We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“60th birthday”
Review of Golden Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Golden Residence
Ranked #25 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
kent
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“60th birthday”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Just returned from a lovely relaxing week at a really lovely hotel.we asked for sea view and got just that,what a view.the room was very clean,and cleaned everyday.we booked BB but ended up booking half board the food was very good with lots of choice and you got wine or beer with meal.all staff were very nice and always greeted you with a smile.It was my husbands 60th while we were there and they brought him a bottle of bubbly to our room and sang happy birthday with cake and candle at dinner made his day a big thank you.x

Room Tip: Ask for sea view in C block
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bettyboobkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
On behalf of the Golden Residence Hotel team, I thank you for the positive comments and for having shared them with TripAdvisor readers.

It was a great pleasure for us that you have chosen our hotel for celebrating your husband's 60th birthday, we are happy to know that you have appreciated our small gesture as well as your stay with us.

Sincerely hoping that you will consider the Golden Residence Hotel for your next holiday, we remain with kindest regards from the Sunny Madeira island.

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    494
    326
    93
    24
    12
See reviews for
209
538
39
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

If you are thinking of taking a trip to Madeira , then you won't be disappointed. We stayed at this hotel & were blown away by how fantastic the staff were with us. Nothing was too much trouble.
The rooms were cleaned every morning, with a chance of towels & bedding. Everywhere was so clean. The breakfast was very good with all that you expected. But if you like a really good cup of tea, then take your own tea bag. On arrival at the hotel we were given towels for the pool area & spa. These could be changed for fresh ones when ever you wanted.
The pool area was pretty & very peaceful , with great views. The Spa was a little disappointing, & empty.
The hotel is just outside of Funchal, but there is a great bus service.
If you like a laid back hotel with peace & quiet. Staff that have all the best manners & want you to be made welcome. Then this hotel is for you.
Thank you Golden Residence for your Excellence.

Room Tip: We were upgraded & ended up in block C. Apparently the rooms were bigger. Very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
It is with great pleasure that we thank you for sharing your review with TripAdvisors readers.

We very much appreciate your praise towards our team and their standards of service, it is always a great pleasure for us to know that we had the opportunity to leave in our guests positive and memorable experiences while staying at the Golden Residence Hotel.

Concerning your comment about our SPA we would like to inform you that due to our beautiful warm weather, most of our guests spend the day out visiting our amazing island and are only back to the hotel at the end of the day. Also, whenever we have beauty treatments or massages this area is very quiet as is expected when enjoying such relaxing moments.

Certain of your understanding we remain looking forward to welcome you back at Golden Residence Hotel.

Sincerely your's
Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
185 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We asked for a sea view room and were upgraded. We had one of the best rooms (in block C) with a fantastic view overlooking the pool and the coastline. Staff were very friendly and helpful.
The pool area was very quiet - there was no music playing and it was very peaceful. In the hotel corridors there are signs asking guests to be silent which is great!
Guests have free use of the gym, sauna, and towels are provided for use around the poolside.
There is free wi-fi - just ask for the code at reception.
There is a good sized restaurant if you want to eat at the hotel, but the centre of Funchal is not far.
Breakfast was very substantial with a good selection of food.
Hotel room was a good size with tv, small kitchenette with hob, fridge, good sized bathroom, and air conditioning. The room was exceptionally clean.
We asked for a later check out which was provided free of charge and if required guests can use a shower room to freshen up once they have checked out of their room.
Would have no hesitations staying here again.....our only regret was not booking a longer stay!

Room Tip: Do ask for a room overlooking the pool in C block as the other blocks appear to have road views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nesto69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your recent experience at Golden Residence Hotel and for sharing your review with TripAdvisor readers.

We are glad to know that we have given you such positive and memorable experience while staying with us and are most pleased to know that you will consider the Golden Residence Hotel for your next holidays.

Until then we remain with our best regards from the sunny Madeira Island.

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed at the golden residence for a week just before Easter. Lovely hotel, staff very friendly and efficient . House keeping excellent, everywhere well maintained, lovely pools and garden. Bus stop right outside the hotel with regular service into town as well as the airport bus a short walk away. Good restaurants and shopping centre nearby. There is nothing I can think of that is bad about this hotel. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Go for a room in block C as it is right by the pool, garden bar and restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you very much for such wonderful review about Golden Residence Hotel. It is always very pleasant to know that our work is well appreciated by our guests.

On behalf of our team, I would like you to know that we are delighted to to have provided you memorable holidays and that hopefully we will welcome you back in a near future!

In the meantime we remain with best regards from the sunny Madeira Island,

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gt Britain
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Very disappointed. When we arrived we were told that it was Buffet only in the Restaurant, so consequently ate out every night. On our departure we were told there was an Al La Carte menu, we were not shown it. When I asked Rest. Manager he said "Oh no the first few nights we didn't run Al La Carte as we were catering for the groups. I would say they should get their act together. Entertainment - very poor. All started too late. Who wants to see a Parrot Show. There were 8 people watching it. Pool, Gardens, Rooms lovely. Will stay elsewhere if we go again.

Room Tip: Rooms in C Block are the best. There are A & B blocks on two levels although the lifts are good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your review regarding your experience at the Golden Residence Hotel.

We were very sorry to know that you were disappointed with some of our services, however, we would rather prefer you had presented your complaint while still staying with us, because then we would have taken action to resolve your dissatisfaction with our Restaurant.
Our team of professionals work very hard to immediately correct any misunderstanding in order to make our guests feel special and at home.

Regarding our Hotel entertainment, we always make sure that we present our guests with different kinds of live music between 19h30 and 22h30, 2 or 3 times a week. As for the Parrot Show there are several different aged guests that enjoy this kind of entertainment, especially families with children.

We sincerely hope that you will take our reply in consideration and give us the pleasure of welcoming you back in a not too distant future.

With kindest regards,
Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I did not find any advantages. The cafe is extremely small for 3 blocks of the hotel. Everything is very small , for example, balcon. The pool is miscroscopic also. You feel no privacy every sound in the next room you can hear as in your own. The food in the cafe is not recommended. It is not definetely 4 stars hotel as maximum i can give it 2 stars.the staff is terrible.i really do not want even to describe but all they can do is to spoil your vacation in Madeira which is an amazing island. Be careful and choose another hotel or apartment.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank katarina k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Thank you very much for your review.

We were sorry to acknowledge your disappointment towards the Golden Residence Hotel and we really regret the fact that you didn’t mention anything to us during your stay, we assure you that we would surely have done everything within our power to soften any “bad” experience.

As you correctly stated the hotel is divided in 3 blocks with 172 rooms with nice balconies measuring between 4 and 7 m2. Concerning the swimming pools, as you know we have 2 swimming pools available for our guests (one outside and one inside).

Rest assured that our team of professionals work very hard in order to make our guests feel special and at home.

Kindest regards
Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dereham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Very good hotel with excellent apartments and views to Cabo Girao (Block C) with amazing sunsets. If you do stay here choose Block C, as you are within walking distance of the pool and restaurant, be it for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Breakfasts are OK, although the English breakfast could be seriously improved, as the scrambled eggs and juices are probably the worst that I have ever tasted in any hotel. On the positive side, the cheeses, hams, chourizos and bread are very good. We only had one dinner at the hotel, which again was OK but as with any buffet, it was overcooked food. Might sound negative, but overall we had an excellent time at Golden residence with the only negative element being the food.

Room Tip: Write to the Hotel Manager prior to the visit and you maybe lucky! Always book Block C
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arcilia, Manager at Golden Residence, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your comments regarding your stay at the Golden Residence Hotel.

We were very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with our Restaurant food,we which you had let us known; we would have gladly tried to give other different options.

It is very important for us that you know that our guests opinion’s are most valued and based on them we can keep our efforts to improve.

Looking forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at our Hotel, we remain with best regards,

Arcília Martin
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.0 mi away
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
#28 of 86 in Funchal
535 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel
0.2 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#15 of 86 in Funchal
1,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#12 of 86 in Funchal
1,116 reviews
0.4 mi away
Baia Azul Hotel
Baia Azul Hotel
#17 of 86 in Funchal
199 reviews
0.8 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#6 of 86 in Funchal
1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Residence

Property: Golden Residence
Address: Rua Cabrestante 25, Funchal, Madeira 9000-105, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#24 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#25 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#29 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Residence welcomes you to a enchanting 4-star hotel in an excellent location on the south coast of Madeira. Overlooking the sea and some imposing cliffs, the opportunities for fantastic sunsets are offered every day during your holidays. Once inside, the hotel is built with many open spaces to make the most of the natural light and a modern and luxurious design with comfortable and functional public areas to rest, relax, read or socialize with your fellow guests. The atmosphere is complete with the panoramic sea views and some of the banana plantations still existing in Funchal. More than a hotel, at the Golden Residence you will find the perfect solution for a holiday where well-being and relaxation will take on a new meaning for you. The excellent service and careful attention for small detail is what makes the difference. ... and we encourage you to discover its many charms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Residence Apartment Funchal
Hotel Golden Residence Apartment
Golden Residence Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing