We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“beautiful and relaxing villa”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Funchal, Madeira, Madeira Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
NorthStar...
1 review
“beautiful and relaxing villa”
Reviewed 2 December 2017 for a stay in September 2017

stayed for a week with the family - 3 daughters.
had a great time!
Joy - the owner was outstanding!
the house is very well maintained.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Dec 2017
Thank you very much for your 5 bubble review. The owner takes great pride in her house and always ensures it is in tip top condition.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aboutando...
london
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Relaxing, beautiful house”
Reviewed 6 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

This elegant house, beautifully restored by its owner and mercifully spared from last year's fires, made a perfect retreat for us (retired couple) for a week. Easy living, and splendid views right down and across Funchal bay to the unending horizon of sea and sky. The garden is charming and the pool surprisingly spacious (we had it heated as quite early in the season). You do hear some background noise during the day from the Toboggan run which finishes almost outside the house gate, but not disturbing. We chose Sunday though as our pool lounging day as it doesn't operate then and we had total peace. Everything spotlessly clean (and some lovely fresh flowers in the house too). Some really charming watercolours in every room, and solid old furniture, all easy on the eye. WiFi good in living room, but not elsewhere. Overall this makes a stylish, comfortable and entirely relaxing living space. Some key points:
1. Sleeping
There are 3 beautiful, calm bedrooms with extremely comfortable (firm with give) beds. We were able to keep windows and shutters closed at night and so totally quiet and dark. Slept better then I think I've slept anywhere. But in summer may be too hot to keep windows closed (there is no aircon) and then you will hear distant traffic from the big main road further down the hill. Bathrooms (two identical) are spacious and water always hot.
2. Food and Basics
Well stocked, generous welcome pack of basic items. Very handy minimart, quite well stocked for basics including fresh veg, within walking distance. Fantastic bakery literally round the corner. Kitchen is well equipped with all you need. We chose a meal cooked by the owner on our arrival night, and this was not only delicious but so generous in amount that we had plenty for the next day too. There's also quite a charming garden cafe just a little way down the hill which is open during the day. There is a walkable local restaurant too (just past the minimart),with basic food nothing special but passable.
3. Travel
We didn't have a car (although there is garage parking on site). We used a combination of minicabs (e.g. only 11euros to get to the Palheiro Gardens which we highly recommend) and excellent local bus service down into town (the number 19 - a rollercoaster ride in itself! - flat fare 1.95 pay on bus). We also used a couple of restaurants that run a pick up service. Local car tours round the island are available too (perhaps ask in advance and book). All worked fine for us. Walking up, or down, is challenging for all but the very fit as the hills are often near vertical! Also stepping outside the door needs care as the Toboggans come down at quite a speed! (NB a half hour walk along the road gets you to a bus to take you up to Monte, and then you can toboggan it back down.)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Apr 2017
Thank you very much for your complete review and comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen S
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
Reviewed 16 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed at this magnificent villa beautifully situated in Monte which is in the hills above Funchal (but only a €6 taxi ride from centre of Funchal). There were three couples in our party and we are all 60 years plus but very active.
Without a doubt the best self catering rental we have ever had anywhere in the world. Joy, the lovely owner, lives just two doors away and gave us a very succinct chat on the villa and also staying in Madeira. Listen and take her advice (based on 38 years of living on the island). We did and we were not let down. Joy is an excellent cook and for just €22.50 each, she will prepare a great three course meal for you. We really appreciated this facility, especially on or first night when we arrived weary from our journey. We enjoyed the dinner so much, we booked a second go for our last night.
We paid an extra €100 to have the outdoor pool constantly heated to 24c.mthis was hugely beneficial. We also booked a large 8 seat taxi for the day to take us around the island. A bargain at €130.
The villa was beautifully furnished to a very high standard. The gardens were lovely.
We will be back that is for sure.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The total package.
Liked least: The hills
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 May 2016
Thank you for choosing to stay at Quinta D'Alegria and for your super comments. We look forward to your return visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally H
Northwood, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 5 October 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely stay in this beautiful Villa. The owner, Joy seems to have thought of almost everything you could need. All rooms are well equipped, so too is the garden. There is a barbecue and outside bathroom facilities for while you are using the pool. The garden and pool are well maintained. The pool is very clean.
The view from the garden down across the harbour and waterfront is wonderful, especially at night. The toboggan run, which was a really fun experience, ends right below the garden. This can be a little noisy at times but it is not really any problem.
The villa is situated quite a way from the town. You can walk down, it only takes about half an hour but it is quite a hill, instead the bus is really easy to use and not that expensive - you can pay on the bus and get a rechargeable card to use again and again.
If you have a car it is a bit tricky getting out of the garage because the toboggans come past and you have to be careful to dodge them, also one of the roads you have to drive down is very narrow. You will not get a large car through it. Even with a Renault Cleo we had to fold the mirrors in and then only just made it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Character of the property
Liked least: Getting the car out of the garage
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2015
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield...
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Madeira at its best”
Reviewed 29 August 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Quinta D’Alegria is stunning. The building is stylishly appointed and is really comfortable and well equipped. Joy (the owner) is professional and helpful. We booked dinner from Joy on our second night and I can confirm it was very good indeed. The garden in late spring is probably the highlight for me it looks and smells beautiful and reinforces that you have chosen somewhere special for your holiday. The views over Funchal from the bedrooms and garden are magnificent.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Buying bread and croissants from the local bakery and returning to the garden for breakfast is my most lasting memory of the holiday.
Liked least: The only negative observation I can make relates to the booking process and for clarity Joy and the property are fantastic and worth the distraction of dealing with James Villas. Shortly after booking with James Villas our flights were changed and th
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2015
Thank you very much for your glowing review. Quinta D'Alegria is a lovely traditional house set in beautiful gardens with amazing views. Glad you sampled Joy's cooking - it's worth it!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atticdwel...
auckland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Everything We Wanted and....”
Reviewed 17 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Upon arrival we were thoroughly impressed with the wonderful restoration of this villa. It is furnished with style. Joy, the owner, met us, and we had her dinner, which was very tasty and perfect for tired travellers. She was also very helpful with advice for trips out, etc. The view was magnificent and the pool warmly welcomed us after trips away during the day.
Also, Joy provided us with everything we'd need for the coming morning and beyond.
The location is very convenient, though there is a little noise from the end of the toboggan run just below the pool. On the other hand, you can take a day trip downtown, go up the Monte Cable car, through the Tropical Gardens and down the toboggans to your door!
Just two reservations: 1. If you have a wide rental car, probably best not to park in the garage (exiting can be tricky too, during day time with toboggans coming down the street). 2. MHRD Consultants were unpleasant to deal with.
However those are minor issues. This is a wonderland and our almost 2 year old had a great time, as did we all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: House and garden/pool
Liked least: Dealing with MHRD consultants: mistake in initial quote, surprise huge bank fees on direct payment required, saying on final instructions that there would probably be a 2 or 3 hour delay if you did not rent car through them - there was no delay.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jun 2015
Hello Gregg,

Many thanks for the very appreciative review of your stay at Quinta d’Alegria, we are delighted that you enjoyed your holiday and that the property provided everything you were seeking as accommodation. Thank you for allowing MHRD to upgrade you to our larger property in order to accommodate the prolonged vacation of some our most regular guests. I am surprised and rather disappointed to hear negative comments about the customer service you experienced with our reservations agent, this is totally at odds with the opinions of our guests in general who habitually praise the way their enquiry and bookings are handled with particular reference to their ‘ can do ‘ profile and their personal attention to each individual booking. If your comment arose due to bank charges for the international transfer of funds, this is a matter directly related to the Portuguese banking system, and MHRD cannot be blamed for this point. We are sorry you felt the need to make this comment.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyFarme...
Pego Spain
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“This really is not a holiday rental - it's more like home!”
Reviewed 27 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

When it comes to stating in a Rental property you expect to make allowances in respect of facilities and the level of comfort and equipment to use during your stay - not here.

They really have thought of everything - and quality too!

From the heated pool, sumptuously equipped kitchen, fine dining settings to a beautifully comfortable lounge to sit around an open fire, even the logs are provided.

I cannot recomment this place highly enough - and the attention to detail is amazing.

On our last night - the maid 'Ciseltina' prepared and served a fantastic three course meal for us at the dining table which had been beautifully dressed earlier on. There was enough food to feed twice the amount of people present (5) together with 2 bottles of nice wine, and at a very reasonable rate.

Thank you very much for a superb stay - we will return

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views, the facilities and the quality
Liked least: a bit tight to get in with our large estate car - but your could park down the road
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2015
A super review, thank you very much. Delighted that you had a lovely time in Quinta D'Alegria and hope to see you back again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing