The owners are very helpful and provide a substantial breakfast in excess of what we have had in other Residential hotels. The location is excellent for getting to the centre of Funchal but rather difficult for taxi drivers as it is in a narrow one-way street. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a balcony and ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WestSussexMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We enjoyed very much our stay at Vila Teresinha. The family atmosphere and our reception was excellent from the very moment that we arrived. Vila Teresinha has an excellent view over the sea and the city. We would like to thank the kindness and the special attention that we received both from Agostinho and his wife Catarina who where always available to help us with any questions that we may have had. The information that Agostinho gave us, from bus trips to excursions that we wanted to take and even when we decided to hire a car, Mr Agostinho made all the reservations for us, making our stay at Madeira a fulfilling experience. The room itself that we stayed in was very nice which also included a spacious bathroom, all very clean. The Guesthouse also has a common fridge for all with a compartment reserved for each room and there is also a microwave which came in very handy. Vila Teresinha may not be a five star hotel but is a very pleasant place to stay and has everything you need to have a great stay on the Island and it is a great base to explore the island as is is near the bus stations, museums and the harbour. We highly recommend anyone to stay there and we certainly will be back.

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Joao T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Sao Paulo e Alegria
0.2 mi away
Hotel Madeira
Hotel Madeira
#26 of 86 in Funchal
463 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#9 of 86 in Funchal
1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Castanheiro Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
Belmond Reid's Palace
Belmond Reid's Palace
#5 of 86 in Funchal
1,401 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quinta Da Penha De Franca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Teresinha Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Teresinha Guest House

Property: Vila Teresinha Guest House
Address: Rua Cruzes 21, Funchal, Madeira 9000-025, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Vila Teresinha Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vila Teresinha is situated 5 minutes walking to the centre of Funchal and near by the bus stations for people who like walking the many levadas the Madeira has to offer. This family-run Guest House offers you excellent accommodation in 12 bedrooms which all have private bathrooms, direct phone and satellite television. Some rooms include a private balcony, which has a direct view over the city of Funchal. The amenities of the Guest House comprise of a wide esplanade with a view of Funchal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Vila Teresinha Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Teresinha Guest House Hotel Funchal
Vila Teresinha Guest House Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing