We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Golden Residence
Nearby Hotels
US$291
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$400
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$367
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$246
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$285
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$247
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hotel The Cliff Bay(Funchal)
US$275
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$245
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$350
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$280
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$210
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,075)
Filter reviews
1,075 results
Traveller rating
557
372
106
25
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
557
372
106
25
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblock cthree blocksshopping centrewet roomside sea viewmadeira forumcabo giraobanana plantationbus stopindoor poolmodern hotelupgraded to a suitepraia formosasteam room and saunabottle of champagnequiet arealiving area
Filter
Updating list...
456 - 461 of 1,075 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2013

We stayed for 2 weeks in January in a room in Block C overlooking the pool with great side views of the sea and the hills.The room was clean with plenty of storage space and a kitchen area with a microwave and 2 cooker rings. A good shopping mall within 5 minutes of the hotel with plenty of restaurants in the area. This modern hotel was clean with good indoor facilities. Great pool sauna and spa. The breakfasts were very good and varied and all staff extremely friendly, polite and helpful.We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would go again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2013

It was a real pleasure to have you as our guest's at the Golden Residence Hotel. Thank you very much for the excellent review about our hotel, facilities and about our team of professionals.

We are very happy to know that we could bring you comfort while with us. The reason we continue improving our services and facilities is to keep being the first choice in our city, and we’ll keep all of our efforts to surpass our guest’s needs to remain your Hotel of choice in Madeira!

Looking forward to welcome you back, we remain with our kindest regards,
Arcília Martin
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

New, modern hotel set across three blocks leading from the main road down to the sea. We were in a room in the block nearest the sea which housed both pools (indoor and outdoor), the spa, hairdresser and the bar and restaurant. Our room was a great size, with "balcony" - we were ground floor - wet room, TV, safe, tea/coffee facilities and mini bar. Fridge and tea coffee were both empty so we filled them ourselves from the local supermarket. Only problem we encountered was ants, loads of them, but we kept them at bay by not leaving stuff out. We also had a slight issue with getting the safe to work (at a cost of €1.50 per day) but this was resolved quickly by the staff on reception. I used the gym and the indoor pool whilst we were there - both were free, as were the sauna and steam room (only available after 5, but this suited as we were out most the day). There was ample parking on the street nearby which saved us the €5 per day the hotel charged for underground parking. All in all a great time, although wifi throughout the hotel would be good, as it is it's only available in the public areas at the moment. We never used the restaurant, breakfast was available for €11 each but as we are not big eaters we would eat at numerous nearby cafes and pay approx $5 for two toasted cheese & ham sandwiches and two coffees. Location wise, it's a way out of the center of town - we had a car which was handy, but it appeared that the island's bus service was very very good and numerous taxis were on hand should you have wanted them.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nuzzonick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2013

We are sincerely glad to receive your review regarding your recent stay in our Hotel! We were so sorry to hear about the ants you had in your room, we wich you had let us known, we would have gladly solved this inconvenient situation for you promptly.

Please be sure that our main gold is to let our Guests know how special they are to us, and I’m happy that we had the opportunity to leave positive and memorable experiences throughout your stay.

We look forward to welcome you back at the Golden Residence Hotel and remain
with best regards,
Arcília Martin
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

We stayed for a week over New Year for our first time in Madeira. We were amazed at the size of the hotel as it stretches over several blocks. We stayed in Block A which was lovely and quiet, and we had a side view of the sea. Personally, I would avoid Block C as many of the rooms overlook the pool bar area which I think may be noisy when it's busy. The hotel room was a really good size with lots of space and a kitchenette. Only thing we missed having in the room was a kettle. The hotel rooms lack personality, with no pictures on the walls, but other than that, we had no complaints. The staff were very helpful, particularly on reception. Only negative for us was the poor standard of food in the restaurant. Lovely restaurants close by though, so not really a problem. If you are doing any tours, don't use the Madeira Blue Sun company. They were very unprofessional and always late for pick up.

Room Tip: Block A is nice and quiet
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrimelinSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2013

Thank you for sharing your review with Trip Advisor readers. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay at the Golden Residence Hotel.

Regarding your opinion about our Restaurant, it is very important for us that you know that our Guest’s opinions are most valued and based on them we can keep our efforts to improve.

We're glad that you enjoyed your holiday and will look forward to seeing you again in a near future.

Kind regards from the sunny Madeira Island,
Arcília Martin
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

we stayed over New year (great Fireworks!!) our room was a good size nice kingsize bed plenty of storage space,with safe (extra charge) kettle, hairdryer etc not sure about the wet room but thats just a personel thing but all clean and tidy as were all public areas and nice indoor/outdoor pools. All staff friendly and nothing was to much trouble. Breakfast was nice with plenty of choice . Hotel enjoys good location on cliff with nice views across sea and beach, its a bit of a wallk to Funchal (took us about an hour) but its very pleasent along the prom there is also a very good public tranport to town with stops right outside hotel.
we had a great stay and would not hesitate to use again

Edd

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2013

We are sincerely glad to receive your review regarding your recent stay in our Hotel!
Our main gold is to let our Guests know how special they are to us, and I´m happy that we had the opportunity to leave you this positive and memorable experience. We look forward to welcoming you back at Golden Residence Hotel soon!

Kind regards,
Arcília Martin
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

I chose this hotel after many hours of researching. The main purpose of the trip was to see the New Year fireworks and although it is slightly too far out to view the fireworks, the hotel do a trip to the centre costing 10 euros per person return. There were a few hotels on my list and the main reason I chose this hotel is because Rosana took the time to reply back to my emails whereas other hotels such as Alto Lido never came back to me. It wasn't a problem that the hotel was in different blocks as they were connected by an underground walkway if it was too cold to cross the road with our 8 month old baby. The other reasons for choosing the hotel were because it had an indoor pool, it was minutes away by foot to a large shopping mall, the floors in the room were wooden so easy to disinfect to allow baby to crawl, the airport bus and other buses stop right outside the hotel, Internet was free ( though very poor quality), it had a good breakfast buffet, they provided a baby bath as well as crib for the baby and on hotels.com ( where I normally book all my hotels), it was the best value for money. If I had to point out the negatives, they would be that the toiletries provided are extremely minimal, the hotel is just a little too far out from the centre to walk with a pushchair, the Internet connection though free, was very poor, although the rooms were well decorated in a contemporary style, the wetroom style bathroom really let it down as the black floor gave the impression that the bathroom was not as clean as it could be. A lighter coloured floor would have made all the difference. Also at breakfast, there was orange squash rather than fresh juice. Aside from these minor criticisms, I would recommend this hotel to others, especially to families. I would also agree with the other reviewers that the staff on the whole are all very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Decide whether you would prefer an apartment or hotel room. Our apartment was in block A so not in the same block as restaurant and pools.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sordnaxela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2013

Thank you very much for your comments regarding your stay in our Hotel!
We are very happy to know that we could bring you comfort while with us. The reason we continue improving our services and facilities is to keep being the first choice in our city, and we´ll keep all of our efforts to surpass our guests needs to remain your Hotel of choice in Madeira!

Best regards,
Arcília Martin
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews