We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Choice for a stay in Madeira”
Review of Golden Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Golden Residence
Ranked #24 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Pros: All the things that matter-Excellent apartment, spotlessly clean. Roomy with loads of storage space. Bathroom first class with instant hot water. Comfortable bed. Staff were all very helpful and friendly. Location is good near a long promenade and on a regular bus route to Funchal with a stop right outside the door.
Cons: A few small niggles- Lottery as to which side of the hotel you are on. Both sides have sea views, but one faces more or less South East over a banana plantation, so sun all day and peaceful. The other (we were on) facing more or less North West over a street (cul de sac), so just a glimpse of the sun as it sets in late afternoon (Feb) and the delight of recycling collections at 3 am and early bottle deliveries to the hotel. Choice of English TV channels not great (just Sky news really), although there seem to be dozens of German ones. Had to ask for a kettle which is odd not to have one as standard. You will also need to take your own corkscrew and an egg cup (Now that is getting picky if I'm down to complaining about the lack of an egg cup !!)
Food: not tempted by the hotel offerings but there are restaurants nearby and two supermarkets in easy walking distance if you want to do some self catering.
Overall I would certainly stay there again, but perhaps request a room on the sunny side (even numbers) and not forget to pack my egg cup. (I bought a very pretty hand painted one in Funchal, the only one I could find, and it cost me a fiver !! Portuguese obviously not big into boiled eggs.

Room Tip: I would request a room on SE side (even numbers) if you like a sunny balcony. The other side only se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank derek p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thank you for sharing your review. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay at the Golden Residence Hotel.

It is very important for us that you know that our Guest’s opinions are most valued and based on them we can keep our efforts to improve.

Looking forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at our Hotel, we remain with best regards,

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,023)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

351 - 357 of 1,023 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed here in December over the Christmas period, although we were visiting family in the area we also made the most of the hotels facilities. Very lovely spacious apartment with facilities provided for our baby. Lovely well mannered and helpful staff 24\7. We look forward to staying here again in the future ~ def recommend!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrspinto88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

On my behalf and on behalf of our team of professionals, I thank you for sharing your review with Trip Advisor readers.

Please be sure that our main goal is to let our Guests know how special they are to us, and I’m happy that we had the opportunity to leave positive and memorable experiences throughout your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Golden Residence Hotel, we remain
with best regards,

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We recently stayed at the Golden Residence and found it excellent. The staff were helpful and polite. Every area was spotlessly clean and well maintained. The rooms were well proportioned, equiped with every convienience, clean and comfortable and quiet. A lovely area at the front of the hotel for sunbathing/swimming. Great views from the sun terrace. It is ideally located for bars and restaurants with a huge 4 storey shopping mall about 150 yards away. The staff were genuinely pleased to help and nothing seemed too much trouble. We had an apartment room and the kitchen area was really handy and a good sized balcony with side sea view. The gym was great. This is a really nice hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marmaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Guest,

We are sincerely glad to receive your review regarding your stay in the Golden Residence Hotel and are very happy that we had the opportunity to leave you such positive and memorable experience.

Sincerely hoping that you will consider the Golden Residence Hotel for your next holiday, we remain wishing you best regards,

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

We were impressed at the low prices offered for our stay last weekend. However we were disappointed with the service and quality of what was advertised. It was the small things like only having 2 pillows on a double bed, advertising wireless when you needed a wire to connect to the internet in your room (that's not wireless!). The quality of breakfast was poor awful coffee and tea and there wasn't even space for us to sit down. I will not be returning and feel there are better options around.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Midge651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like thank you for your comment, which has deserved our best attention.

We were very sorry to hear that you were disappointed for just having 2 pillows in your room, we which you had let us known; we would have gladly solved this situation for you promptly.

Concerning the Internet we are pleased to inform you that we have wireless internet in all public areas and in all room we have internet by cable.

Please be sure that our main goal is to let our guests know how special they are to us, and we really are sorry if we have caused you any inconvenient.

Certain of your understanding we remain looking forward to welcome you back in a near future.

Your’s sincerely,
Arcília Martin
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

A lovely, modern hotel with very well furnished rooms. Serves an excellent breakfast. Staff are very helpful indeed - nothing is too much trouble. It is quietly situated but with a good number of restaurants and shops within easy walking distance. The indoor pool is the warmest I've ever used - just as I like it, 31 degrees. By comparison, the outdoor pool was under 20. Lovely view from the sundeck which looks westward and gets some great sunsets.

You can walk along the 'Promenade' overlooking the sea to Funchal centre - and it is mostly a very pleasant walk, although there are a couple of very hilly bits. In reality, however it is a bus or taxi ride into the the centre. An occasional courtesy minibus into town would be appreciated.

A very nice hotel to which I will return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travellingsince1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Guests,

First and foremost we would like to inform you how much we have appreciated your review regarding your stay in our Hotel and are very pleased that we had the opportunity to leave you such positive and memorable experiences.

We sincerely hope that you will consider the Golden Residence Hotel for your next holiday, and remain wishing you all the best.

Your's sincerely,
Arcília Martin
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

An out of town location which suits me perfectly. The hotel is modern with all the facilities you'd expect from a four star hotel. The rooms are bright & airy with everything you need to make your stay comfortable. Most rooms have sea views with balconies. I generally stay on a bed & breakfast basis which allows me to explore the many restaurants within a 20 min walk of the hotel. The breakfast is a buffet selection with more than enough choice for a week long stay. The outdoor swimming pool is on the small side & I use the lido a short walk from the hotel. The staff are courteous & helpful & the rooms immaculately clean. I will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M2BTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Guest,

It was a real pleasure to have you as our guest's at the Golden Residence Hotel. Thank you very much for the excellent review about our hotel, facilities and about our team of professionals.

We are very happy to know that we could bring you comfort while with us.

Looking forward to welcome you back, we remain with our kindest regards,

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

A week in sunny January with Bed & Breakfast at this smart modern hotel was a pleasant experience from the welcome at reception to the efficient check out. We had some minor quibbles (bar area lacking in athmoshere, kettle in the room (good) but no supplies, small bath towels, fruit juice at breakfast moderate - but for the price these are not major issues. Location is good with one high frequency bus route to Funchal stopping outside and several more an easy walk away. Close to the traffic free promenade to the Lido area. Easy walk to to the pretty Camaras de Lobos fishing village (ask for directions to reach the Praia Formosa beach). Other plus points were friendly helpful staff, spotlessly clean spacious room and public areas, room balcony with table/chairs, excellent buffet breakfast with changing items each day, 2 pools and a good aspect cliff edge terrace in well kept grounds.

Room Tip: Block C has a bar and the restaurant. Rooms are east or west facing with side view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Primarily we would like you to know that we where very pleased to receive your review regarding your stay in the Golden Residence Hotel.

We were so sorry to hear that you were not fully satisfied with your stay, however please be sure that our main goal is to let our guests know how special they are to us, and I’m happy that we had the opportunity to leave some positive experiences throughout your stay.

Looking forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at our Hotel, we remain with best regards,

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.4 mi away
Baia Azul Hotel
Baia Azul Hotel
#19 of 88 in Funchal
288 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
1.0 mi away
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
#23 of 88 in Funchal
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
2.1 mi away
Hotel Madeira
Hotel Madeira
#30 of 88 in Funchal
516 reviews
1.8 mi away
Pestana Casino Park
Pestana Casino Park
#35 of 88 in Funchal
2,951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Residence

Address: Rua Cabrestante 25, Funchal, Madeira 9000-105, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#24 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#24 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#29 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £65 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Residence welcomes you to a enchanting 4-star hotel in an excellent location on the south coast of Madeira. Overlooking the sea and some imposing cliffs, the opportunities for fantastic sunsets are offered every day during your holidays. Once inside, the hotel is built with many open spaces to make the most of the natural light and a modern and luxurious design with comfortable and functional public areas to rest, relax, read or socialize with your fellow guests. The atmosphere is complete with the panoramic sea views and some of the banana plantations still existing in Funchal. More than a hotel, at the Golden Residence you will find the perfect solution for a holiday where well-being and relaxation will take on a new meaning for you. The excellent service and careful attention for small detail is what makes the difference. ... and we encourage you to discover its many charms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Golden Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Residence Apartment Funchal
Hotel Golden Residence Apartment
Golden Residence Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing