We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend this trip”
Review of Santa Maria

Santa Maria
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Sailing along the coast of Madeira in the replica of Santa Maria boat.
worcestershire, England
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Highly recommend this trip”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We went on this trip yesterday and had a fantastic time.the Santa Maria has been replicated with excellent detail. We took my 9 year old daughter and 6 year old son. The crew were dressed as real pirates including a real parrot and pirate dog!!!! They were extremely friendly, helpful and informative. The weather was lovely and the seas calm. The highlight for us was spotting a bryde whale, it came up for air a few times and them swam along side the boat, it was incredible. We were then treated to a swim in the ocean and then on our journey back, honey cake and Madeira wine for the adults and honey cake and iced tea for the children. Our highlight of our holiday so far.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank townsend4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    104
    38
    11
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A great trip for the whole family...saw the dolphins...”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

What a great adventure for the whole family. We had our toddler and my parent in-laws with us. We all loved the cruise especially under full sail. The parrot was well behave, saw the dolphins which was a big bonus, our toddler daughter took a dip in the sea with her daddy and granddad.
A very enjoyable day!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sukyi8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant trip!”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

All the staff were lovely, polite and friendly. They all had characters and there was even a real parrot! We luckily had beautiful weather and saw some Turtles. Lovely ship with great attention to detail. Well worth the money and I'm very pleased we did this.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Molly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Thanks to the Crew”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This year on our annual trip on the "Captain Pugwash" we took two friends with us. The trip was good as always but one of our friends unfortunately suffered from a severe bout of sea sickness. I cannot praise the crew enough for their concern and attendance of our friend, nothing was too much trouble. Thank you again.....

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank David38_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fun Boat Trip”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The ship is really cool looking... you feel like you're on a real pirate ship. The crew, all dressed up like pirates, don't really interact at all with the passengers. We didn't see any dolphins or whales on our trip but we did see some really nice views of the ocean and the Funchal coast. Good luck if you have to use the bathroom on this ship.... the bathrooms are a bit rustic!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Santa Maria also viewed

 

Been to Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing