We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and worn out”
Review of Dorisol Buganvilia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dorisol Buganvilia
Ranked #75 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed here a week during new year of 2014. The hotel was included in a package tour including flights and guide services. In our budget we had two hotels to choose from, this and Duas Torres. After reading TripAdvisor reviews we reserved Buganvilia.

I have accustomed to the fact that the cheaper package tour hotels are a little bit worn out and old. Usually I tend to give average rating to these hotels because the trip is a bargain and you are not spending much of your time in the room anyway. The facts that you have to use normal key instead of a keycard or that you will get only one key to the room are not problems for me. The bland breakfast with no variety was to be expected. I ignored the rudeness of staff (excluding wonderful and lovely Barbara). And what if the balcony is facing the parking area and building site - not everyone can get the sea view. The gym has no ventilation, is built next to the indoor pool causing humidity to be 100% and has equipment which is old, rusty and falling apart - but hey, is someone really expecting that these kinds of hotels would have a real gym?

And the hotel has some good sides as well. For sun worshippers there are two outdoor pool areas and there is an indoor pool and jacuzzi. Barbara in the reception is a real sunshine. You can use free wi-fi in the lobby. Rooms are clean and spacious and include a kitchenette. And of course, the location is fine. But then again, the tourist zone in Lido is not that big. One could argue that all the hotels in the area have a good location. After all, there seems to be only hotels and restaurants in the Lido area.

There were only two things that caused me to drop my rating from average:

First one was the bathroom. It would not dry at all. If you left your towel hanging in the bathroom it would still be wet the next day. If you wanted to use the toilet in the evening, your feet would get wet because the dribbled water after a morning shower was still there. Usually bathrooms have some kind of ventilation system, this had none.

The second issue was the soundproofing, more specially the lack of it. Our room was 103. The hallways are built in a way that everything echoes in them and the room door has a big gap under it. So basically we heard everything that was going on in the lobby area. Apparently this is not an issue if you have a room from the upper floors.

Anyway, our holiday in Madeira was wonderful and the hotel was mostly what we expected. This being said, if we ever come back we definitely try some other hotel. There is nothing special in this one.

Room Tip: Ask a room from the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank the_vizitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (398)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

185 - 191 of 398 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2013

We just stayed a week at this hotel and we were very satisfied.
The rooms are clean and our (room 810) had a nice view over the pool and the ocean.
The breakfast was decent, but sort of boring - it was more or less the same all week.
The location is great. There are som really good restaurants with 5 minutes walk and by car the highways are easy to access. If you use the hospital as guide, you can always find your way home. Walking to the center of the city take about half an hour.
The staff is very nice and helpful, and Barbara Gomes is always smiling and she was in particular very helpful when planning our sightseeing trips.
Also shopping is available from smaller supermarkeds just across the street, and a Pingo Doce is app. 10 minutes walk away.
A small kitchenette makes it possible to cook a bit.
We would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LPHDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Booked Dorisol Bugunvilia having read the reviews.
Yes, the hotel has some wear and tear but it is clean, functional and in a nice spot surrounded by restaurants. It used to be four star but now shows as three star on the board outside.

Positives:
Lovely staff, especially Barbara Gomes the receptionist
Clean! Which is really important
Got a high twin room with sea view as I had requested
Had a problem with the heat and a fan was delivered to the room while we were out
Outside pool was also clean even though tree was shedding leaves and stuff
Free shuttle bus to town (OK, occasionally late especially the 2pm trip) - very convenient.

Negatives:
No air conditioning
No grill or oven in room which would be helpful if self catering as we were.

Highlights:
Barbara as mentioned above, such a sweetheart and full of helpful advice if you ask.
Cheerful staff including cleaners.
Was sunbathing by the pool which must be near the kitchen area as could hear staff singing, laughing and having good hearted disagreement.

Hints & tips:
If you go for this hotel take a mug as only provide tea cups
Take a tea towel
There is a minimum of cutlery but sufficient for two.
Prepare for hill walking - very good for the thighs and gluteous maximus!

If you accept that you don't get 5 star paying 3 start prices you should be happy here.

Room Tip: Go for a high floor, sea view. One side of the hotel gets the sun in the morning and the other in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngieJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a week in July as part of a Travel Department Holiday.
Couldn't fault it for value,location service and accommodation.
A free shuttle bus was available every half hour to take guests into town and back.
Lovely sea views from the nice balconies although they are obviously better from the higher floors.
Breakfast was fine and plentiful although not a great variety on offer.
Better choice at dinner(included in deal) and wine or water offered free of charge.
Little kitchen in room,great for making own tea etc.
Would be happy to go back to the Buganvilla when next in Madeira.

Room Tip: For better views ask for higher floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We had amazing vacation on this beautiful island and I found Dorisol Buganvilia Hotel as very convenient one. Speaking about Hotel, beside very good location, from where you can walk on both sides of the city (towards old and very new part), we found it as very clean hotel with really helpful staff (at the beginning we were a bit demanding) who fluently speaks English, Italian, Spanish and French. There is a very good service provided by the hotel - free shuttle bus from the hotel to the city center and vs. However, the transfer from the hotel is not always at time, but give them 10 minutes (in general, people on the island is very relaxed). Additional good offer is that you can use amenities from hotel other two Dorisol hotels (Esterlicia and Mimosa), but also the fact that all three hotels are organizing different day and night activities for free (aquabick, salsa, gym training, music nights, etc).
There are just a few things which should be improved - the elevator is rather slow, we really had to ask the reception for the soap even if the cleaning lady has cleaned our room every day.
Reading others impressions before we made our trip, I was a bit suspicious about some conditions, but today I'm very satisfied that we chose Buganvilia for our stay.

Room Tip: rooms on the higher floors for the better view and less noise, especially if the view can catch all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jordana_bgd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We were given a fifth floor room which we found wasn't high enough to escape the noise. We had many a sleepless night thanks to the local fool on a twin exhaust fitted quad bike who loved to roar up and down the road in the small hours.
The hallways amplify the slightest noise especially with the locking/unlocking of doors.
You may comment 'You get what you pay for'......and yes you are correct, you do.
The amenities are sufficient and provided us with everything we needed apart from the kitchens in the rooms. Boiling the kettle is fun.
Locally the restaurants are vying for business by approaching you which reminds me of a Med package holiday.
Funchal is a lovely place with lovely attractions plus theres a lot of improvement going on but I detest being doorstepped by a strange character holding a menu trying to herd you to your dinner.
Locally the shops have everything you need and the 'better restaurants' have great staff and the food is equally good.
After all the whinging, the staff really tried their hardest to make you feel at home and meet every request, especially Barbara on reception. We felt confident everytime we visited reception and saw Barbara behind the desk. A credit to the organisation.

Room Tip: Go high, away from the road side and with no A/C in the hotel you'll need a good breeze in the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 957truffleshuffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Okay, first things first... if you want an architect-design, modern, shiny immaculately looking hotel, then pay price the price and stay at the many 5 star hotels nearby. But if you want a clean hotel with very friendly helpful staff, tasty breakfast with a good selection of food, then look no further.

Basically the Dorisol Buganvilia is the lower building of 3 'tower-block'-style hotels, which from the outside look very tired (rust streaks from old railings down the building) but looks arn't everything. We checked in early and expected to be told that our room would not be available, but by the time we'd flicked through the tour books, it was ready. Reception staff were incredibly friendly, genuine and helpful when needed but never pushy. Barbara imparticularly as she helped me sort out a problem with my mobile phone. We hired a safe, too which was inexpensive. We were on the 8th floor (810). The reception areas were clean, tidy and free Wifi area.

There are 2 lifts which we managed to call without delay every time. I don't think the hotel was particularly busy, so only having 2 lifts may be a problem at busier times.

Our room was clean, tidy and had the most amazing view. The balcony was furnished with a table and 2 chairs. The beds were comfortable and the sheets were so 'floaty' it made sleeping a pleasure!! Small TV which had adequate channels. There was a small kitchenette cleverly hidden behind 2 doors. We didn't really use this except the fridge, but it was equipped for basic self catering. Note there is no electric kettle. One criticism I would make is that there is no AC in the room. However this did not bother us as we left the balcony door open 24/7 so being so high up the air flow was fine. Keeping the door open was safe too as the design of the building meant that no-one could've possibly climbed across, except Spiderman!!

We opted for the breakfast and was pleasantly surprised as the supplement was so cheap we thought even if we had a cup of tea and toast it would be worth it. But the choice was great.... everything you would expect from a hotel at this level.... good variety, freshly made, tasty and the most amazing yummy bread selection.

So, overall, a brilliant hotel for the budget and would definitely recommend. Bravo to all the staff at Dorisol Buganvilia.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Toffees_Mum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0 mi away
Dorisol Mimosa
Dorisol Mimosa
#80 of 88 in Funchal
369 reviews
0 mi away
Dorisol Estrelicia
Dorisol Estrelicia
#86 of 88 in Funchal
426 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dorisol Florasol
Dorisol Florasol
#53 of 88 in Funchal
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Aparthotel Imperatriz
Aparthotel Imperatriz
#55 of 88 in Funchal
162 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Monte Carlo
Hotel Monte Carlo
#66 of 88 in Funchal
239 reviews
1.8 mi away
Residencial Parque
Residencial Parque
#64 of 88 in Funchal
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorisol Buganvilia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorisol Buganvilia

Address: Rua Casa Branca 98, Funchal, Madeira 9004-535, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Spa Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £38 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dorisol Buganvilia 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel located close to the promenade. Offers facilities like indoor and outdoor pools, tennis court, spa and wifi. Studio apartments with balcony and kitchenette. Shuttle bus to city center. Restaurante/bar open untill 2 am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dorisol Buganvilia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorisol Buganvilia Funchal
Dorisol Buganvilia Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing