We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel with excellent staff :)”
Review of Dorisol Buganvilia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dorisol Buganvilia
Ranked #65 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very good hotel with excellent staff :)”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Stayed in this hotel for a week in October. Location is a little out of town but with the free shuttle bus this isn't a problem. Rooms were clean and served their purpose. Facilities and entertainment were very good. The staff were excellent, very friendly and helpful. Overall we had a very good experience in this hotel and would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Healye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    144
    129
    35
    22
See reviews for
64
227
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monte Gordo, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Stayed for two weeks....great hotel for single traveller to family. good in house entertainment & free workshops, happy hours, tennis courts, jacuzzi & 2 big outdoor & a large indoor pools. Spa & Sauna facilites too.

Most rooms have have fully equipped kitchennette....remember to take an elec travel kettle as there is only ordinary boiling kettle available!

Curtsey bus service to Funchal.

Very helpful Reception Staff & Dining Room Staff.

Hotel situated in a very good location, very close to big smkt Pindo Doce, Touring companies, post office & access to Atlantic Ocean just acroos the rd where one can swim too.

Very good local restaurants witin walking distance.

Room Tip: Preferrably facing swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Anita J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
København, Danmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Just returned from the Hotel Buganvilia in the Dorisol hotels group.

What we loved most about the hotel was that it was situated together with to other hotels in the Dorisol group in which we could freely choose between all the facilities. In that way, we both got to exercise in the fitness room, which is ok. Some of the machines are a bit worn, but do work fine.
We also used both the outdoor pools and the indoor pool, where you will also find a jacuzzi. Together with the indoor pool is a massage room, where we both got 30 minutes of quite relaxing massage. You can choose between having a massage indoor or at the pool.

The hotel have good rooms, but the pictures on the homepage might cheat a bit. The one we stayed in was in reasonable shape. It had everything we needed, a good bathroom - and a balchony with a view to kill for, when paying that kind of money for a room. The only thing it lacked was air conditioning.

The area is a typical hotel / tourist area with loads of restaurants in all different kind of quality.

The staff in the restaurants are quite overwelcoming. You quickly learn to say "Não, obrigago!" and put on a smile. The best restaurants in the area are, in my opinion, L'Osteria and Lareira. The last one serves fine parrot fish and very large and good portions of salmon fillets. Sit by the water tank filled with lobsters, crabs and langusters to have some entertainment while eating.
That said, the other restaurants in the area serves more or less the same kind of food, and the difference between them is really not that big. Usually friendly staff on all - and often a free glass of Madeira wine.

If you really want to dine good, go to Armazem do Sal in Funchal city. Also, go to FX Club / Geovannis to have a lunch or dinner. Fine quality and friendly staff.

If you like clubs and parties, check out Molhe, which is situated in the big ugly black lump of rock on the peer with umbrellas. We went there a Wednesday, and before we knew it, large amounts of cheerful youngsters crowded the place. Remember to check out any themes it might have on the night of your visit. I missed the green theme, so I didn't have any free drinks as I wore a red shirt. :-/

AND! Do not cheat yourself of the wonderful experience of swimming with dolphins. Madeira has a lot of sea animals - and a lot of companies sailing out to find them. We went with Rota dos Cetaceos to have a swim. Good times!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ClausLSChristiansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

First visited here in 2007, enjoyed it then. So it was on this basis we rebooked for 4 days. It has not changed much apart from being redecorated in areas. The pool area is better than it was, but the pool steps need some attention, the rubber grip has worn off the top step, so it is sometimes slippery when trying to exit the pool.
The really nice thing was that when we returned from lunch we found a complimentary bottle of wine in our room. They had found us in their records and thanked us for returning. Nice touch.
Breakfast was always good and still is; cooked items like bacon, sausages, eggs all nice, fruit, cereals, cold meats, cheeses, fresh bread, rolls and a toaster. Plus fresh juices, various teas and coffee.

Staff friendly and helpful. There is also a small shop in the hotel from which you can buy papers, souvenirs, water and soft drinks. Useful.

Rooms kept very clean and linen good.

All in all it was worth the 2nd visit.

Room Tip: We were in room 502 which faces a building development in progress and the road so quite noisy rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GuinivereCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Stayed here a few days after staying at the Savoy. For the price of a breakfast at the Savoy we had a room and a buffet breakfast at this Hotel. It is quite convenient and runs a complimentary bus service into Funchal. The rooms were clean and the beds large. The pool was clean and warm. Can be a bit noisy when the bars turn out. There is no air con.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stueyfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Situation is OK, near the Lido. Beware of rooms on east side (towards Funchal)
because of very noisy building site. Flashlight is recommended because lighting in
alleyways and stairs is poor - broken lightbulbs are not replaced. Of two elevators
one is usually not working - long waiting. Staff not very interested and helpful.
Breakfast is adequate but not more.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the west side - high up to awoid traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lekrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Funchal hotels

norfolkUK
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2011

This aparthotel is nicely situated 2 miles west of Funchal- a brisk 35min walk to the centre. There is a courtesy hotel bus, and service buses are plentiful (buy a weekly ticket from the booth on the seafront).
Three hotels form a group, with evening entertaintainment in the central bar area that deserved better audiences.
Each bedroom has basic cooking facilities, but good restaurants surround the hotel.
It was clean and the staff were friendly, but the building and fittings were a little worn round the edges. Off season, it was quiet- the fair sized pool was hardly used at all.
We paid about £320 for B and B for a week. The food was plentiful and reasonable quality. One can have half board, but we ate out most of the time as the menu didn't attract us.

Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank cheapskate33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.0 mi away
Dorisol Estrelicia
Dorisol Estrelicia
#83 of 86 in Funchal
401 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dorisol Mimosa
Dorisol Mimosa
#73 of 86 in Funchal
344 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dorisol Florasol
Dorisol Florasol
#52 of 86 in Funchal
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Alto Lido Hotel
Alto Lido Hotel
#40 of 86 in Funchal
585 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Jardins d’Ajuda Suite Hotel
0.2 mi away
Raga Hotel
Raga Hotel
#47 of 86 in Funchal
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorisol Buganvilia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorisol Buganvilia

Property: Dorisol Buganvilia
Address: Rua Casa Branca 98, Funchal, Madeira 9004-535, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Spa Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dorisol Buganvilia 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel located close to the promenade. Offers facilities like indoor and outdoor pools, tennis court, spa and wifi. Studio apartments with balcony and kitchenette. Shuttle bus to city center. Restaurante/bar open untill 2 am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dorisol Buganvilia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorisol Buganvilia Funchal
Dorisol Buganvilia Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing