We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice apartment, shame about the jacuzzi”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Funchal, Madeira, Madeira Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Paul T
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice apartment, shame about the jacuzzi”
Reviewed 12 November 2016 for a stay in January 2016

The apartment was very well appointed and with a good external area because it is on the top floor. The view was pretty good out over the sea with only a bit of construction work in the line of sight.
The one disappointment was that a reason we booked the apartment was for the jacuzzi. However, the hot water was not working, the owner said he would try to get it fixed but this did not happen. Seeing that this was a key selling feature of the apartment it would have been appropriate for some sort of token compensation to be offered but this was not made.
Although I have answered 'yes' to the question about good value, as distinct from 'no', the stay wasn't as good a value as it would have been if the above had been addressed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The condition and layout of the interior plus the balcony area
Liked least: The jacuzzi hot water did not work and no offer of some kind of compensation was made.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Nov 2016
So sorry reading this review about a stay in January 2016. Indeed during your week stay there was a problem about heating the water on the jacuzzi and we had to wait for a new piece coming from the mainland.
It arrived after your week stay and as can be read on the next reviews from January until now, everything has been just perfect!
Unforeseen issues may happen everywhere, we are so sorry about it but as you saw we did our best to fix it as quickly as we could. Staying in an Island may take longer than a week but happy to say that since January 2016 no more issues have happened.
Again and again, we are very sorry for it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maps29786...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely bolt-hole in a balmy climate”
Reviewed 8 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A delightfully light and spacious studio apartment in a suburban area to the west of Funchal, Madeira's capital. The owners are rightly proud of both the design and fittings and have made sure that everything you would need in a self-catering venue is provided, along with many homely touches as well. Helena and Nuno, the owners, could not be more welcoming or helpful. Nearby are plenty of food shops, as well as restaurants to suit every pocket and lots of cafes. The private terrace is large and very well appointed and we enjoyed many days in which we could sunbathe, enjoy the jacuzzi and dine outdoors. It is about a 50 minutes walk into Funchal itself, but if you prefer there is a regular bus service nearby, including the sightseeing buses. With the drop in sterling's value prices in the restaurants and cafes are not dissimilar to any major city in the UK, but we found the steaks and fish in the nearby supermarket to be good value when we wanted to BBQ. We decided to stay put and just read books, eating simple foods and sampling the wide range of Portugueuse wines: as luck would have it, we also managed to catch up with some of the blockbuster movies over the last 12 months on the cable TV. Therefore. for us it was restful and most enjoyable, though it is a good base from which to explore the island, even if you need to start from Funchal itself.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The privacy and peace and quiet
Liked least: The location could have been nearer to Funchal, as a walk in hot weather might prove challenging.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisaV7455...
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 17 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What a lovely apartment, so comfortable and homely. Didnt get to meet the owners but was greeted by a collegue of theirs who showed us around the apartment, a lovely welcome pack was waiting and went down a treat as we arrived at lunchtime. Nuno came to change the towels but we were out on his arrival but he left us alovely letter ( Nuno your english is not bad :) ) and a delicious homemade cake of his mother, which we thank her kindly for. We ate out during the day whilst out walking then enjoyed the evenings in in the lovely surroundings. We thank you for letting us stay in your beautiful apartment and enjoyed Maderia very much.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: Coming home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice B
Chesterfield Derbyshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Oasis of luxury and calm”
Reviewed 6 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We have just returned from an amazing 19 days in Crystal Studio Funchal. We have loved every minute and could have stayed longer. Nuno has created an oasis of luxury and calm. The apartment is very well equipped.....we stayed in 4 nights and cooked....we enjoyed a gin and tonic on the terrace and watched the sun set. We had dinner by candle light and had a superb bottle of red wine. This place invites you in...so much so you don't want to leave. Nuno and Helena are such lovely people and are quick to respond to any contact. I would have in hesitation in recommending Crystal Studio to friends and family. Thank you again Nuno and Helena for making our stay truly memorable!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The outside terrece
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tajoxford
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Such a calm relaxing stay”
Reviewed 5 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The flat is immaculate and the owners try to cover 'every base' in terms of facilities. The flat is on the very top floor and very private. The block of flats is in a very quiet residential area and so very peaceful at night. The owners are simply wonderful - a great welcome and enormous patience when we got lost driving from the airport. The plus side is the facilities, accommodation and location. One slight problem was parking the car - spaces were not always available.
We had the prefect holiday and that is, in no small part, due to this wonderful studio flat.
Thank you for great service

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space, facilities and location
Liked least: car parking
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oram1234
1 review
“The perfect apartment.”
Reviewed 7 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We have just had a lovely holiday in this very well appointed apartment. It had everything we needed to make our stay enjoyable. We really appreciated the extremely helpful advice given by Nuno about a variety of things such as local transport and restaurants. We confidently recommend this apartment to others.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melwowe
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great place, highly recommended”
Reviewed 28 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

A great little apartment, well appointed and in a great location. Nuno and Helena were great hosts and thought of everything. Really enjoyed our stay. Will definitely recommend to friends and family.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing