We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent immaculately clean accommodation in a...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of CASA dos NETOS

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Funchal, Madeira, Madeira Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
macs132
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent immaculately clean accommodation in a great location”
Reviewed 16 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Great accommodation in a quiet central location. The owner, Luis, couldn't be more helpful. Within a short walk of many interesting parts of Funchal. Approximately 15 minutes walk to Pingo Doce supermarket and there is another smaller supermarket slightly nearer. Also, if you turn left as you go out of the main entrance of the building, you will find a minimarket a short distance away. Immaculately clean and more spacious than website pictures suggest. Very well equipped kitchen and good clothes drying facilities on balconies. Fantastic baker down below. Great views from the balconies, looking towards the sea. Comfortable beds and good wifi connection. If you hire a car, there is parking available in the basement for a small charge (you just get a ticket as you go in and pay the attendant as you leave).
If you want to know all about the production of Madeira, would recommend the Blandy's 45 minute tour - excellent guide and really interesting. Oliveiras, which is nearer the flat, only offers tasting of Madeira and a shop.
Huge variety of walks throughout the island.
Summing up - excellent accommodation and very good value for money. We would love to go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location- great views and we could walk to many points of interest.
Liked least: Bedside reading lights could be improved.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 May 2016
Thank you so much for your words. It is a pleasure for us have guests like you are. You have knowledge and are kind and helpful in so many situations.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irene C
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic self-catering base for Old Funchal”
Reviewed 29 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Casa dos Netos was very comfortable and felt like a home from home. We had a lovely welcome from our patient host - having got off the airport bus at the wrong stop. The apartment was well-equipped with household essentials for self-catering, so there was no need to go basics shopping on arrival. It is well-positioned for the Old Town, embankment and bus routes. We particuarly loved sitting on the balcony adjoining the kitchen, in sun for most of the day, watching the happenings in the wine company next door, and the cruise ships coming and going. The bakery downstairs was a real bonus for bread and snacks. Great holiday - we will be back!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Mar 2016
Thank you so much for this wonderful words of my place and Funchal.I hope to see you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James P W
Motherwell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An Outstanding apartment in a great location”
Reviewed 26 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We found this delightful property to be every bit as good as previous reviewers had indicated. It was bright, clean, superbly appointed and in a really central location with bars, cafes, shops and restaurants all within easy walking distance.
Mr Luis communicated clearly and helpfully with us during all the arrangements and was there to welcome us on arrival. He explained everything clearly and had taken care to provide comprehensive written instructions as well. A welcome basket was provided and unlike many holiday properties, there were supplies of milk butter and other necessaries.
TV and WiFi were of an unexpectedly high standard.
We were absolutely delighted with everything and would definitely recommend this property to our friends

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The central location
Liked least: Not having much Portuguese, It took us a while to work out that the bins were behind the door marked "Casa dos Lixos"
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Feb 2016
Thank you James for your words. Our target is to make the guests comfortable in the apartment on all aspects, and try to do better.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie S
Glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous apartment, pefect location, amazing views!”
Reviewed 9 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We have just returned from a great week in beautiful Funchal, but have to say the highlight of our holiday was Casa do Netos. What a wonderful apartment, a real home from home with everything you could possibly wish for-and more! There were so many lovely unexpected touches, from the delicious welcome pack to the Wifi, the umbrellas (thankfully never required) to the HD TV. I could go on and on!. The location was perfect for restaurants, shopping,the marina, transport and just enjoying all that Funchal has to offer. We never tired of the views from the balconies and one of the highlights of the holiday was watching a glittering cruise liner sail into port at night from our bedroom balcony. Magical !!!
Thank you Luis for a wonderful holiday. We will definitely be back
Frank and Marie

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views from the balconies
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Feb 2016
Thank you so much for your words. I I'll never forget both of you. Be back soon at Madeira Island.
Best regards
Luis
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kakiayam
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great location with fabulous sea view”
Reviewed 31 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Great location - 10 mins walk to the lavadores market, old town, waterfront, cafes, supermarkets and restaurants.

The flat was very clean and well look after by the management. Its like a home away from home with the kitchen well equipped for ones' cooking needs. Having said that, we only cooked dinner once during our stay. We decided that we prefer to enjoy the local cuisuine far too much to want to cook our dinner. We enjoyed our relaxing breakfasts and lunches at the kitchen's balcony with the sea view.

Luis, the manager, was most kind in giving us some fruit, cheese, jam, a bottle of water and local bread at the start of our stay. He was very helpful in giving direction to Pico De Arieiro where we went for our walk and also other queries that we had. A phone was provided in the flat for us to contact Luis should we have any issues or queries. I thought this was a nice gesture. It makes contact with Luis is so much easier and he is very responsive and helpful.

Theres parking on site, which is in the basement. It Is tight going down/up a level. But with care and slow driving round the bend when going up/down a level, we successfully navigated our rented seat leon without a scratch into our level and parking space. After a few times going round the tight corners, we got used to it :)

We enjoyed our stay and will happily stay there again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Feb 2016
I must thank you for your words, and appreciate your comments about the apartment and my own. What I've done it is just what every owners shall do to their guests.
I hope to see you next time. All the best for you.
Best regards
Luis
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verysquee...
Aruba
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Precious place to stay and enjoy my vacation the fullest!”
Reviewed 22 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
4
people found this review helpful

We have been vacationing in Madeira since I was small and we've stayed always with family members. This year we've decided to rent an apartment in Funchal and I must say that was the best thing we've done. I've traveled with 2 seniors and my expectations where high seeing all the beautiful pictures but when I've entered this precious very clean, luxury condominium my expectations where far beyond high, specially with such a extended stay. The view from the 2 balconies was just WAW. The owner Luis made it very special to us by surprising us with a welcome snack which my mom enjoyed it (sry for the next person reserving this is not more a surprise hahah). Only around the corner you will get into the hearth of the city and with free parking space we didn't had to pay for parking.
I must give a personal THANK YOU note to Mr. Luis for this great vacation and will definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view
Liked least: maybe the parkiing (its a couple of stores below the building but its ok)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Feb 2016
It is an honor to receive a first review like this one. Thank you for all you have said. I'll try to surprise you even more next time, Moises.
I enjoyed your comments about the apartment, and we all ways try to do the best every time.
I hope to see you soon.
Best regards
Luis
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FellowTra...
Nantes, France
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017
Google Translation

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Nov 2017
Merci pour votre message. C’est très important pour nous avoir des gens comme vous.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing