We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem over looking Funchal”
Review of Ocean Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ocean Gardens
Ranked #29 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 January 2012

My husband & I visit this wonderful Island yearly tending to stay in central Funchal. Ocean Gardens Hotel is certainly on the cards for another visit this year too. All the members of staff were so happy to see you and so approachable and helpful. The hotel is clean and extremely welcoming, the rooms spotless & so comfortable, the roof pool/garden is divine. Ok you are up a hill, not walking distance to funchal but read the description and check the maps out before booking. They provide a shuttle bus and yes the bus stop couldn't be closer! Would highly recommend this hotel...

Room Tip: Superior bay/searooms have the best of the views over looking Funchal, Yet the Junior Suites have go...
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PamMacRuary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (391)
There are newer reviews for Ocean Gardens
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 392 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2012

I spent 2 weeks in Madeira recently and thoroughly enjoyed my trip. The only downside in general was the beds/pillows in other places which to my taste were too hard. So after almost two weeks I found the comfortable bed/pillows at Ocean Gardens sheer heaven! The staff were all very nice in particular the lady who greeted me who gave me detailed directions to the nearest shop. The hotel is so well connected to Funchal center with buses from one recommended company about every 40 minutes, but in fact there are several companies serving the route. The outdoor pool on the roof is really big and clean. My room had a nice balcony overlooking the ocean. Great stuff.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank funkylittlefrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

I do not mind hotels that have seen better days, but I found Ocean Gardens disappointing: The breakfast was the negative climax, with an enormous population of ants invading the water/coffee dispensers (see picture below). The location is neither fish nor fowl, though admittedly with stunning views and an impressive rooftop garden with pool.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladybug_braunschweig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

The hotel is located outside of Funchal which means a travel each day. Is easy accessed via bus No.39 Bus ( yellow ) in 15 mins., cost less than 1,50 eur with card. The buses are an amazing experience, up & down also, especially going into the mountains. You can reach the hotel from airport or return to airport using the green bus SAM, I forget the number, cost less than 4 eur/one way/p.p. The Aerobus doesn't reach the hotel, it run on the highway. The hotel is quiet and It is on a cliff with breathtaking views across Funchal Bay.

Pros:

The room was clean ( daily maid service ), very comfortable ( king size bed ) and quiet.
Nice balcony with table and two chairs and beautiful view.
Nice and very quiet small pool, on the rooftop, with a beatiful garden well kept.
Stunning views over the Funchal city from the rooftop, in the evenings/nights.
Nice and helpful personal at the reception desk.
Free computer in the lobby, reception desk.
Free parking places.

Cons:

The breakfast could have offered more variety. The staff does not refill the empty plates, if you come later in the morning. Not an 4* breakfest, definitly.
Still, in two morning days I requested an early breakfest for us, with half an hour in advance, and they prepared for us 75% from the regular breakfest, nice touch !

I recommend this hotel, but...is better to rent a car.

Stayed on July 2011.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with Funchal bay seaside.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Metalactual
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

The hotel Ocean Gardens was very good.Despite that it was located on the mountain around 15 min(by bus) and 50 min(walking) from the city.The view at night from the hotel terrace was amazing. You cold see all city covered in lights and nice, big ships in the port.That was worth it!!!!The hotel have their own bus that is free of charge,(4 times a day) but we used it only one day.The all other days we used a local bus that costs 1.80EUR one way.We had chosen a half board and every night you could choose from menu, so it was quite ok. The food was fine but could be better.Overall the hotel was good, the majority people staying there were old - around 70, but it doesn't bother us, just at first was weird.Tip for those who are only going to Madeira to walk on the mountains, see levadas and enjoy nature - the Funchal is not to place to stay if you planning all that above, cause all those nice mountains is around 2 hours drive from Funchal, around Santana.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ieva R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

This was our first time in Madeira and overall it was an enjoyable one.

We booked a superior room which was a mistake as it was quite small (it happened to be the smallest on the floor) and from what I could make out the superior rooms have a bay view instead of a sea view. I would have preferred a larger room with a sea view. The lack of somewhere to sit in the room (other than the bed) was a tad annoying. I can’t say that road noise was an issue though.
Room was cleaned daily and the shower was good although no bath which would have been nice. Hot water was never a problem which we have had issues with in the past in some places.

The hotel is about a 15 minute bus trip into Funchal (bus stop at entrance) which didn't really bother us but the biggest downside was that we could not actually go out and walk anywhere as the roads were far too dangerous to walk on (no pavements) Not something that can be fixed but worth considering.

Pool area was great although the water was a tad on the chilly side, but what do you expect for October? However, the wife did love the jacuzzi. Snacks and drinks were a phone call away; no need to move from your sun lounger! The pool area was a must though as there is no beach close by.

The restaurant (attached to the hotel) was very nice, although the service wasn’t the best. The first night we walked in we were completely ignored for some time which was rather annoying given that they were not busy. However, the food more than made up for it. We quite like a nice break between courses and if you expect to receive the next course within minutes of the last one then you will be disappointed. Who wants to rush their food anyway?

Funchal itself was great; very clean and the people very friendly. Shame about the annoying guy trying to get us into a timeshare type thing but he was the only one we saw.

Trying to find a supermarket was fun! They all seem to be located within indoor shopping complexes on the lower level. Took us ages to find the first one.

Cable car trip was excellent.

We did eat out a couple of times in Funchal in the old town part and the meals were excellent. Too many to choose from at times.

Overall a great holiday

Should we go again we would probably stay at the same hotel although hopefully in a larger room.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view rather than a bay view.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EddieWiltshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

We got to madeira for 3 days and decided to stay a week more. Changed our initial hotel with this one and loved it !
They upgaded us from a sea view room to a sea and bay view.
The view was spectacular !
Rooms are a bit old and bathroom might require some modern instalation, but there is nothing that should scare you off.
The pool is great and the other facilities as well.
Breakfast might get boring after a couple of days, but you have everything you need.
It's perfect if you want a fantastic view over funchal and the ocean, if you rent a car and want to move around the island.

Room Tip: take a sea and bay view room. it is spectacular !!!
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andreea555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Funchal
3.5 mi away
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
#27 of 88 in Funchal
581 reviews
4.0 mi away
Baia Azul Hotel
Baia Azul Hotel
#19 of 88 in Funchal
257 reviews
2.0 mi away
Quinta Splendida
Quinta Splendida
#4 of 13 in Canico
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel do Carmo
Hotel do Carmo
#32 of 88 in Funchal
447 reviews
4.3 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
2.3 mi away
Hotel Madeira
Hotel Madeira
#28 of 88 in Funchal
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Gardens

Address: Rua Conde Carvalhal 321 | Sao Goncalo, Funchal, Madeira 9060-054, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#33 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £42 - £707 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocean Gardens Hotel with a privileged location on the top of a cliff, offers amazing ocean views and views to the Bay of Funchal. This charming Hotel, offers to its guests comfort and well-being in a welcoming and familiar atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ocean Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Gardens Funchal
Ocean Gardens Hotel Funchal
Ocean Gardens Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing