We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ocean Gardens
Nearby Hotels
US$146
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$171
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$155
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$487
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$385
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$227
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$214
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pestana Palms(Funchal)
US$191
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$352
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$70
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$261
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$151
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$154
Elvoline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$238
Elvoline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (417)
Filter reviews
417 results
Traveller rating
223
147
32
7
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
223
147
32
7
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscourtesy bushalf boardrestaurant attached to the hotelmontana restaurantbay viewroad noisefree hotel buslocal bus stopsrooftop poolexcept sundayfunchal bayhire carfish or meatbus stop right outside the hotelno tea coffee making facilitiesthe hotel offersyellow bus
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
157 - 162 of 417 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2013

just returned from ocean gardens ... such a clean hotel with very very good staff ... upgrade always to a superior ocean view room the view is fantastic ... lovely grounds and plenty of quiet spaces ... breakfast a good continental with a partial hot cooked .. lots of variations on bread.... resturant for half board very good staff always going the one step further to help ... yes there is only an either or alternative but even if you want to buy anything is reasonable and well cooked ,,, sometimes too much choice lets a place down and i know some have complained about the lack of choice ...
hotel shuttle bus ideal and worth using book with reception also a well done to carlos in the bar very friendly and makes a wicked cocktail will go back again . lastly thank you to all the resturant staff for a lovely week the reception staff and cleaners just wish other hotel could visit to see how good this one is

Room Tip: updrade to superior ocean view
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julieg119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Rooms are adequate, air conditioning not in good working order and very noisy. Breakfast was very repetitive but edible. The views from the garden top and restaurant are amazing and that's it as far as it goes. The amenities are very poor the pool is situated on the 4th floor with no refreshment facilities other that a phone to ring down to reception to order a drink!!!
we had taken a half board package and the food was just awful "Fish fried with sprouts", yes we did get sprouts with our fish........ The restaurant is franchised and the food is really nice when your paying an extravagant amount of money for it, but it appears that the owners of the hotel will not pay any extra for the guests so you get a very cheap option. The restaurant staff are great and thanks to them it made a difference. The owner was at the hotel for a few days whilst we were there and the atmosphere was dreadful all the staff appeared to be in fear of them!!! this made our stay uncomfortable.
The hotel is too far out of the town with no shops, bars ect close by. You would take your life in your own hands if you walked down the hill as they drive stupidly fast, this includes the bus drivers.
I can not personally recommend this hotel and I will not be going back. Like most people you work hard and save hard for a holiday and this hotel did not live up to my expectation.
Take my advise and go to another hotel, Funchal is a lovely city and worth a visit.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nitta1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Rooms adequate, Staff superb, breakfast good, views amazing with the right room. That is where it stops. The amenities are poor. No porter to carry cases. A 4th floor pool with no refreshment facility. The worst of all is the restaurant with a stone age chef and a boring menu. The only other way to get an evening meal of good quality is to bus or taxi into Funchal and get a quality meal at half the price. By the way the bar prices are a disgrace. we booked half board and the choice is abysmal, driving you to the main menu that is over priced and generally only meat and fish with salad for 25 euros each without vegetables. Nice staff save the day. The management need to stop taking the piss.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diggermeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Our room was a good size and very comfortable, the bathroom needs an update and it was difficult to get into the shower/bath. A plug so I could have a bath would have been nice. Had a minor problem with ants in the bathroom, but they soon disappeared. The air con fan was too loud to leave on overnight.The buffet breakfast was excellent. The half board menu was a bit restrictive on a couple of occasions but the food in general was very nice. The staff make the hotel, they were all friendly & helpful, especially the waiters. The rooftop pool was fantastic, but, there was no jacuzzi which was disappointing. The hotel minibus was useful & the local buses are easy to use & very cheap.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We had never visited Madeira before this trip but we were told that we would have a lovely time - we certainly did! This was due in no small part to the staff and facilities at Ocean Gardens Hotel in Funchal. Perched on the edge of Funchal just 15 minutes from the airport this hotel was just perfect. Everywhere was totally spotless and the staff could not have been friendlier - the restaurant staff were so lovely and we had a lot of fun with them (special thanks to Carlos and Joan for their superb customer service). Admittedly the hotel did not have entertainment in the evenings (although Portuguese TV is interesting!!) but we were there to relax and the surroundings certainly gave us that. Lovely pool and gardens, beautifully appointed rooms and a real laid back atmosphere. We were half board and certainly didn't think it was too 'samey' - with a choice of starters, meat or fish main and choice of desserts we weren't fishing around for something we fancied Admittedly if you did 2 weeks you might find it boring but it was always well cooked and well presented. The courtesy bus was so handy down to the centre and the local bus stopping right outside the hotel was a bonus. Best tips for trips - use the yellow buses for a cost effective tour if the main sites of Funchal and if you want to do Monte go up by local bus as part of the tourist deal which includes a cable car ride from the botanical gardens - and avoid the taxi drivers and the exorbitant toboggan ride!! The typical Madeiran evening was also well worth it. Fabulous hotel in a fabulous country - thank you Ocean Gardens!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Virginia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews