We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Studio Apartment”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Funchal, Madeira, Madeira Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
trevonefi
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful Studio Apartment”
Reviewed 17 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Cristal studios is a lovely studio apartment. We had a wonderful week here - it is very well located. Far enough away from the hotel zone to enjoy a more "local" life and with Funchal and the tourist zone an easy 45 minute stroll away. The apartment is very well equipped with a beautiful terrace and we were kindly received by Sofia with a bottle of wine and some treats from the local bakery. The only shame for us was that the Jacuzzi was out of action for the duration of our stay as it had a leak. The Cristal studio team tried their best to get it fixed during our stay but the new jacuzzi didn't arrive from Lisbon in time. However this is a circumstantial event and otherwise we would not hesitate to come back. Thanks Nuno, Helena and Sofia.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katrinahy...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Funchal Retreat”
Reviewed 24 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

What a superb apartment! It really is as good as it looks. The location is excellent - a healthy walk into Funchal or a very easy bus ride. All the local shops and restaurants are excellent - they are full of the locals and are great value and very welcoming.
Every detail of the apartment is designed to make it a relaxing home from home. The warmth of the welcome we received and the kindness and generosity of the owners made it such a special stay. The sunshine was an added bonus and it is hard to believe there is a more relaxing ,or better equipped terrace in the area, from which we could have enjoyed it.
Many, many thanks for making this such a perfect Funchal retreat.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
da n
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely apartment, great view!”
Reviewed 5 March 2018 for a stay in February 2018

This is a very well equipped apartment and beautifully decorated in a modern light loving style. One of the best things was the outside patio area, complete with jacuzzi for those who like outdoor dining with wonderful views of the ocean. There is also a modern electric BBQ, loungers and a comfortable sofa.
Nuno is a helpful and friendly chap who gave us a very warm welcome to Madeira and his Top Floor Apartment. Unfortunately the weather wasn't kind to us and we experienced quite a bit of rain and cloud but we were lucky enough to get one glorious day for our dolphin watching trip. We saw several of these wonderful creatures but you have to be quick with camera to snap one. We didn't have a bad meal at any of the restaurants we visited and there's a very good steak house 5 minutes walk away.
One last thing, if you're a music lover I can recommend going to see The Mandolin Orchestra of Madeira, now in it's 105th year. I play the mandolin, so this was a must for me. Lovely holiday....but if we went again, we wouldn't choose February.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FionaM
Glasgow, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous”
Reviewed 15 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018
1
person found this review helpful

I can't commend this highly enough. Beautifully appointed apartment, ideal for a couple. Well equipped and the outdoor space is fantastic. Hosts, Nuno and Helena, were fantastic - lovely welcome pack provided on arrival including wine, bread, lovely fruit and cheese which was most welcome. Nuno also great help with a couple of issues during our week. It was my birthday during our stay and I even received a card and gift-bag with more local goodies which was so kind.
The local area is very safe, plenty of restaurants and bars frequented mostly by locals. Special mention to Balcony Restaurant just round the corner for good home cooking serving local cuisine, and the Indian - Bombay Spice was excellent.
Several local shops nearby for bits & pieces, and there is the Forum Shopping Centre just a few minutes walk away which has a large supermarket.
Bus service very good and frequent.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hetty1955
Vignol, Frankrijk
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely apartment”
Reviewed 8 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We had a wonderful week. The apartment is nice furnitured, cosy, comfortable. The roof terrace is large, very nice. A few things a bit disapointing: there is a small boiler, so only a 5-minutes shower is possible and you can hear the elevator in the apartment - in the night it can be disturbing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John O
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Wonderful apartment in perfect location”
Reviewed 17 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

It's hard to add anything further to what other guests have already said.
The apartment is in a quiet residential zone and yet, very convenient to local shops and restaurants. The Forum shopping centre is only a 10 minute stroll away, and within a few hundred metres there is a wonderful bakery, a nice fruit and vegetable shop and various restaurants and bars. In all of these, people are friendly and helpful. A heartier walk ( 40 minutes approx) takes you to Funchal centre.
The apartment is exactly as shown on the site. It is very spacious, superbly equipped and spotlessly clean . The owners have thought of everything .....nothing has been overlooked and all the equipment is top quality. The fridge freezer is huge and very efficient.
The bed is very comfortable, and the bedding also high quality.
What can we say about the terrace that hasn't already been said. Simply superb. So spacious, so elegantly furnished, so comfortable. The jacuzzi is a bonus!
The owners are very kind. It was so reassuring after booking that they responded to any queries within minutes. Nuno was here to meet us and show us everything and kindly left us some essentials which were most welcome given our relatively late arrival.
We will definitely return. It's one of the most relaxing places we have stayed. You can be as active as you want or as chilled as we were.
Thank you Nuno and Helena and we look forward to meeting again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
10Amac
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Apartment is a beautiful oasis for a relaxing holiday”
Reviewed 7 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a week in this beautiful apartment and were met on arrival by the owner Nuno and his friend Sophia who kindly showed us all the apartment has to offer.

Firstly, Nuno and Sophia speak perfect English and we were welcomed with a small pack of essentials, including wine and local bakery goods which was a pleasant surprise.

Sophia then took the time to explain everything about the apartment and kept the jewel in the crown until last - the Jacuzzi! It was very hot during our stay, therefore, this was a great addition.

We ate out every evening but the apartment is very well equipped to self-cater if you wish.

The apartment is immaculately clean with a huge amount of thought put into every detail. The location is quiet and mainly residential but still with local bakeries, bars and restaurants if you do not want to walk very far. There is a good bus service right outside but we opted to walk into the centre and taxi back.

The apartment is on the seventh floor and Nuno had contacted us prior to our stay to inform us that the elevators were both out of order and were unlikely to be fixed during our stay. This was something which was obviously out of his control. Since we are relatively fit, we decided that we would be able to manage the stairs which we did but this would not be possible for the elderly or unfit as it is quite a climb in the heat!

Despite this we had a wonderful time and would highly recommend, we hope your stay is filled with many surprises!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing