We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Warm Welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Vila Marta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Vila Marta
Ranked #3 of 31 Funchal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
Level Contributor
83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A Warm Welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a 10 day holiday in Madeira, staying at Vila Marta, and can confirm that all of the previous reviews accurately reflect the hospitality provided by Joel and his family.

The accommodation is spotless and the service faultless. We did not hire a car during our stay, but used the regular bus service from stops just 5 minutes walk away... although Joel and his son Bruno would offer to drive us into the town centre if ever they had an opportunity to do so.

There is a nearby restaurant, Tourigalo, that serves good traditional Madeiran cooking to eat on the premises or to take-away. The restaurant provides a shuttle service to and from Vila Marta, so just ask Joel or Bruno and they will arrange this for you.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill-in-Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    20
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
140
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

We have been traveling abroad for quite a few years but never have we felt so motivated to write a review of our accommodation. The hosts Joel, Marta and their son Bruno provided the best care, service and attention we have ever experienced. Throughout our stay at this wonderful accommodation the family did everything possible to make our stay enjoyable,trouble free and memorable. The rooms are cleaned meticulously every day and Joel and Bruno are always on hand to give advice and help whenever needed.I read the reviews before booking and hoped it would be half as good but I was amazed to find that it was even better than the reviews if this is possible. Roger & Paula

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank paulaSmithEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

There is little I can add to all the other praise heaped on this establishment. Yes it is modest, so not for those wanting a deluxe hotel, but I wouldn't have missed it for the world. The hospitality is second to none - welcome drink, farewell drink and gift of flowers and wine when we left. As for cleanliness - it is spotless - a standard that I am unlikely ever to achieve in my own home! We did not hire a car and spent a week walking and catching buses. I would say this is probably about the maximum time to stay without a car. Of course Madeira is very hilly and our thighs have now recovered! It would be impossible to fault this place.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank muscadet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Romney, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

We spent our honeymoon here, we were upgraded to a suite as it was our honeymoon, on arrival we had roses champagne and a fruit basket all at no extra charge. The owner was so helpful and drove us to a resturant when we had settled in our room. Every morning fresh bread rolls were delivered to our suite and the room was tidied and cleaned daily it was immaculate. The hospitaliy shown to us was exceptional and have never been so appreciated and looked after as well as at Vila Marta.........EXCELLENT

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gone4agallop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
159 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

This hotel is wonderful, thanks to the owners who do everything they can to make your stay memorable.
The hotel is situated up in a hill in St. Marthino a little outside the center of Funchal, but the bus-connections are good, and it takes you about 40 minutes to walk.
Upon arrival, we were stunned by the level of service. We were given a tour of the hotel, and the apartment was spacious and very nice. A well equipped kitchenette, good bathroom, nice beds with great sleeping-quality, a small living-room area with a small TV with many good channels, and a nice balcony with wonderful view of the sea and the banana-plants.
When we arrived, there were coffee, tea, milk, cheese-spread, butter and jam for the first morning in our room. And the fresh bread that hung on the door-knob every morning was a marvellous touch. On Valentines Day, there were two red roses hanging on the door knob as well. I got sick one day and had to stay in the room. Then, they offered all their help and services and even drove my husband to the super market so he could shop for groceries.
The cleaning was perfect – I don’t think I have ever seen such a clean place.
When we left, we were given beautiful flowers from the hotel-owners flower-shop, and also a bottle of Madeira wine.
Even though this hotel is not a luxury hotel, the service and homeliness makes it an exceptional place to stay! I would recommend it to anyone who is not dependent on a pool on the premises. Will definitely go back!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ragnhild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarragona, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Have just returned from Madeira where we stayed at Vila Marta. Joel & Bruno made us immediately welcome. They were always on hand to help. Joel gave us his mobile number "just in case" and were happy to advise places to go, things to see and suberb restaurants to try. And we did!
If you go please take one piece of advice; book a hire car! Madeira is wonderful for walking (levadas and brilliant scenery) but it is steep!!! So you need to drive to your walk.

Room Tip: All are good. They all come with a balcony overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BathGreyWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

If you are looking for a large corporate hotel with fine pools and lots of glitz this is not for you. We came to Madeira to experience the island and the people, not the sun balcony of a hotel that could be anywhere in the world. Vila Marta is situated in a residential neighbourhood that forms part of the real Funchal - definitely NOT tourist town. Joel and Bruno, not forgetting Marta, did all in their power to make us feel welcome and comfortable in their extended home. We were memberr of the Vila Marta family for as long as we were there. The service that they provide has been reviewed so many times that I cannot add more - only to say that all the reviews that extol this little gem are completely accurate. If you want to be a visitor to Madeira rather than a tourist then this wonderful villa is the place for you.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank halo57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,714 reviews
0.9 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#16 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,809 reviews
1.5 mi away
Quinta Da Penha De Franca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Marta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Marta

Property: Vila Marta
Address: Travessa do Amparo 36, Funchal, Madeira 9000-647, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Vila Marta 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vila Marta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Marta Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing