We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cant Wait to Go Back”
Review of Ocean Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ocean Gardens
Ranked #28 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2010

I actually booked to stay at Ocean Gardens as I had won a 2 day break at a more expensive Hotel in Funchal and wanted to extend my stay without paying too much, I wish the whole week was at Ocean gardens as it was so much more us. The staff was always very friendly, our room was comfortable and the view was fantastic, we went in the Pool and Jacuzzi and Just felt welcome the whole time. Yes you can not walk in to town but that was never a problem as the local buses were so regular you did not need to. We actually went to the west side “Hotel District” while we were there and were so grateful we had not booked a hotel there it was busy and pushy and to be honest a bit trashy where as Ocean Gardens is peaceful but easy to reach after going to town (Taxi’s varied in Price the cheapest were from the Rank in the old town which was about 8 Euros) Bus was 1e50 – each. We will be going back to Ocean gardens as soon as possible.The attached restaurant we found to be friendly and had the most sensational meat dishes and we ate there 3 times while we stayed at the hotel as the quality was so good. We did go for some meals in town and can recommend the Old town section for the best choice and meals otherwise.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank straysuzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (400)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 400 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2010

Others have commented about the traffic noise but we did not find it intrusive - and we slept with windows open. The building, facilities, staff and area are all extremely good. The restraunt is frequented by the locals which is always a good guide to the quality.
This is 4 star plus plus hotel. - A car comes in handy.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nomadicWidnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2010

I can confirm the positive reviews in generell , the negative is the noisy road in front of the hotel and I definitely recommend to hire a car staying in a hotel outside of towncenter.
We had booked a Low Cost Room over an travel operator. It was shown in the catalogue as having the same amenities as the normal double bed rooms.
But this was not the case!
We were given room 114, which did n o t have
a window at all , but a light shaft, no a/c, no Balcony, no seaview, it was small size and we were embarassed and changed the room right away.
We had to pay 175 Euro's additional for the Week/Room only to get, what we in fact had booked and payed allready out of the catalogue.
Is that 4 Star?
We did not have any experience like this with our past vacations.
This brings down the rating of the hotel by 1 Star
Roberto from the reception desk, however, was very friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mikeontravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2010

We stayed at the Ocean Gardens for a week in March 2010. The Hotel is on a hill overlooking Funchal just off the Motorway from the Airport (but not near enough to hear or see it!).
Reception was very welcoming and all the staff are friendly and helpful. The Hotel is very clean, with lovely gardens and a roof top pool/terrace area.Breakfast was very good with fresh fruit, rolls, scrambled eggs and bacon, juice etc. Fresh tea and coffee wasindividually made as you came in for breakfast so was always hot and fresh.There is a free courtesy bus into Funchal several times a day, plenty of free parking and local buses stop outside. A perfect place for a quiet get away break.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank silversurfer59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2010

this hotel on the top of the hill next to funchal gives a perfect view from the ocean and from the city, there is no hotel with a better one there, not even the most expensive brands can beat it, of course you pay a price, you are not in the city centre, it takes you about 15 minutes by bus (hotel puts a free bus several times a day back and forth), but since the best to visit madeira island is to rent a car it shall not be a problem. we where there off season and we paid a ridiculous price for a great room, only small issue, there were ants sneeking into the room, but what can you expect being in tropical climate island! ;-)
facilities included swiming pool with a great view of the city, communitary yacuzzi, ...

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ianeylow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2009

The reviews were correct. A fantatic hotel which had great views (dont forget your binoculars) and very clean.
Tips:
Try to get a' Bay' rather than 'Sea' view - rooms 101 to 110 I think. We had room 106 which was not big but had a great view.
Food in restaurant downstairs ok but rather unimaginative
Dont be affraid to catch the local bus 39 down into the town in the evening - cheap and reliable
Town very relaxed - did not feel at all concerned wandering through back streets even at night
Riso is a great contempary resaurant in the Old Town behind the fort - if you like rice
Like many hotels with tiled corridors the rooms can be a bit noisy at times but really not an issue as the hotel was always quiet by about 10.30!
Pool area is lovely - clean and quiet

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alfandemily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2009

Bus No 113 or 20 takes you to the Hotel from the airport during the daytime. The ocean can be seen while swimming in the roof pool. I have even seen the ocean from my bed. Traffic noise is disturbing for people only who sleeps late in the morning, because at night there is not much traffic. Breakfast is also very good. Everything is very high quality. Top roof garden is very beautiful, the view is amazing.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flower42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Funchal
4.0 mi away
Baia Azul Hotel
Baia Azul Hotel
#19 of 88 in Funchal
271 reviews
3.5 mi away
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
#26 of 88 in Funchal
588 reviews
2.3 mi away
Quinta Mirabela
Quinta Mirabela
#48 of 88 in Funchal
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Quinta Splendida
Quinta Splendida
#4 of 13 in Canico
475 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Madeira
Hotel Madeira
#29 of 88 in Funchal
505 reviews
4.3 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Gardens

Address: Rua Conde Carvalhal 321 | Sao Goncalo, Funchal, Madeira 9060-054, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#33 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £53 - £629 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocean Gardens Hotel with a privileged location on the top of a cliff, offers amazing ocean views and views to the Bay of Funchal. This charming Hotel, offers to its guests comfort and well-being in a welcoming and familiar atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ocean Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Gardens Funchal
Ocean Gardens Hotel Funchal
Ocean Gardens Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing