We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel”
Review of Golden Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden Residence
Ranked #26 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We asked for a sea view room and were upgraded. We had one of the best rooms (in block C) with a fantastic view overlooking the pool and the coastline. Staff were very friendly and helpful.
The pool area was very quiet - there was no music playing and it was very peaceful. In the hotel corridors there are signs asking guests to be silent which is great!
Guests have free use of the gym, sauna, and towels are provided for use around the poolside.
There is free wi-fi - just ask for the code at reception.
There is a good sized restaurant if you want to eat at the hotel, but the centre of Funchal is not far.
Breakfast was very substantial with a good selection of food.
Hotel room was a good size with tv, small kitchenette with hob, fridge, good sized bathroom, and air conditioning. The room was exceptionally clean.
We asked for a later check out which was provided free of charge and if required guests can use a shower room to freshen up once they have checked out of their room.
Would have no hesitations staying here again.....our only regret was not booking a longer stay!

Room Tip: Do ask for a room overlooking the pool in C block as the other blocks appear to have road views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nesto69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your recent experience at Golden Residence Hotel and for sharing your review with TripAdvisor readers.

We are glad to know that we have given you such positive and memorable experience while staying with us and are most pleased to know that you will consider the Golden Residence Hotel for your next holidays.

Until then we remain with our best regards from the sunny Madeira Island.

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,051)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

345 - 351 of 1,051 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed at the golden residence for a week just before Easter. Lovely hotel, staff very friendly and efficient . House keeping excellent, everywhere well maintained, lovely pools and garden. Bus stop right outside the hotel with regular service into town as well as the airport bus a short walk away. Good restaurants and shopping centre nearby. There is nothing I can think of that is bad about this hotel. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Go for a room in block C as it is right by the pool, garden bar and restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you very much for such wonderful review about Golden Residence Hotel. It is always very pleasant to know that our work is well appreciated by our guests.

On behalf of our team, I would like you to know that we are delighted to to have provided you memorable holidays and that hopefully we will welcome you back in a near future!

In the meantime we remain with best regards from the sunny Madeira Island,

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Very disappointed. When we arrived we were told that it was Buffet only in the Restaurant, so consequently ate out every night. On our departure we were told there was an Al La Carte menu, we were not shown it. When I asked Rest. Manager he said "Oh no the first few nights we didn't run Al La Carte as we were catering for the groups. I would say they should get their act together. Entertainment - very poor. All started too late. Who wants to see a Parrot Show. There were 8 people watching it. Pool, Gardens, Rooms lovely. Will stay elsewhere if we go again.

Room Tip: Rooms in C Block are the best. There are A & B blocks on two levels although the lifts are good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you very much for sharing your review regarding your experience at the Golden Residence Hotel.

We were very sorry to know that you were disappointed with some of our services, however, we would rather prefer you had presented your complaint while still staying with us, because then we would have taken action to resolve your dissatisfaction with our Restaurant.
Our team of professionals work very hard to immediately correct any misunderstanding in order to make our guests feel special and at home.

Regarding our Hotel entertainment, we always make sure that we present our guests with different kinds of live music between 19h30 and 22h30, 2 or 3 times a week. As for the Parrot Show there are several different aged guests that enjoy this kind of entertainment, especially families with children.

We sincerely hope that you will take our reply in consideration and give us the pleasure of welcoming you back in a not too distant future.

With kindest regards,
Arcília Martin
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I did not find any advantages. The cafe is extremely small for 3 blocks of the hotel. Everything is very small , for example, balcon. The pool is miscroscopic also. You feel no privacy every sound in the next room you can hear as in your own. The food in the cafe is not recommended. It is not definetely 4 stars hotel as maximum i can give it 2 stars.the staff is terrible.i really do not want even to describe but all they can do is to spoil your vacation in Madeira which is an amazing island. Be careful and choose another hotel or apartment.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank katarina k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2014

Thank you very much for your review.

We were sorry to acknowledge your disappointment towards the Golden Residence Hotel and we really regret the fact that you didn’t mention anything to us during your stay, we assure you that we would surely have done everything within our power to soften any “bad” experience.

As you correctly stated the hotel is divided in 3 blocks with 172 rooms with nice balconies measuring between 4 and 7 m2. Concerning the swimming pools, as you know we have 2 swimming pools available for our guests (one outside and one inside).

Rest assured that our team of professionals work very hard in order to make our guests feel special and at home.

Kindest regards
Arcília Martin
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Very good hotel with excellent apartments and views to Cabo Girao (Block C) with amazing sunsets. If you do stay here choose Block C, as you are within walking distance of the pool and restaurant, be it for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Breakfasts are OK, although the English breakfast could be seriously improved, as the scrambled eggs and juices are probably the worst that I have ever tasted in any hotel. On the positive side, the cheeses, hams, chourizos and bread are very good. We only had one dinner at the hotel, which again was OK but as with any buffet, it was overcooked food. Might sound negative, but overall we had an excellent time at Golden residence with the only negative element being the food.

Room Tip: Write to the Hotel Manager prior to the visit and you maybe lucky! Always book Block C
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your comments regarding your stay at the Golden Residence Hotel.

We were very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with our Restaurant food,we which you had let us known; we would have gladly tried to give other different options.

It is very important for us that you know that our guests opinion’s are most valued and based on them we can keep our efforts to improve.

Looking forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at our Hotel, we remain with best regards,

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Well located on bus routes near a local shopping centre. On top of a cliff overlooking the sea rather than on the beach this hotel is split over 3 buildings and levels connected by underground corridors. Very quiet at night.

Our room was for 3 with a good balcony and set up for a disabled visitor. Breakfasts were good but these were the only meals we ate. Good quality indoor and outdoor pools with spa, sunbeds and tables to sit and read looking out over the view. Wifi was only available in public areas with a free code but was unreliable. Safe costs extra. Spotlessly clean - only frown was the maintenance in the suite - a number of things needed sorting.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a balcony and a sea view otherwise you will be overlooking apartments next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Itinerantur17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your review with Trip Advisor readers. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay at the Golden Residence Hotel.

We are very happy to know that we could bring you comfort while with us.

Looking forward to welcome you back to the Golden Residence Hotel in a not too distant future, we remain,

with our kindest regards,
Arcília Martin
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We had not been to Madeira before and choosing the right hotel was an important but difficult decision as I was travelling with my grown up daughter, son and my friend and we needed somewhere to suit all ages and which we could all afford. The Golden Residence turned out to be the perfect choice - modern, clean and spacious in a quiet part of the town. The bus stopped outside the hotel and so we could hop on a bus and be in the centre of Funchal when ever we wanted or there was a very delightful promenade walk ( a little steep in places).
Hotel staff were young and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Hotel facilities were amazing from a very large a modern foyer to a mediation room and small library. There were two swimming pools both very clean and quiet. The grounds were immaculate with ample seating in full sun or shade.
The restaurant served excellent food with a wide choice at breakfast from individually cooked omelettes, hot buffet, fruit, meats and even cake!
.

Room Tip: The hotel has three blocks A,B and C . Block C is popular as it has the restaurant , bar and pools...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaroleandMargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Guest,

First and foremost we would like to let you know how much we have appreciated your review regarding your stay at the Golden Residence Hotel.

Our main goal is to let our Guests know how special they are to us, and I’m happy that we had the opportunity to leave you this positive and memorable experience.

Hopefully we will welcome you back in a near future!
In the meantime we remain with best regards,

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.2 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
1 mi away
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
#23 of 88 in Funchal
623 reviews
0.7 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Pestana Village
Pestana Village
#28 of 88 in Funchal
975 reviews
0.4 mi away
Baia Azul
Baia Azul
#18 of 88 in Funchal
335 reviews
0.4 mi away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#12 of 88 in Funchal
1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Residence

Address: Rua Cabrestante 25, Funchal, Madeira 9000-105, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Funchal
#21 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#24 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#26 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £68 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Residence welcomes you to a enchanting 4-star hotel in an excellent location on the south coast of Madeira. Overlooking the sea and some imposing cliffs, the opportunities for fantastic sunsets are offered every day during your holidays. Once inside, the hotel is built with many open spaces to make the most of the natural light and a modern and luxurious design with comfortable and functional public areas to rest, relax, read or socialize with your fellow guests. The atmosphere is complete with the panoramic sea views and some of the banana plantations still existing in Funchal. More than a hotel, at the Golden Residence you will find the perfect solution for a holiday where well-being and relaxation will take on a new meaning for you. The excellent service and careful attention for small detail is what makes the difference. ... and we encourage you to discover its many charms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Alpha Holidays Limited, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Golden Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Residence Apartment Funchal
Hotel Golden Residence Apartment
Golden Residence Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing