We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice holiday, very good price”
Review of Dorisol Buganvilia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Dorisol Buganvilia
Ranked #66 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Reviewed 3 July 2013

I enjoyed staying there with my mum and friends. We had rooms on 6th to 8th floor with very good view.The staff was very pleasent and friendly. We had only breakfest som I don't know about the food but the breakfest was good. Location of the hotel is very good. walking distance to Lido, and some shopps. Bus stops to the centre are very near.
It is old building but clean and good price.
We rented a car for two days and made trips all around the island. The nearest rental company is the best. And shops as well. The nearest were the best :)
Other days we used the public transport - very convenient - and one day we went to Porto Santo island. We had excellent holiday in this facility.

Room Tip: almost all rooms have a sea view but those from number 5 to 10 are looking on pool as well.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laura b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (381)
There are newer reviews for Dorisol Buganvilia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

185 - 191 of 381 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

Had an excellent few days here, comfortable, good location

Pro's
- Sea view from most rooms
- Good wifi in foyer, fast
- Safe EUR1.5 per day
- Easy parking
- only 25 mins walk to town
- Mini kitchen in rooms, could be hanly for some
- Good value
- Good Bar next to pool (happy hour 6-7pm !)
- Helpful staff, esp Barbara at reception
- Good breakfast

Cons
- Somewhat tired
- Lifts a bit of a bottleneck (if you're on higher floors, otherwise walk)
- Bar above restaurant has little atmosphere

Room Tip: Higher floors get better sea views, but lifts can be a bottleneck at peak hours
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bckirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

The hotel is not far from the old center: max. 30 min walk to the Cathedral is. But there are also a free bus. Friendly staff, sufficient food (including wine at dinner), hotel price is not excessive. Large rooms and fitted, including a kitchenette. On the ground floor there is a small store but very useful (with Madeira wine also !). Mailbox near the hotel, own pool, some evening entertainment. It is quiet and clean hotel with decent clients. Places are close for walks along the ocean, many restaurants in the area.

Sorin, from Bucharest (Romania)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sorin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

good overall hotel ..... food could be better but you wont starve .....and besides there is plenty of resturants outside from the hotel.....good size rooms and balcony to match free shuttle bus to the centre of town ..all hotels are located in the hotel area so being near to the centre is of no great advantage .its also not on a main street so its a little quieter in relation to traffic ....recommended for value and comfort.

Room Tip: all roooms seem good but the higher up the better the view..........and there is 11 floors and we st...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank colm-osullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Stayed in a group of 13 people for a week at the end of February 2013. The hotel is well positioned in the hotel area and there is a good view from the balcony over the sea and over the city, as well. Room with not new furniture but in good condition, well supplied small kitchen with dishes, cutlery and everything is strictly needed.Clean and well equipped premises (WiFi, outdoor and indoor pools, jacuzzi, sauna, fitness room), good food, shuttle bus, very polite and supportive staff, so on. All these together with a wide touristic opportunities provided by Abreu Travel Agency in a professional way, contributed to a wonderful stay on this enchanted island.

Room Tip: Draft coming under the hall door to the balcony door, in the colder and windy days, could be a probl...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Virgil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Stayed here for a week in october and loved it. Clean and comfortable, excellent staff and good breakfasts. Had a spacious room with a little kitchenette and a balcony with a partial sea view. Bathroom also very clean with loads of hot water. Great location- a couple of streets up from the seafront, shops, supermarkets, bars and restuarants all around. 20 minute walk along the front to Funchal, though there is a regular courtesy bus from the hotel. Very impressed with stay and would recommendNnM

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kimparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Stayed in this hotel for a week in October. Location is a little out of town but with the free shuttle bus this isn't a problem. Rooms were clean and served their purpose. Facilities and entertainment were very good. The staff were excellent, very friendly and helpful. Overall we had a very good experience in this hotel and would recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Healye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.0 mi away
Dorisol Estrelicia
Dorisol Estrelicia
#85 of 88 in Funchal
413 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dorisol Mimosa
Dorisol Mimosa
#76 of 88 in Funchal
360 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dorisol Florasol
Dorisol Florasol
#51 of 88 in Funchal
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Terrace Mar Suite Hotel
Terrace Mar Suite Hotel
#56 of 88 in Funchal
137 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Jardins d’Ajuda Suite Hotel
0.7 mi away
Aparthotel Imperatriz
Aparthotel Imperatriz
#58 of 88 in Funchal
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorisol Buganvilia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorisol Buganvilia

Address: Rua Casa Branca 98, Funchal, Madeira 9004-535, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Spa Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £37 - £278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dorisol Buganvilia 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel located close to the promenade. Offers facilities like indoor and outdoor pools, tennis court, spa and wifi. Studio apartments with balcony and kitchenette. Shuttle bus to city center. Restaurante/bar open untill 2 am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dorisol Buganvilia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorisol Buganvilia Funchal
Dorisol Buganvilia Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing