We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Luxury penthouse studio with private sun-trap...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Funchal, Madeira, Madeira Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
PeterPlum...
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Luxury penthouse studio with private sun-trap terrace.”
Reviewed 17 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

The British go to Madeira in February and March to seek an early taste of Spring. This year we two Brits succeeded beyond our expectations. Leaving behind gales and rain and temperatures barely above freezing, we were treated to the sort of blue skies and very warm sunshine we would be delighted to experience at home in a particularly benign June. Nuno, the owner of this penthouse studio gave us a hugely warm welcome that made us feel like VIPs. The apartment is very well equipped with top quality self-catering facilities and is perfectly situated, close to all amenities yet away from the tourist areas - although the centre of Funchal is only a 20 minute bus ride away and the bus service is cheap and frequent. The terrace is simply superb, a fantastic private oasis with unforgettable views of the sea during the day and the stars at night.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theliburd...
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very clean and we felt at home with everything you needed.”
Reviewed 21 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

The apartment is stunning. Very clean with everything you would need for a comfortable and restful stay. I really wished we had stayed for two weeks. The roof terrace is delightful with the hot tub and BBQ.The location is perfect with a good shopping area near by and some very good restaurants.It takes around an hours walk, or a short bus ride to Funchal where there is a great market and lots of lovely shops.The owner Nuno could not be more helpful and made our stay most enjoyable.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adventure...
1 review
“Lovely Apartment in Funchal”
Reviewed 14 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Easy access Funchal Centre and other areas nearby. Very well equipped for our two week stay which we thoroughly enjoyed. Spacious balcony with nice view and comfortable seating areas near to hot tub in is a great amenity. The owner is very easy to deal with and helpful. His welcome pack of fruit, wine and Madeira cake was much appreciated.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric G
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from home but with better weather.”
Reviewed 30 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

A short bus ride to the centre of Funchal or a healthy 50 minute or so walk, the apartment is located in a mainly residential area with friendly neighbours. Nearby are a selection of local shops and with Forum Madeira complex a 15 minute stroll if you want a shopping experience.
The apartment is a delight and lives up to the pictures and description. This taken together with attentive hosts made for a relaxing and enjoyable visit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hwy337
Annapolis Royal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“a blissful experience”
Reviewed 28 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016
5
people found this review helpful

WE stayed for 1 month, and it was a month of sheer happiness. The flat is clean, wonderfully decorated and equipped. Located in a safe, vital neighbourhood, it is just steps away from shops selling truly fresh food and from really nice cafes and small restaurants. The sea is close, and we enjoyed the bathing on both the beach and at the nearby Lido, where there is access to the sea. The owner is very alert to his clients' needs, and puts himself out to be helpful and pleasant. It is impossible to be sufficiently fulsome in one's description of this lovely apartment.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul T
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice apartment, shame about the jacuzzi”
Reviewed 12 November 2016 for a stay in January 2016

The apartment was very well appointed and with a good external area because it is on the top floor. The view was pretty good out over the sea with only a bit of construction work in the line of sight.
The one disappointment was that a reason we booked the apartment was for the jacuzzi. However, the hot water was not working, the owner said he would try to get it fixed but this did not happen. Seeing that this was a key selling feature of the apartment it would have been appropriate for some sort of token compensation to be offered but this was not made.
Although I have answered 'yes' to the question about good value, as distinct from 'no', the stay wasn't as good a value as it would have been if the above had been addressed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The condition and layout of the interior plus the balcony area
Liked least: The jacuzzi hot water did not work and no offer of some kind of compensation was made.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Nov 2016
So sorry reading this review about a stay in January 2016. Indeed during your week stay there was a problem about heating the water on the jacuzzi and we had to wait for a new piece coming from the mainland.
It arrived after your week stay and as can be read on the next reviews from January until now, everything has been just perfect!
Unforeseen issues may happen everywhere, we are so sorry about it but as you saw we did our best to fix it as quickly as we could. Staying in an Island may take longer than a week but happy to say that since January 2016 no more issues have happened.
Again and again, we are very sorry for it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maps29786...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely bolt-hole in a balmy climate”
Reviewed 8 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A delightfully light and spacious studio apartment in a suburban area to the west of Funchal, Madeira's capital. The owners are rightly proud of both the design and fittings and have made sure that everything you would need in a self-catering venue is provided, along with many homely touches as well. Helena and Nuno, the owners, could not be more welcoming or helpful. Nearby are plenty of food shops, as well as restaurants to suit every pocket and lots of cafes. The private terrace is large and very well appointed and we enjoyed many days in which we could sunbathe, enjoy the jacuzzi and dine outdoors. It is about a 50 minutes walk into Funchal itself, but if you prefer there is a regular bus service nearby, including the sightseeing buses. With the drop in sterling's value prices in the restaurants and cafes are not dissimilar to any major city in the UK, but we found the steaks and fish in the nearby supermarket to be good value when we wanted to BBQ. We decided to stay put and just read books, eating simple foods and sampling the wide range of Portugueuse wines: as luck would have it, we also managed to catch up with some of the blockbuster movies over the last 12 months on the cable TV. Therefore. for us it was restful and most enjoyable, though it is a good base from which to explore the island, even if you need to start from Funchal itself.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The privacy and peace and quiet
Liked least: The location could have been nearer to Funchal, as a walk in hot weather might prove challenging.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing