We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Vila Teresinha Guest House
Nearby Hotels
Ocean Gardens(Funchal)
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$146
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$171
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$155
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$487
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$385
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$227
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$214
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pestana Palms(Funchal)
US$191
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$352
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$261
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$151
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$238
Elvoline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$154
Elvoline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveller rating
49
33
4
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
49
33
4
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely communalshared fridgeships dockbus timetablesclose to towntop floorgood sizemicrowaveterracesupermarketharbourcatalinaensuitehillmadeira
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 89 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2010

We stayed here for a week over the New Year 2010 and found it very suitable. The room while small was cleaned daily and it was also quiet both within and vis a vis barking dogs etc. The breakfast was substantial and there is cheap public parking facing the building should you rent a car.

Funchal itself is pleasant for walking and brousing and prices are inexpensive by Irish standards (which are high within Europe). The road system is a combination of narrow one-way streets, tunnels and fly-overs. Difficult driving and we would probably opt for the bus system next time.

Maderia is great for hill-walking and even though we had lots of rain, the temperatures were constant at about 20C. Most people we dealt with had some English, and the propriators of Vila Teresinha are fluent in several languages including English.

This is the right place to stay if you intend to be out and about a lot. For a passive holiday, a large hotel would be better.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CelticNomadLimerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2009

In a place where cheaper hotels are hard to come by, this place is a little gem. We paid a little extra for a private balcony which was great. We actually "ate in" on 2 occasions, just getting nice bread, cheese etc from the nearby supermarket and soaking up the great view across the whole of funchal from our balcony.

The hotel is centrally located (although at the top of steep hills so you'll keep fit!!) and the owners are friendly. Brekky is a good continental with very fresh bread and eggs if you want them.

The room was basic but clean and the communal fridge was great for keeping our stuff cool. I'd stay here again if visiting funchal.

Only negative was we found it rather hard to find in the first place - invest in a good map before you arrive!!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Earnie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2008

This is a great little guesthouse, really enjoyed our stay here. It's just a short walk from the centre of Funchal and also handy for catching buses out to walk the levadas. There's everything you need for a comfortable stay and the rooftop balcony makes for a wonderful place to end a long day's walking with a beer!

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alisonkaychapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2007

This small owner run establishment was recommended to us by friends in Jersey who had stayed here a number of times and we were not disappointed. The rooms, although small, were clean and well maintained and those with a balcony have a great view over Funchal down to the harbour. The breakfast menu was very flexible, one is not constrained to a continental menu, so eggs and bacon and toast and marmalade were readily available!
The owners, Agostino and his wife Katerina, laid on a special buffet with drinks for New Years eve on the terrace where we were joined by other guests and family members to watch the fantastic firework display. All this at no extra cost, Madeiran hospitality at its best.
Funchal, with many restaurants, is within walking distance,and an excellent bus service enables one to see the rest of this beautifull island.
There is just one snag to this establishment, because of the number of regular clients one has to book very early in order to get a room at the preferred date!

  • Stayed: February 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank RMcAvoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2006

Normally I would not write about a holiday spent two years ago, but in this case I'd like to comment on this cheap but not very inviting hotel which we stayed at in May / June 2004. We booked this hotel with a German travel agency which had some problems in getting everything right, so it was a bad start. But the hotel did fit this bad start by showing several flaws of its own.

The double room which we stayed in was very small. Equipment was rather old. There was an old rug in the room which was dark from old dirt. The lamp on one side of the bed was badly isolated, so if you tried to turn on the light in the night you would feel strong static energy when touching the base of the lamp by accident (which was some way of really getting awake). The bathroom was rather spartan; toilet paper seemed to have been rationed. The room had one window to the street. The hotel is situated at a rather steeply inclining street, therefore traffic noise was rather loud (cars accelerating for the incline) and you always smelled the cars' exhaust fumes through the window.

Breakfast was nothing special, but on the plus side you could have it on the terrace. On the minus side all the butter, cheese, sausages that were not consumed on one morning and therefore had been lying in the sun for some time were again offered the next morning for breakfast - and clearly showed their sun exposure of the previous day.

One day we asked if we could have breakfast early because we were planning a trip by ferry to Porto Santo (which you shouldn't miss, by the way, it's a great trip). We were promised we would find some cold food in the morning prepared for us. But then they forgot to prepare anything. The morning after our trip we were a little late after our long, tiring (and breakfast-free) trip and arrived at 9:55 for breakfast (breakfast is served up to 10 o'clock) but we were intentionally ignored by the waitress / co-owner of the hotel and had to leave the breakfast room after 15 minutes - again without breakfast - without the waitress talking with us or even looking at us. (We had seen other guests being served breakfast even at 10:15 some days before, therefore 9:55 was not an unusual time to arrive.) The next day I returned the ignoring by not greeting anyone of the hotel owners - which at least resulted in an excuse for the breakfast not prepared the morning of our day trip. But all these events did lead to a fairly unpleasant atmosphere during our whole stay.

What can we say about Funchal and Madeira in general? There are a lot of good and inexpensive restaurants there, and you should definitely have the fish, even if you do not like fish in general. Funchal is very crowded, there is a lot of traffic in many narrow streets and you can always smell the cars going by. But there are also some beautiful places like the Botanical Garden which are fun to visit. Going along the coast or inland is rewarding, so you can enjoy some beautiful vistas. Everywhere you can find beautiful flowers and exotic plants. Therefore Madeira was worth the visit, but this hotel was definitely not.

  • Stayed: June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank AlVance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews