We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for the price but...”
Review of Golden Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Golden Residence
Ranked #25 of 85 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good value for the price but...”
Reviewed 11 September 2011

If you want to be near Funchal, this relatively new hotel is not ideal. It takes about 55mins to walk into town. The frequent buses are very reasonable and stop at the hotel, as does the airport bus. Having been to Madeira many times, this year we just wanted a quiet, good value week in the sun which is more or less what we got although we were not truly comfortable at this hotel.

The employees are all quite young and very friendly, but show their inexperience when under pressure. The buffet breakfast is excellent but the indoor dining room is not welcoming. Dark décor and spotlights don’t create the right atmosphere; tables in rows felt like a school canteen and at peak times it was a bit of a scrum. The outdoor dining area is fine though tablecloths would be nicer than plastic mats. We took up a buffet dinner offer which worked out at 74 Euros each for 4 meals including one glass of wine or beer. The food was pretty good but the hot dish presentation could have been more careful. Other nights, we walked into town to visit our favourite restaurants (Jardin do Infante, Villa Caffee, Casal de Penha) where you’d expect to pay 55-70 Euros for two.

The smallish pool can be chilly as much of it is in shade most of the morning, as are many of the sun-beds. Most of these are quite old and not at all comfortable. At this time, we counted eight new sun-beds which were fine but the others really need replacing, or supplied with cushions. There didn’t appear to be any pool staff to help with umbrellas, the bases of which are very heavy (no wheels), yet the brollys are quite flimsy and liable to turn inside out if the wind gets up. The area bordering the pool is covered with fine sharp gravel which is impossible to walk on in bare feet. The hotel advertises itself as suitable for wheelchair users and it may be that the gravel would be safer for them than a different surface. Because of the architecture, sound tends to reverberate round the pool area which can be distracting if guests’ voices are raised. The hotel grounds are small and have no quiet corners to which to escape.

Everywhere in the hotel is spotlessly clean. Beds and pillows are comfortable. Aircon is effective and not intrusively noisy. Opposite the hotel is Madeira Forum – a big shopping centre with a good supermarket which was useful as our room had a small kitchenette (no kettle!) so we made our own lunch each day.

At this time, a neighbouring property is being developed and the noise affects the pool area from time to time. It also affects inland facing rooms in so-called ‘Block A’ as does noise from the road. Side sea-view accommodation is probably the best option although those rooms have glass balconies which are not particularly private as they protrude from the side of the building.

Our favourite hotel in Madeira was the Classic Savoy – now defunct. We are still looking for the right alternative. The Golden Residence is very good value for money but sadly not “The One”.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PetuniaKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    484
    324
    90
    23
    12
See reviews for
203
530
39
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cascais, Portugal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Very nice hotel. Excelent breakfast. Nice pool. Lovely suites. Excelent with kids. Great location but you need a car.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PACCarcavelos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We have spent a wonderful week on this fantastic hotel and overall our experience has been positive and definitely would recommend to anyone. The location is not a problem at all although is not near the center of Funchal that makes it more quiet area overlooking the Cabo Girao (one of the biggest of Europe) and on a cliff with no roads or people walking by.

The rooms are good enough considering the price we have paid for them and the cleaning standard is excellent.

The staff is very friendly, always able to help and to engage in conversations if you give them the chance to do so. Also the breakfast with lot of variety is one of the highlights.

The spa area is not huge but big enough to enjoy a relaxing jacuzzi after coming exhausted from walking the levadas.

We are leaving the island with lot of beautiful memories and expecting to come back to this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aadjazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

My husband and 2 kids stayed at Golden Residence hotel for a week in November. We booked a room with cooking facilities and we found everything you can find in your own home.
The hotel is very modern. Comfortable and clean rooms and very well furnished. We had wonderful views from our terrace over the ocean. It was very relaxing just to take a sit and enjoy the sunset!

The gardens and pool are very well maintained. there is also sauna and jacuzzi to make the stay even more pleasant.

It is far from Funchal but very quiet and relaxing in the other hand.

Very friendly and helpful front desk staff.

Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
13 Thank M_NG72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Really impressed with this hotel. My husband and I stayed for a week in June, and it was just lovely. The Hotel offers s/c, b&b, half board and full board. We opted for a room with cooking facilites and ended up with a Suite type room - lounge, kitchen area, separate bedrrom and bathroom.

The roms were really modern and comfortable and very very clean. The only minor fault if you are self catering is that there are just 2 hobs and a microwave, which only allows you to make simple meals, but we only really needed to cook breakfast so managed fine. We did eat in the hotel restaurant a couple of times for dinner and the food was great.

The hotel is perched on a top road/cliff and the views are really impressive and the pool and gardens are beautiful, overlooking the sea. They even have their own vegetable garden for the kitchen to use.

The hotel is away from the centre of funchal and although we did walk it a couple of times, it takes a good 40 minutes plus, longer if you're strolling. The walk is lovely though and you do pass some bars, cafes and restaurants on the way.
Funchal is very pretty but for a capital city is really pretty quiet, not that that's a bad thing!

There a couple of good restaurants near the hotel Mexican, Fish and Italian. The italian is particularly good value for money.

All in all agreat holiday and would go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are great, but C block gives the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Roscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Booked off season, and got a fantastic suite.. Forthe price we paid, I was sure it was a mistake and nearly went back to reception to make sure! The balcony had fantastic views of the sea (and stunning sunsets), everything was top class, including the breakfast, dinners, facitlites etc. I would defenately book here again if we went back to Funchal (probably consider going back when it was warnmer).

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jontaluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

We researched at length to find somewhere that would be suitable for both myself (20s) and my mother (60s) sharing a room. We were both very happy with the choice. Everything was spotlessly clean throughout the hotel, and all reception staff were very helpful. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a quiet stay - it's definitely not a hotel for kids or rowdy youngsters as there's nothing to keep them entertained.

Location
Surprisingly convenient, although it is quite far from Funchal compared to those in the Lido area.. the benefit of this is that it's quieter and we had a view over banana plantations instead of into other people's rooms. The hotel sold us a 3 day (others were available) unlimited bus pass for EUR9.50, valid for town buses which are reasonably regular. On arrival we missed the Aerobus and so got the express bus into Funchal, then hopped into a taxi which cost 8 Euros. All tour buses picked up/dropped off outside the hotel.

Room
We had an early booking deal through their website - we booked a studio side-sea view for £40 per night room-only, and were upgraded to a 1 bed apartment, which was quite lovely. The only downside was the lack of kettle, and lack of ability to borrow one. Also there was no corkscrew (cheap supermarket wine is surprisingly nice!) Apart from that, lots of storage, fridge, microwave, electric hob, plenty of pans/dishes, and a glass balcony with a view of part-sea, part-plantations. A lot of hotels didn't offer air-conditioning, but we found in July it was warm enough to warrant it and so were pleased this was available without charge. Use of the electronic safe was a nominal 1.50Euros per day.

Spa/pool
Relaxing ambience. Pools pleasant, a few kids splashing around but not being noisy, and lots of space to comfortably swim lengths. Outdoor pool was a good temperature, indoor pool deeper and cooler and more geared up to proper swimming. The jacuzzi was really relaxing, but steam room/sauna were on a request-only basis when I visited and I couldn't be bothered to wait. Near-impossible to catch a sun lounger even when the hotel seemed quiet, but this didn't bother me.

Nearby
I can't say we were impressed with the tourist restaurants, but the Forum Shopping Centre was lovely, and there's a superb little diner/restaurant on the top floor which serves good value food. (The other good meal I had was at the cheap-looking restaurant right next to the tour kiosks at the marina. Incredible squid!) We also had a nice bowl of ice-cream at Madeira Magic tea-rooms on our walk back from the Lido area one evening.

It seemed quiet everywhere, both in Funchal and the hotel, so there was very little atmosphere and I would've been disappointed if I'd expected good nightlife at the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank melaniefnord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.2 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#16 of 85 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,839 reviews
0.4 mi away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#12 of 85 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
0.4 mi away
Baia Azul Hotel
Baia Azul Hotel
#18 of 85 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#8 of 85 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
1.0 mi away
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
#27 of 85 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 85 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Residence

Property: Golden Residence
Address: Rua Cabrestante 25, Funchal, Madeira 9000-105, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#24 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#25 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#29 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Residence welcomes you to a enchanting 4-star hotel in an excellent location on the south coast of Madeira. Overlooking the sea and some imposing cliffs, the opportunities for fantastic sunsets are offered every day during your holidays. Once inside, the hotel is built with many open spaces to make the most of the natural light and a modern and luxurious design with comfortable and functional public areas to rest, relax, read or socialize with your fellow guests. The atmosphere is complete with the panoramic sea views and some of the banana plantations still existing in Funchal. More than a hotel, at the Golden Residence you will find the perfect solution for a holiday where well-being and relaxation will take on a new meaning for you. The excellent service and careful attention for small detail is what makes the difference. ... and we encourage you to discover its many charms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Golden Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Residence Apartment Funchal
Hotel Golden Residence Apartment
Golden Residence Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing