We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Golden Residence
Nearby Hotels
US$295
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$286
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$520
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$371
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$287
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$256
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$171
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$473
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel The Cliff Bay(Funchal)
US$300
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$353
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$343
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$141
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$212
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,073)
Filter reviews
1,073 results
Traveller rating
555
372
106
25
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
555
372
106
25
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblock cthree blocksshopping centrewet roomside sea viewmadeira forumcabo giraobanana plantationbus stopindoor poolmodern hotelupgraded to a suitepraia formosasteam room and saunabottle of champagnequiet arealiving area
Filter
Updating list...
510 - 515 of 1,073 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2009

Best service with very nice people working in this hotel. There was international mix of younger staff making our stay even nicer. Room was big and bathroom, too. Kitchen has big refrigerator. There was some construction work in the vicinity, but they finish in the afternoon ant we didn't noticed at all. Indoor pool with saunas were free all the time. We had our "own" whirlpool and suna, just for ourselves all the time. I can just recommend this hotel. Go there and enjoy Madeira.

Here's some photos from our stay:
http://www.feltna.com/pavlin/index.php?Itemid=57&id=88&option=com_content&task=view

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mare69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2009

Well what can i say - what a beautiful hotel. I traveled here with my partner and my parents for a birthday celebration and what a wonderful time we had. The room which we booked had two bedrooms, one with en suite shower room and one with a wet room, which both joined on to our main living/dining area. This really was a lovely touch - unlike other hotels where we would have had two separate hotel rooms we were able to enjoy the living space together whilst still having our own privacy.
Our room was positioned perfectly for the sun as we noticed that rooms over looking the pool and bar didn't get much sun - whereas our room was on the opposite side overlooking a field of what i assume was banana trees and we had the sun all through the day.
We were on a bed and breakfast basis which was great - breakfast was fine with a choice of continental - cereals, toast with jams and marmalade, cooked breakfast buffet with scrambled eggs and bacon etc, and there was also a selection of cold meats and cheese etc (German breakfast!). There is plenty of fruit also which was available. We didn't try the restaurant in the evenings as the restaurants outside the hotel were just so lovely, although the menu always looked quite nice.
The entertainment in the evenings was very good, a range of live singers and musicians - we would usually stop at the bar terrace for a hot drink on the way back from the restaurants in town.
As for eating out we found some really great restaurants - i wish i could remember all of the names so that i could recommend them to you. One was called "Paella" which was fabulous - i recommend cooking "on the stone" especially the "steak on the stone" which was easily the most beautiful steak i have ever eaten and you are able to cook it exactly to your preference. There was also a lovely fish restaurant near the hotel, i can't remember the name but i wont forget the food! a must for sea food lovers!
There is so much to do in Funchal - the cable car was a great experience, and the taboggan ride back down! although quite expensive for what it is, it must be done! just watch out for when you get to "the bottom" as you will need to catch a taxi back into funchal - the taxi drivers over charge for this trip so make sure you check how much you should be paying for this journey before just jumping in.
The boat trips are great, and snorkelling too. I wouldn't recommend the swimming with dolphins - the journey out to sea is very long and on one of those rubber dingy power boats which bounce around a lot - i don't get sea sick but on this i did feel a bit queezy - and the person behind me was chucking up all the way there and back!!! and dont forget that once you get going there's no going back!!! the actually dolphin swim was strange as well - you are allowed in two people at a time but have to hold on to the rope on the side of the boat. You get about a minute or two in the water if you're lucky before they pull you out and let the next lot in, so you really don't get to see much. a bit of a rip off really although it was nice to see the dolphins and whales swimming alongside the boat but not something i would do again - i had a sore bum from the bouncing around on the boat and felt sick for the rest of the day!!
Overall we had a really wonderful time - we were only there for 5 days but the sun shone for the whole time we were there despite rain being forecast for the time we were there! I really would recommend this Hotel to anyone - it was just perfect and the setting was truly stunning.
If i've missed anything or there is anything else you would like to know please do send me a message and i'll get back to you!

enjoy!

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Helen_pa12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2009

My wife and I stayed in the hotel the last week in May, we found the Hotel stylish, clean and all the staff extremely friendly and helpfull. We had an excellant room with fabulous sea views. For our second week we stayed in the Royal Savoy, a tremendous Hotel but in all honesty we preferred the Golden Residence and that is where we shall stay next year for both weeks. Some may think it is a little too far from the centre of Funchal but taxis are plentifull handy and very cheap.
Chris and Hazel lynch

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank kitlynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2009

Enjoyed a really relaxing 10 days at the Golden Residence. Rooms are fabulous, we booked a twin but on arrival were upgraded to a suite. All rooms have a kitchen area that hides away behind 'wardrobe' doors. The food was really good and we never had the same thing twice in 10 days. The entertainment isn't up to much just the odd singer now and then and not much activity in the bar in the evenings. Plenty of sunbeds round the pool (in October) maybe could get busy in high season. The hotel is very geared towards catering for the disabled even ramp access into the pool. The building work next door didn't cause any problems as the main structure of the house they are building is already up. The hotel is further from the centre than the website leads you to believe but the buses are frequent. If you feel like walking along the promenade you need a fine pair of legs on you as it's up and down steep hills all the way, easier to walk along the main road. We certainly wouldn't hesitate to go back to this hotel - we had a great time.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JennyWren_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2009

Modern hotel which consists from 3 buildings, we stayed at the farthest one from the sea, when sometimes you can hear the noise of the traffic. So I recommend to check in which building you have reservation. Room was very nice, fashionable and clean. Breakfest was also sufficient, from the terrase is breathtaking view to sea. Unfortunately from hotel there is no direct acces to the sea and swimming pool is not big enough for whole hotel (during the peak its impossible to swim). Hotel has its own garage for additional fee. Its little bit far away from the city but there is a promenade which you can enjoy for romantic walk.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Svestka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews