We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect choice.”
Review of Golden Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Golden Residence
Ranked #25 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A perfect choice.”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We had not been to Madeira before and choosing the right hotel was an important but difficult decision as I was travelling with my grown up daughter, son and my friend and we needed somewhere to suit all ages and which we could all afford. The Golden Residence turned out to be the perfect choice - modern, clean and spacious in a quiet part of the town. The bus stopped outside the hotel and so we could hop on a bus and be in the centre of Funchal when ever we wanted or there was a very delightful promenade walk ( a little steep in places).
Hotel staff were young and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Hotel facilities were amazing from a very large a modern foyer to a mediation room and small library. There were two swimming pools both very clean and quiet. The grounds were immaculate with ample seating in full sun or shade.
The restaurant served excellent food with a wide choice at breakfast from individually cooked omelettes, hot buffet, fruit, meats and even cake!
.

Room Tip: The hotel has three blocks A,B and C . Block C is popular as it has the restaurant , bar and pools...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaroleandMargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Guest,

First and foremost we would like to let you know how much we have appreciated your review regarding your stay at the Golden Residence Hotel.

Our main goal is to let our Guests know how special they are to us, and I’m happy that we had the opportunity to leave you this positive and memorable experience.

Hopefully we will welcome you back in a near future!
In the meantime we remain with best regards,

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    492
    326
    92
    24
    12
See reviews for
208
536
39
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

12 months on nothing has changed. Same friendly staff ,same room,clean,great food and so on. Indoor heated pool a big plus for the kids. Fantastic apartments with cooking facilities,spacious ,quiet and cleaned regularly . May go back again some day for a third time ...

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank farmboy227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Family,

On my behalf and on behalf of our team of professionals, I thank you for sharing your review with Trip Advisor readers.

We are very pleased to know that we could bring you comfort and memorable moments while with us. Please be sure that we’ll keep all of our efforts to surpass our guest’s needs to remain your Hotel of choice in Madeira!

Looking forward to welcome you back to the Golden Residence Hotel in a not to distant future, we remain,

with our kindest regards,
Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

The hotel suited us perfectly as it was some distance from the town, in a quiet area.
We took a taxi & bus to and from town, which was very cheap.
The hotel feels newly built, solid and clean and had a very pleasant view.

Room Tip: Traveling with two children it was very convenient to have a room near by the outside pool and in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Björn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Guest,


We are sincerely glad to receive your review regarding your stay in our Hotel and are very happy that we had the opportunity to leave you such positive experiences.

Sincerely hoping that you will consider the Golden Residence Hotel for your next holiday, we remain wishing you best regards,

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

It is a great comfortable hotel in very good location. From the hotel terrace you can enjoy awesome sunsets. Good restaurants in the neighbourhood (take care, the round one under the hotel might cheat!). There is a shopping mall where you can buy food and drinks.
However, the staff is not always on the top (we had the feeling that some of them were on internship there). We arrived at night, and we were given not the rooms that we paid for (the "best price" (less quality) rooms were given to those who have paid more.... in turn the persons who paid for the cheaper rooms got the better ones). But next day the hotel manager arranged everything.
The breakfast varies every 2 days, we loved the fuit salads breads and cookies. We did not like the icecream, it was factory made artificial.
To sum it up: we had a wonderful stay at the hotel, would suggest to everyone.

Room Tip: Rooms in building "C" are more convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ginagrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Guest,


We would like thank you for your comment, which has deserved our best attention.

We were very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the first day of your stay; and for that please accept our sincere apologies. We have gladly solved the situation for you promptly.

Please be sure that our main goal is to let our guests know how special they are to us, and we really are sorry if we have caused you any inconvenient.

Certain of your understanding we remain looking forward to welcome you back in a near future.

Your’s sincerely,
Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We returned last week from the best holiday we have had in ages! This was primarily due to the the fact that the Golden Residence exceeded our expectations in every way. It is a beautiful hotel and the staff could not do enough for us. It's very nice to see the Manager of a hotel walking around keeping an eye on things. The standards here are very high, everything is immaculate from the beautiful rooms (with ensuite wet rooms) to the very nice contemporary public areas. We will definitely be returning soon and will probably take the half board option as the meals we ate there were delicious and well presented. Many thanks to all the staff at Golden Residence.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nannykim47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Guests,

On my behalf and on behalf of our team of professionals, I thank you for sharing your review with Trip Advisor readers.

We are very pleased to know that we could bring you comfort and memorable moments while with us. Please be sure that we’ll keep all of our efforts to surpass our guest’s needs to remain your Hotel of choice in Madeira!

Looking forward to welcome you back to the Golden Residence Hotel in a not to distant future, we remain,

with our kindest regards,

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a week in the Golden Residence. We had no complaints. Hotel was spotless. Room cleaned and bed made, clean towels daily. All public places were also pristine. Slightly out of the way but just a stones throw from a lovely shopping centre. Bus stop outside. We walked into Funchal the first full day, it was lovely but the walk back was hard having spent a few hours walking around Funchal. The next day we got taxis there and back. Reasonably priced and cheaper during the day.
We had B&B and upgraded to a kitchenette room for 5 euros a day. Breakfast were splendid with a vast choice on offer of anything you wanted. We didn't do any of the evening offers as we didn't see anything that we liked. Although we went into the bar later on for a few beers and Ponchas! The indoor spa area is great too. Sadly the only thing that dampened our stay was the hurricane weather that they had for over 3 of the days we were there! The hotel did seen to get it worse the position it was as of we walked further towards funchal the wind didn't seem so strong. Apart from that a fab place to stay and we will defo be returning one day :)

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Guest,

First and foremost we would like to let you know how much we have appreciated your review regarding your stay in our Hotel.

Despite of the weather conditions you encountered, it is a great pleasure for us to know that you have experienced very good moments at Golden Residence Hotel and in Madeira.

Hopefully we will welcome you back in a near future!

In the meantime we remain with best regards,

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Excellent conditions, and location. Great weather and stunning sea views! However, despite the very friendly and experient staff it was notorious the need of more motivation ?!?!. I believe the restaurante chiefs should serve as example for the team.. not happening!

All the best and hope to see you soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duarte G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you very much for your kind comments regarding your experience of our services and facilities.

Our guest’s opinions are always most valued and based on them we can keep our efforts to improve.

On behalf of the Golden Residence Hotel team, I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in a near future.

In the meantime we remain with best regards from the sunny Madeira Island,

With kindest regards,

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.0 mi away
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
#28 of 86 in Funchal
535 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel
0.2 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#15 of 86 in Funchal
1,861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#12 of 86 in Funchal
1,115 reviews
0.4 mi away
Baia Azul Hotel
Baia Azul Hotel
#17 of 86 in Funchal
195 reviews
0.8 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#7 of 86 in Funchal
1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Residence

Property: Golden Residence
Address: Rua Cabrestante 25, Funchal, Madeira 9000-105, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#24 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#25 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#29 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Residence welcomes you to a enchanting 4-star hotel in an excellent location on the south coast of Madeira. Overlooking the sea and some imposing cliffs, the opportunities for fantastic sunsets are offered every day during your holidays. Once inside, the hotel is built with many open spaces to make the most of the natural light and a modern and luxurious design with comfortable and functional public areas to rest, relax, read or socialize with your fellow guests. The atmosphere is complete with the panoramic sea views and some of the banana plantations still existing in Funchal. More than a hotel, at the Golden Residence you will find the perfect solution for a holiday where well-being and relaxation will take on a new meaning for you. The excellent service and careful attention for small detail is what makes the difference. ... and we encourage you to discover its many charms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Residence Apartment Funchal
Hotel Golden Residence Apartment
Golden Residence Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing