We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best”
Review of Golden Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Golden Residence
Ranked #24 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Mykolayiv, Ukraine
Level 5 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Looking for the best hotel in Madeira ? Your search is over - it's the Golden Residence. Everything (!!!) was perfect during our 9 days stay: beautiful view, excellent location and service, very good breakfast (we had B&B), exceptionally attentive staff, amazingly clean rooms, ..... Some 5 mins to get to the beach....What else do you need to make your holidays fabulous ? My girl and I will return to this hotel again at the earliest opportunity. For sure.

Room Tip: Block C is closest to ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Guests,

Is is with great pleasure that we thank you for sharing your review with our TripAdivor readers. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay at the Golden Residence Hotel.

Please be sure that our main gold is to let our Guests know how special they are to us, and I’m happy that we had the opportunity to leave such positive and memorable experiences throughout your stay.

Looking forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you both back at our Hotel and to the sunny Madeira Island, we remain with best regards,

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    505
    338
    95
    24
    12
See reviews for
217
548
39
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Just had a fantastic 4 day break at Golden Residence .
Excellent accommodation. customer service was second to none. Staff all very helpful. cannot fault the hotel at all.. and thats probably the first time i have ever said that about any hotel.
Wifi free, breakfast buffet very good, wheelchair friendly which made our stay at ease, such a relief . Good location. will be back soon.
Sanjeev Passi

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanjeev P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Guests,

Primarily we would like you to know that we where very pleased to receive your review regarding your recent stay at our Hotel!

Please be sure that our main gold is to let our guests know how special they are to us, and I’m happy that we had the opportunity to leave such positive experiences throughout your stay.

Looking forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at our Hotel, we remain with best regards,

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bideford
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We stayed at the Golden Residence for a week from 2nd November.Bed and Breakfeast. Rooms were first class, the personal service was excellent, nothing was too much trouble. The Buffet breakfeast was very good. The hotel seemed full at breakfeast but the numbers dropped off in the evening. Excellent restaurants within five minutes walk. Hotel is a good walk from the centre of Funchel but you can always catch the 02 bus back. One tip do not be afraid to hire a car the road system is excellent , much better than any of the Canary Islands and it will enable you to discover this wonderful green and colourlful island independently. The hotel has excellent garage facilities. One furthe tip try and get the ferry to Porto Santo a cross between the Isles of Scilly and Barbados.

Room Tip: Make sure you are in the C Building thats the one by the outdoor pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments about our hotel, facilities and about our team of professionals with our TripAdivor readers.

It was an honour for us to have been chosen as your preferred hotel to spend your holidays.

We are very happy to know that we could bring you comfort and memorable moments while with us. Please be sure that we’ll keep all of our efforts to surpass our guest’s needs to remain your Hotel of choice in Madeira!

Looking forward to welcome you back to the Golden Residence Hotel, we remain,

with best regards,
Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teignmouth, Devon
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We are currently into our 3rd night here at the golden residence, sadly we check out on Monday. We have really enjoyed our stay here everything has been first class. I must mention the restaurant manger I think he is called Lois, his customer service is excellent, nothing is too much trouble. We will definitely return. We asked for a room in block c which we got, overlooking the pool. Breakfast is good. We decided to eat in the restaurant ( we were on b&b basis) the a la carte menu is excellent value, bottle of house red is only 10 euros.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DevonDumpling049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for sharing your review with Trip Advisor readers. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay at the Golden Residence Hotel.

Please be sure that our main gold is to let our Guests know how special they are to us, and I’m happy that we had the opportunity to leave such positive and memorable experiences throughout your stay.

Looking forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at our Hotel and to the sunny Madeira Island, we remain with best regards,

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

My parents live in Madeira and i had to ask for them to check out the hotel as i thought it was too good to be true and there had to be a catch. The hotel really is exceptional for the price. The position was ideal for me as it was also next to my favourite beach Doca do Cavacas. The apartment is spacious and well equipped. I have recommended this hotel to all and sundry. Ideal for anyone who needs wheelchair facilities too.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your kind review of your experience at the Golden Residence Hotel.
On behalf of all our team of professionals, I thank you for your kind words.

Hopefully we will welcome you back in a near future!
In the meantime we remain with best regards from the sunny Madeira Island,

Yours sincerely,
Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Though some reviewers have rightly stated that the hotel is not in the centre of Funchal, it should also stressed that the frequent and inexpensive bus service to town stops right outside - as does the airport bus. It is in no way remote - all very convenient ! In this respect the hotel offers excellent value for money in a quiet, privileged position, with coastline views. For those who select half board there will be little necessity to go into town at night when the buffet dinner is of such a high standard. This makes for a very relaxed break especially when the rest of the hotel facilities are of an equally high standard . This hotel, indeed this island, does not attract the normal rabble associated with the Costa s . So forget "fish and chips" and think more in terms of salmon and saffron, haddock in coconut etc ie a varied and interesting menu without repetition catering for many tastes.
The staff are very attentive and - as a general point I would say of all the island's inhabitants - want their guests to enjoy themselves. Considering this a "year round" resort I was surprised that no one I met was battle weary of tourists and always keen to engage with their guests. Maybe there s some advice : do not be remote and critical - engage and all will do their best to ensure your experience of this hotel and Madeira in general is one thats worth writing home about. (And for that that they have free wi fi )
Top Tip: Get up into the mountains by bus, especially if there if there is a fiesta going on.

Room Tip: I understand most rooms have a view but not all of the sea.If travelling alone ask for a balcony : o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 344chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Guest,

First and foremost we would like to inform you how much we have appreciated your review regarding your recent stay in our Hotel and are happy that we had the opportunity to leave you this positive and memorable experience.

We sincerely hope that you will consider the Golden Residence Hotel for your next holiday, and remain wishing you all the best.

Best regards,
Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed in Golden for one week. The hotel has a great interior design, very stylish, well organized and good selection of facilities. We only had breakfast,,which was very good, at the hotel. My only complain is about the bed; it is quite hard and uncomfortable for sleeping during one week. The mattress was too hard and the pillows too soft. I had to take the mattress from the cough in the living room to make myself comfortable. I woke up couple of times at night and definitely didn't enjoy sleeping there. I think it's a pity because everything in the bedroom was quite nice; the living room, the kitchen, the bathroom, the balcony...

something to highlight is the attention. During my stay was my boyfriend's birthday and the hotel gave him a nice card with a bottle of champagne.

Golden is a bit far from the centre, so you will have to take a bus. I rented a card which was very convenient, not only for getting to the hotel but for going around. It definitely make your trip much more enjoyable.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Liamoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Subsequent to your review, we would like to thank you for sharing with our Tripadvisor readers. It was a great pleasure to have had the opportunity to provide you and your boyfriend a memorable stay at the Golden Residence Hotel.

In regards to your opinion concerning the matress in your room, we would like to inform you that all our matresses were bought thinking on our guests comfort and needs, nevertheless, we very much regret to have disappointed you. It is very important for us that you know that our Guest’s opinions are most valued and based on them we can keep our efforts to improve.

We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your boyfriend back to the Golden Residence Hotel and remain taking this opportunity to covey our best wishes to you.

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.2 mi away
Pestana Grand
Pestana Grand
#15 of 86 in Funchal
1,903 reviews
0.4 mi away
Baia Azul Hotel
Baia Azul Hotel
#20 of 86 in Funchal
236 reviews
1.0 mi away
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
#28 of 86 in Funchal
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#6 of 86 in Funchal
1,376 reviews
0.4 mi away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#12 of 86 in Funchal
1,140 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Madeira
Hotel Madeira
#26 of 86 in Funchal
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Residence

Property: Golden Residence
Address: Rua Cabrestante 25, Funchal, Madeira 9000-105, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#24 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#24 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#29 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Residence welcomes you to a enchanting 4-star hotel in an excellent location on the south coast of Madeira. Overlooking the sea and some imposing cliffs, the opportunities for fantastic sunsets are offered every day during your holidays. Once inside, the hotel is built with many open spaces to make the most of the natural light and a modern and luxurious design with comfortable and functional public areas to rest, relax, read or socialize with your fellow guests. The atmosphere is complete with the panoramic sea views and some of the banana plantations still existing in Funchal. More than a hotel, at the Golden Residence you will find the perfect solution for a holiday where well-being and relaxation will take on a new meaning for you. The excellent service and careful attention for small detail is what makes the difference. ... and we encourage you to discover its many charms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Golden Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Residence Apartment Funchal
Hotel Golden Residence Apartment
Golden Residence Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing