We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect - Stay right here”
other travellers have booked this property
View of the city and ocean views from the veranda of the art studio
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of the city and ocean views from the veranda of the art studio
Principal bedroom with a suite bathroom and a large veranda Portuguese style kitchen and living room where can also sleep two people
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
View of the city and ocean views from the veranda of the art studio
Principal bedroom with a suite bathroom and a large veranda
Portuguese style kitchen and living room where can also sleep two people
Portuguese style kitchen and living room where can also sleep two people
Portuguese style kitchen and living room where can also sleep two people
Portuguese style kitchen and living room where can also sleep two people
Portuguese style kitchen and living room where can also sleep two people
Portuguese style kitchen and living room where can also sleep two people
Portuguese style kitchen and living room where can also sleep two people
Portuguese style kitchen and living room where can also sleep two people
Portuguese style kitchen and living room where can also sleep two people
Portuguese style kitchen and living room where can also sleep two people
Portuguese style kitchen and living room where can also sleep two people
Portuguese style kitchen and living room where can also sleep two people
Portuguese style kitchen and living room where can also sleep two people
Portuguese style kitchen and living room where can also sleep two people
Electric fireplace and TV corner in the kitchen and living room
Portuguese style kitchen and living room where can also sleep two people
Portuguese style kitchen and living room where can also sleep two people
... spiral staircase leads to each room and art studio
... spiral staircase leads to each room and art studio
Portuguese style kitchen and living room where can also sleep two people
Principal bedroom with a suite bathroom and a large veranda
Suite bathroom.
Suite bathroom.
Principal bedroom with a suite bathroom and a large veranda
Principal bedroom with a suite bathroom and a large veranda
Principal bedroom with a suite bathroom and a large veranda
The large veranda of our suite where you can drink tea  or wine and watch the city life
The large veranda of our suite where you can drink tea  or wine and watch the city life
The large veranda of our suite where you can drink tea  jr wine and watch the city life
Principal bedroom with a suite bathroom and a large veranda
WC on the 1rd floor.
WC on the 1rd floor and a washing machine
Room for two guests on the 3rd floor
Handmade toys made by the hostess
Room for two guests on the 3rd floor
Room for two guests on the 3rd floor
Room for two guests on the 3rd floor
Room for two guests on the 3rd floor
Room for two guests-view of the old city from the window
Room for two guests on the 3rd floor
Bathroom with shower on the 3rd floor
Bathroom on the 3rd floor
Suite bathroom.
Part of the art gallery is located directly at the apartment
Handmade toys made by the hostess
Part of the art gallery is located directly at the apartment
View of the city and ocean views from the veranda of the art studio
View of the city and ocean views from the veranda of the art studio
Our house is full of art, sun and  warm hospitality
Our house is full of art, sun and  warm hospitality
Our house is full of art, sun and  warm hospitality
Loft of our Art Studio, where you can work and enjoy the view of the old city and the ocean
First floor, a small room for luggage or bicycle.
The front of our house
Our street, small street Queimada de Cima is on the list of the most important pedestrian routes
Guest reviews
Guest reviews
Guest reviews
Guest reviews
The map.  We just one minute from the most visited places in Funchal.
The nearest free beach, 850 meters or 10 minutes of walking speed. FREE!!!  We give you towels !
Nearest comfortable beach-Barrerinha 1400 meters or 17 minutes of walking speed.  Just  1.5 euros .
Nearest comfortable beach-Barrerinha 1400 meters or 17 minutes of walking speed.  Just  1.5 euros .
Our near famous neighborhood
Our near famous neighborhood
Our near famous neighborhood
Our near famous neighborhood
View of the city and ocean views from the veranda of the art studio
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Funchal, Madeira, Madeira Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Michelle7...
London, UK
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Perfect - Stay right here”
Reviewed 15 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

This is my first time booking an apartment so I didn’t know what to expect.

In the centre of town and walking distance to so many places, you cannot go wrong booking here.

Location was superb, dead in the centre of town, two minutes walk to the sea, and abundance of restaurants on your doorstep. Bus stops in same place and taxi ranks 30 seconds away.

I booked this for five nights in November. The apartment was cleaned as if it were a brand new apartment and no one had stayed before.
Everything you would need was supplied.

We were a couple and two grown up children, so to have two bathrooms and a loo on each floor was perfect.

There were arty touches throughout the apartment which were beautiful.

As I know Madeira, my parents are from here and I know Funchal and the island well, and nothing ever went wrong In the apartment, I didn’t really need to contact the hosts, but they contacted me to make sure I was ok.
Before the stay I sent so many emails and they were as patient as can be.

Airport pick up was excellent as I didn’t have a clue where the apartment was.

Bed comfy, water pressure brilliant, hot water enough for four showers every morning.

I would stay here again, even if their were only two of us as the place was amazing.

I absolutely loved it. I really do want to stay again, however might be a bit greedy for two people and so much space!

Thank you so much!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Feb 2018
Thanks for the wonderful comment. It was very nice to have such cute guests. I also promise to keep your secret in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena P
Klaipeda County, Lithuania
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Its like your home in city center”
Reviewed 22 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Very good location. Nice two balconies :). Apartment is cute, we like fresh flowers and small gifts :). Thank you for wonderful welcome and for all your recommendations.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jun 2017
Спасибо большое, Лена!!!Удачи вам!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda N
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous holiday house in centre of a beautiful city.”
Reviewed 1 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The apartment is spacious, very clean, comfortable and lives up to its name with lots of interesting and colourful artistic details, perfect for exploring Funchal on foot or catching a bus to the outskirts of the city and the Island of Madeira beyond.
A very well equipped kitchen to cook the wonderful, locally purchased food in, and lots of really good local restaurants and cafes, within a few seconds walk, to eat out if you prefer.
The owners, who were very welcoming and helpful, met us at the apartment and had arranged airport transfers with a very friendly and knowledgeable driver, all four of us had a wonderful week and will return in the near future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jun 2017
Thank you very much for your visit! You were very nice and nice company.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunseasan...
Doncaster England
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Better late than never!”
Reviewed 12 March 2017 for a stay in October 2016

I stayed here with family at the very end of Oct/Nov.

Sveta is a lovely lady and you can't wish for a more attentive host should you require it.

The house is midway down a lovely shopping street with cafes and shops in abundance.

Once inside the house there's a spiral staircase that spans 4 floors so it's not for the infirm in any way, I'd be very wary with very young children.

It's one of the most well equipped places I've ever visited, even down to the first aid kit with pain killers and vit c tablets!

Clean, tidy, very functional with lovely views over the roof tops on the fourth floor. There's a nice balcony attached to the 3rd floor master bedroom where a glass or two of something cold is welcome prio to going out for the evening.

Absolutely bang in the centre and ideal for getting anywhere fast on foot or via the taxi rank that's a stones throw away.

Highly recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Mar 2017
Dear William!
I knew from the very first moment of our communication that you were our special guest. Cheerful, athletic and loving old colonial cities. Probably, our house was created especially for you and for your family !!! Hope to see you soon
regards, Sveta, Alex, Irina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petermann...
Ilkley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great accomodation in perfect location”
Reviewed 10 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fantastic week in the Art House, it's in a characterful street with cafes and restaurants on the doorstep, but v quiet at night, perfect combination. We enjoyed breakfast on the terrace, and great views from top floor. Our hosts looked after us so well, ensuring we were met from airport, shown round, and picked up at end of holiday to see us back on way to airport. We'd highly recommend both Funchal and the Art House, and will be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Mar 2017
Dear Peter
We also enjoyed your stay in our house. You are amazing, funny and very nice guests. We hope to see you again ... soon ... Madeira is good in any season
Sveta, Irina, Alex
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul T
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Mr ”
Reviewed 28 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We stayed at the chalet in the heart of Funchal. It was perfect for us, very clean,spacious and well maintained. The owners and our transfer driver have us a great welcome

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Feb 2017
Thanks a lot, Paul... you are so amazing family with a great sense of humor... ha!!! Hope to see you soon... Madeira is waiting!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vivien W
1 review
“Super clean and a great location!”
Reviewed 28 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

I took my mother on holiday to celebrate her birthday, and couldn't have chosen better. The apartment was very comfortable and in a lovely part of the gracious Old Town. What really made our short break was the kindness of Svetlana and Alex. We were greeted with some spectacular flowers and a bottle of wine for my Mum and Alex thoughtfully suggested taking us to a couple of pretty locations on the island on our way to the airport. Many thanks.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Feb 2017
Thanks a lot, Vivien! Hope you liked Madeira, hope to see you soon, até já, Sveta, Alex
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing