We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extra special experience in Madeira”
Review of Vila Marta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vila Marta
Ranked #4 of 35 Funchal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Extra special experience in Madeira”
Reviewed 18 February 2012

If you are looking for a large corporate hotel with fine pools and lots of glitz this is not for you. We came to Madeira to experience the island and the people, not the sun balcony of a hotel that could be anywhere in the world. Vila Marta is situated in a residential neighbourhood that forms part of the real Funchal - definitely NOT tourist town. Joel and Bruno, not forgetting Marta, did all in their power to make us feel welcome and comfortable in their extended home. We were memberr of the Vila Marta family for as long as we were there. The service that they provide has been reviewed so many times that I cannot add more - only to say that all the reviews that extol this little gem are completely accurate. If you want to be a visitor to Madeira rather than a tourist then this wonderful villa is the place for you.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank halo57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    21
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
144
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grenoble, France
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

It is not just a hotel, it is a complete experience from the initial welcome to the tour recommendations, restaurant advice and a beautiful bunch of flowers when we left.

Joel and his son Bruno were exceptionally helpful in making sure we had a great time in Madeira.

As for the hotel itself, our apartment was large, with a nice kitchenette, a wide balcony looking toward the ocean. And spotless as the rest of the hotel.

One suggestion: if you intend to drive from the airport, ask Joel for directions, the road shown by googlemaps is seriously misguided.

Room Tip: All rooms seem pretty much equal with a balcony and an ocean view. One room the "suite" is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JP B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

We enjoyed a 13 night stay at Vila Marta and the sun shone every day on the Vila. It was peaceful and relaxing. The hosts Joel and son Bruno ensured we were well looked after, like family. We were given information about restaurants and take aways, although I like to do a little cooking myself, the vila was certainly well equipped to enable this also. There was a welcome pack and some fresh fruit, and fresh bread is delivered every morning- lovely The vila was spotless, the floors and surfaces sparkled and linen changed alternate days, thanks to Marta and her maids. Standing on the balcony you enjoyed lovely views of the sea and it served as a little suntrap when sitting and relaxing. Nothing was too much trouble for the hosts and Bruno even fixed my kindle -I had 5 books downloaded all ready read then it went blank on me! The family are as genuine as they come. Ensuring we were happy, giving us lifts into Funchal and asking us to join them for a few drinks and nibbles. The gifts presented to us at the end of our holiday were a very kind gesture and will be much appreciated by us and our friends. We would recommend this Vila to anyone looking for a peaceful relaxing holiday and the price is very good.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jewelledflipflop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Balcony in sun all day, very warm welcome and always available. On the outskirts of Funchal with a great sea view. Charming hosts speaking excellent English full of good ideas of places to go.
Felt completely safe.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boggyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

This wonderful place deserves every one of the excellent reviews it has received. We booked through email contact and since the owner (Joel) and his son (Bruno) knew we were renting a car, emailed accurate instructions to get to Vila Marta from the airport. From there on, everything was excellent. We were given an extremely helpful orientation session by Bruno when we arrived, so we could be confident about getting around by ourselves. Bruno gave us a map, restaurant recommendations and suggestions of places to visit. Joel and his wife made us very welcome, by treating us to a drink on their veranda and at a bar in town. The daily fresh bread was a lovely touch, and when you realise the owners have to wake at 5:30am to collect it each morning, you realise how dedicated to running the place well they are. When we wanted to go to a particularly busy restaurant, they took care of the arrangements for us. The apartment and building are spotless, well furnished and the kitchenette has everything you need. Vila Marta is the owners' home and you are made to feel like an old friend visiting - warm, friendly, and nothing is too much trouble. It has been noted by other reviewers that you are a little out of Funchal here, but that is not a problem. It is a 5-10 min drive into town or 20 mins on the efficient bus service. Frankly, the main 'hotel' district of Funchal is not very pleasant, and old Funchal has no places to stay, so this was an ideal neighbourhood. I really couldn't recommend this place enough if you are visiting Funchal.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonTravelbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2011

On arrival Joel arranged a restaurant reservation, transport to and from the restaurant. He and his Son could not have been more helpful throughout our stay even loaning us a brand new book on walks. The room had lovely sea views, fruit. flowers and beautiful fresh rolls for breakfast. When we left we were given a bottle of madeira wine and a box of exotic flowers which Joel had ensured could be taken on to the plane as hand luggage. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and would not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lovetravel63-65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

I booked Vila Marta a few months ago based on the positive reviews on Trip Advisor, it was everything that was said and more. The apartments are excellent value and as a seasoned traveller it offers fantastic value for money. Joel and Bruno - the owner and his son could not be more helpful, they were charming, friendly and their customer service was second to none. The apartment was spotless, cleaned every day. The fresh bread every morning was a great touch. I cannot recommend Vila Marta enough, in a nutshell excellent service at an excellent price.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jacqueline c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 86 in Funchal
2,857 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quinta da Bela Vista
Quinta da Bela Vista
#21 of 86 in Funchal
901 reviews
0.9 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Residencial Parque
Residencial Parque
#62 of 86 in Funchal
83 reviews
0.8 mi away
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
#28 of 86 in Funchal
549 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 86 in Funchal
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Marta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Marta

Property: Vila Marta
Address: Travessa Amparo 36, Funchal, Madeira 9000-647, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Vila Marta 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vila Marta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Marta Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing