We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended!!!”
Review of Golden Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Golden Residence
Ranked #25 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Highly recommended!!!”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We returned last week from the best holiday we have had in ages! This was primarily due to the the fact that the Golden Residence exceeded our expectations in every way. It is a beautiful hotel and the staff could not do enough for us. It's very nice to see the Manager of a hotel walking around keeping an eye on things. The standards here are very high, everything is immaculate from the beautiful rooms (with ensuite wet rooms) to the very nice contemporary public areas. We will definitely be returning soon and will probably take the half board option as the meals we ate there were delicious and well presented. Many thanks to all the staff at Golden Residence.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nannykim47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Guests,

On my behalf and on behalf of our team of professionals, I thank you for sharing your review with Trip Advisor readers.

We are very pleased to know that we could bring you comfort and memorable moments while with us. Please be sure that we’ll keep all of our efforts to surpass our guest’s needs to remain your Hotel of choice in Madeira!

Looking forward to welcome you back to the Golden Residence Hotel in a not to distant future, we remain,

with our kindest regards,

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    492
    326
    92
    24
    12
See reviews for
208
536
39
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a week in the Golden Residence. We had no complaints. Hotel was spotless. Room cleaned and bed made, clean towels daily. All public places were also pristine. Slightly out of the way but just a stones throw from a lovely shopping centre. Bus stop outside. We walked into Funchal the first full day, it was lovely but the walk back was hard having spent a few hours walking around Funchal. The next day we got taxis there and back. Reasonably priced and cheaper during the day.
We had B&B and upgraded to a kitchenette room for 5 euros a day. Breakfast were splendid with a vast choice on offer of anything you wanted. We didn't do any of the evening offers as we didn't see anything that we liked. Although we went into the bar later on for a few beers and Ponchas! The indoor spa area is great too. Sadly the only thing that dampened our stay was the hurricane weather that they had for over 3 of the days we were there! The hotel did seen to get it worse the position it was as of we walked further towards funchal the wind didn't seem so strong. Apart from that a fab place to stay and we will defo be returning one day :)

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Guest,

First and foremost we would like to let you know how much we have appreciated your review regarding your stay in our Hotel.

Despite of the weather conditions you encountered, it is a great pleasure for us to know that you have experienced very good moments at Golden Residence Hotel and in Madeira.

Hopefully we will welcome you back in a near future!

In the meantime we remain with best regards,

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Excellent conditions, and location. Great weather and stunning sea views! However, despite the very friendly and experient staff it was notorious the need of more motivation ?!?!. I believe the restaurante chiefs should serve as example for the team.. not happening!

All the best and hope to see you soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duarte G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you very much for your kind comments regarding your experience of our services and facilities.

Our guest’s opinions are always most valued and based on them we can keep our efforts to improve.

On behalf of the Golden Residence Hotel team, I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in a near future.

In the meantime we remain with best regards from the sunny Madeira Island,

With kindest regards,

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Booked this on a deal - a week B&B. We were upgraded on arrival to one of the apartments in block A with the kitchenette which worked out really well for us. There are several supermarkets less than 10 mins away to buy food. The room was very well appointed, very comfortable bed, lovely shower / wet room & the extra space to sit or eat was lovely. Balcony with a view down the side of the hotel to the swimming pool & the sea. Ate in the hotel once, buffet-style, Madeiran specialities & a reasonable price. Breakfast was good, perhaps more cereal options for the Brits - the majority of guests were German-speakers so there was a lot of cheese / meat & tropical fruit options. Eating on the terrace at breakfast was also an option but smokers were here so we didn't bother. Didn't have time for the spa & swimming pool sadly. Good location at the end of the marine promenade but hilly so you would need to be reasonably active to walk around there but there was also a bus stop right outside the door. Local restaurants also 5-10 mins away. Hotel organises activities & trips but we booked our own. Great location for us & would go again if the price was right. Staff on reception & in the restaurant very helpful & responsive, sorting out bus travel cards. Like James, I would have preferred better internet access, including in the rooms for hand-held devices but this was a small quibble & probably made me switch off more!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your comments regarding your stay at the Golden Residence Hotel.

We are very happy to know that we could bring you comfort while with us.

Kindly note that we are continuously improving our services and facilities to keep being the first choice in our city, and we’ll keep all of our efforts to surpass our guest’s needs to remain your Hotel of choice in Madeira!

Looking forward to welcome you back, we remain with our kindest regards,

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Great hotel, but they really need to sort out the internet access. You have to enter your pass code every time you use it, and after about 5/10 mins you get cut off and have to re-enter it again. Other than that small niggle, a fantastic hotel we would go to again any time.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
Thank JamesCradd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for sharing your opinion with Trip Advisor readers. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay at the Golden Residence Hotel.

Regarding your opinion about the Internet access, it is very important for us that you know that our guest’s opinions are most valued and based on them we can keep our efforts to improve.

We sincerely look forward to seeing you again in a near future.

Kind regards,
Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Just returned from a 4 night trip to this hotel. Only stayed 4 nights but loved every minute of it. We stayed in Block A and had our own living room and kitchenette which was nice to have. We paid for the evening meals and had the pay for 3 but get 4 deal which was well worth the money. We will def be back another year.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kazza53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Guests,

Primarily we would like to thank you for having chosen Golden Residence Hotel for your stay, we very much appreciate your comments and are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay.

Sincerely hoping that you consider our Hotel for your next holidays, we remain wishing you,

Best regards,
Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed for 10 days on half board and enjoyed our stay very much. The staff were all very professional and pleasant. Half board was a self service buffet and we felt that our meals were a highlight of the stay. The food was excellent; good quality with plenty of choice. The chefs obviously took pride in their work.
Our room was in C block which was good as it was nearest the gardens and had a sea view from the balcony. The room was fine if a little bland with no pictures. The indoor pool also lacked atmosphere but the outdoor pool was fine.
We would happily go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peterkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Guests,

On my behalf and on behalf of our team of professionals, I thank you for sharing your review with Trip Advisor readers.

We are very happy to know that we had the opportunity to leave you such positive experience during your stay at Golden Residence Hotel.

Sincerely hoping that you will consider the Golden Residence Hotel for your next holiday, we remain wishing you best regards,

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.0 mi away
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
#28 of 86 in Funchal
535 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel
0.2 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#15 of 86 in Funchal
1,861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#12 of 86 in Funchal
1,115 reviews
0.4 mi away
Baia Azul Hotel
Baia Azul Hotel
#17 of 86 in Funchal
195 reviews
0.8 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#7 of 86 in Funchal
1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Residence

Property: Golden Residence
Address: Rua Cabrestante 25, Funchal, Madeira 9000-105, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#24 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#25 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#29 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Residence welcomes you to a enchanting 4-star hotel in an excellent location on the south coast of Madeira. Overlooking the sea and some imposing cliffs, the opportunities for fantastic sunsets are offered every day during your holidays. Once inside, the hotel is built with many open spaces to make the most of the natural light and a modern and luxurious design with comfortable and functional public areas to rest, relax, read or socialize with your fellow guests. The atmosphere is complete with the panoramic sea views and some of the banana plantations still existing in Funchal. More than a hotel, at the Golden Residence you will find the perfect solution for a holiday where well-being and relaxation will take on a new meaning for you. The excellent service and careful attention for small detail is what makes the difference. ... and we encourage you to discover its many charms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Residence Apartment Funchal
Hotel Golden Residence Apartment
Golden Residence Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing