We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful apartment in perfect location”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Funchal, Madeira, Madeira Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
John O
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Wonderful apartment in perfect location”
Reviewed 17 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

It's hard to add anything further to what other guests have already said.
The apartment is in a quiet residential zone and yet, very convenient to local shops and restaurants. The Forum shopping centre is only a 10 minute stroll away, and within a few hundred metres there is a wonderful bakery, a nice fruit and vegetable shop and various restaurants and bars. In all of these, people are friendly and helpful. A heartier walk ( 40 minutes approx) takes you to Funchal centre.
The apartment is exactly as shown on the site. It is very spacious, superbly equipped and spotlessly clean . The owners have thought of everything .....nothing has been overlooked and all the equipment is top quality. The fridge freezer is huge and very efficient.
The bed is very comfortable, and the bedding also high quality.
What can we say about the terrace that hasn't already been said. Simply superb. So spacious, so elegantly furnished, so comfortable. The jacuzzi is a bonus!
The owners are very kind. It was so reassuring after booking that they responded to any queries within minutes. Nuno was here to meet us and show us everything and kindly left us some essentials which were most welcome given our relatively late arrival.
We will definitely return. It's one of the most relaxing places we have stayed. You can be as active as you want or as chilled as we were.
Thank you Nuno and Helena and we look forward to meeting again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
10Amac
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Apartment is a beautiful oasis for a relaxing holiday”
Reviewed 7 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a week in this beautiful apartment and were met on arrival by the owner Nuno and his friend Sophia who kindly showed us all the apartment has to offer.

Firstly, Nuno and Sophia speak perfect English and we were welcomed with a small pack of essentials, including wine and local bakery goods which was a pleasant surprise.

Sophia then took the time to explain everything about the apartment and kept the jewel in the crown until last - the Jacuzzi! It was very hot during our stay, therefore, this was a great addition.

We ate out every evening but the apartment is very well equipped to self-cater if you wish.

The apartment is immaculately clean with a huge amount of thought put into every detail. The location is quiet and mainly residential but still with local bakeries, bars and restaurants if you do not want to walk very far. There is a good bus service right outside but we opted to walk into the centre and taxi back.

The apartment is on the seventh floor and Nuno had contacted us prior to our stay to inform us that the elevators were both out of order and were unlikely to be fixed during our stay. This was something which was obviously out of his control. Since we are relatively fit, we decided that we would be able to manage the stairs which we did but this would not be possible for the elderly or unfit as it is quite a climb in the heat!

Despite this we had a wonderful time and would highly recommend, we hope your stay is filled with many surprises!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Discover1...
1 review
“Amazing apartment with accommodating owners”
Reviewed 23 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Having travelled throughout Portugal and visiting Madeira on 3 occassions this was one of the nicest places we have stayed.

We felt relaxed and well looked after by the owners who left us a care package full of local food and wine on arrival.

The views from the apartment and outdoor facilities were a nice addition to a modern and well looked after property.

Excellent location, near to high quality restaurants within walking distance.

We would highly recommend this property for your stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John C
1 review
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed 16 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We highly recommend this apartment. Everything was provided including an excellent welcoming pack of supplies (including wine!) The patio/terrace is terrific and the whole accommodation was very clean and beautifully presented. Helene was very efficient and helpful. A 5 star holiday for sure. Thank you we loved it

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johng1956...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A fantastic apartment with a superb large balcony and sea views.”
Reviewed 14 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

The apartment is based in a residential area of Funchal with lots of amenities such as bars, supermarkets and bakeries close by with everything reasonable priced. There is also a large modern shopping centre (The Forum) just a few minutes walk away. The studio apartment is perfect for couples and the owners have put a lot of effort into ensuring you have everything you need for a perfect holiday. The large balcony area is the highlight and a wonderful place to relax. There is a very regular bus service into Funchal but it is also possible to walk into town in about 40 minutes. The hotel area close to the Lido is only a 15 minute walk away and here you will find some of the best restaurants in Funchal (the top 3 restaurants on TA are a short walk from each other and Cris's Place is particularly recommended for a fine dining experience to remember). The owners arranged for a taxi to pick us up for both arrival and departure and a particularly nice touch were the pastries, bottle of wine and other treats which greeted us on arrival. We would highly recommend this apartment to any couples looking for a relaxing holiday in Funchal.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterPlum...
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Luxury penthouse studio with private sun-trap terrace.”
Reviewed 17 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

The British go to Madeira in February and March to seek an early taste of Spring. This year we two Brits succeeded beyond our expectations. Leaving behind gales and rain and temperatures barely above freezing, we were treated to the sort of blue skies and very warm sunshine we would be delighted to experience at home in a particularly benign June. Nuno, the owner of this penthouse studio gave us a hugely warm welcome that made us feel like VIPs. The apartment is very well equipped with top quality self-catering facilities and is perfectly situated, close to all amenities yet away from the tourist areas - although the centre of Funchal is only a 20 minute bus ride away and the bus service is cheap and frequent. The terrace is simply superb, a fantastic private oasis with unforgettable views of the sea during the day and the stars at night.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theliburd...
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very clean and we felt at home with everything you needed.”
Reviewed 21 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

The apartment is stunning. Very clean with everything you would need for a comfortable and restful stay. I really wished we had stayed for two weeks. The roof terrace is delightful with the hot tub and BBQ.The location is perfect with a good shopping area near by and some very good restaurants.It takes around an hours walk, or a short bus ride to Funchal where there is a great market and lots of lovely shops.The owner Nuno could not be more helpful and made our stay most enjoyable.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing