We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Wine Bar in Madeira”
Review of Paixao Do Vinho

Paixao Do Vinho
Reserve with
Save up to 30% when you reserve online *
Paixao Do Vinho is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #57 of 739 Restaurants in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$28
Description: Fine Wine merchant, specialist in small portuguese wine producers of superior quality. Wine Bar, Portuguese Wines ,Portuguese Cheeses, Charcuterie and regional Tapas.
Restaurant details
Description: Fine Wine merchant, specialist in small portuguese wine producers of superior quality. Wine Bar, Portuguese Wines ,Portuguese Cheeses, Charcuterie and regional Tapas.
Reviewed 12 August 2016

Several wonderful sessions at Paixao Do Vinho in Funchal. The selection of wines by the glass and bottle is amazing as are the small tapas which they bring you. On one visit I tried Filipe's Big Cheese Plate which was an amazing complement to the wines by the glass. Filipe is so knowledgeable and learns your wine style so he can personalise the experience. An amazing place to visit while in Funchal

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank timm57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantosDumont, Proprietário at Paixao Do Vinho, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2016

Thank you Tim for your kind words about our services and quality. We also appreciate the effort you had writing about the time you spent with us.
We are pleased to know that we matched your expectations and we hope to see you back in our Shop for an other wine, cheese or charcuterie experience ...

Very best regards,

Filipe

Paixão do Vinho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 60 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2016

An amazing Gem of a Wine Bar. We were Lucky enough to have found two nights before the end of our Holiday. A superb Host with a knowledge and passion for wine that is unrivalled anywhere on the Island. A must visit if in Madeira. Relax and Enjoy fabulouse Wine , Cheeses and Charcuterie ,,,, an experience you will not forget in a Hurry !

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank alanhW895UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Firsttogo, Owner at Paixao Do Vinho, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2016

Hi Alan,

it was a great pleasure hosting you and your wife at our place! I love customers that are willing to discover all the specialties we have in Madeira and Portugal!
Wines, cheeses, charcuterie and small snacks are, what we do, to please you, and we did, didn't we?? Come back ...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

What a wonderful place! The only thing not so good is that we didn't find it earlier. It's a bit tucked away, on a main road but in a larger building. A relaxing place whether for a nice glass of wine or a bottle of something special. Paixao do vinho is a shop too and if you drink a bottle they charge the shelf price plus 7 euros which is very reasonable. Wonderful Portuguese cheeses too. If you like wine, don't miss this place!

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank AnitaL648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Firsttogo, Proprietário at Paixao Do Vinho, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2016

Anita thank you for your help, by reviewing our Wine and Food Bistro, you will certainly contribute to it's visibility... So the next ones will have less trouble finding us... It was a pleasure having you at our place... Cheeses Charcuterie,Wines and sympathy it's all you need? True?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2016 via mobile

What a gem of a place. Amazing cheese of all varieties and beautiful wine to accompany it.

Owner was extremely welcoming and accommodating, and his knowledge of where the cheese and wine originated from was extensive. It truly was a wonderful experience to find out so much about the food and drink we were consuming.

Lovely relaxed atmosphere and a very well presented establishment. Such a shame that we only found this on our final night in Madeira. Had the chance to taste cheeses that we would have never had the opportunity to try due to their rarity.

Please do not walk by such a wonderful place. If you love cheese and wine, then this is the place for you!

Thank you so much for such a lovely last evening on Madeira. Really wish we had discovered this place earlier!

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank Tonilee006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Firsttogo, Proprietário at Paixao Do Vinho, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2016

Well Girls, what a pity you discovered us so late.
It was a true pleasure to host you and satisfy your curiosity about Portuguese cheeses and wines.
True is that your changed 3 times, while being with us, 'the best cheese I ever had in my life'... What better compliment for us?!!
And you had no time to try our bruschettas ... What a shame!
Good luck for you both, or should I say for all three ... Come back and bring the rest of that growing family with you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2016 via mobile

Highlight of our trip to Funchal so far, can't wait to go back for lunch! Amazing wine and such a kind proprietor! Everyone should visit this place!!

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank TiggyDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Firsttogo, Proprietário at Paixao Do Vinho, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2016

Hi Tiggy,

so nice of you to leave such a great review of our WineBar! Thank you for your visit and you are more than welcome to come have cheeses a charcuterie with us whenever it pleases you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Paixao Do Vinho also viewed

 

Been to Paixao Do Vinho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing