We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Week”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Week”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Just back from a week break at the Pestana Hotel. This was our first visit to the hotel and the island, I am sure that it will not be the last !! The hotel was a very short walk from the fantastic beach, the staff are very friendly and happy to help the food is deliciously yummy and very well presented,with a good selection of wines.That was a really good holiday

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ambra33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martins J, General Manager at Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on tripadvisor regarding your recent stay.

We are glad to know that your experience at Pestana Porto Santo Beach Resort & Spa was excellent and we look forward to welcoming you back to Pestana Hotels & Resorts.

Kind regards.

João Martins
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,527
    590
    195
    41
    22
See reviews for
906
1,095
29
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (679)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Just returned from a 2 week stay at the Pestana. Our 2nd visit to the island and the Pestana Hotel. We think it is absolutely fabulous. The staff are wonderful and friendly and they make you feel extremely welcome. Fantastic beach just a short walk from the hotel where you can enjoy a stroll or a swim. Food is delicious with plenty of choice and a nice selection of wines with lunch and dinner. It is very peaceful here and set in lovely grounds. We were upgraded twice to very, very nice apartments. Couldn't have wished for anything better!! Extremely clean and comfortable. All the staff work very hard to make your stay enjoyable and memorable. We will definitely be going back for a 3rd time.

Room Tip: I believe all the rooms are good regardless of where they are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheena0102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martins J, General Manager at Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you for the excellent review!

We feel very happy to have repeated Customers every year.

We look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Warm regards,

João Martins
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales..uk
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

our first trip here and definately wont be our last,the wife and myself and our two teenage daughters absolutely loved it from day one till the last,as everbody on here has stated the location makes this the perfect picture paradise and the staff couldnt do enough and actually looked as if they were genuinely pleased to be helping.the beach is magnificent and is all sand and stretches the length of the island,so we were surprised at how few guest actually took advantage of it,most days there was only a handful of people on it.most prefering to laze by the pool,their loss i guess.nearer to africa than portugal but only a 4 hour flight so great for the kids too.

Room Tip: pick a room above ground level is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nealsmith100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martins J, General Manager at Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Dear Guest,

We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Your positive comments about us have been really appreciated and we sincerely hope that your travelling plans bring you back to Porto Santo again, so we can have the pleasure of hosting you again to offer “Memorable Moments”.

Kind regards,

João Martins
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

My husband and I have just returned from Porto Santo. We booked this holiday two weeks before travelling looking for a relaxing break. Having read the reviews I was interested to see the hotel for myself.
I do not feel that there is any need for any criticism of this hotel. From start to finish everything was perfect. I was concerned that there might be some queuing at check in - not at all. The hotel handled this incredibly well. The hotel shuts down for the winter and we left on the last day. I can honestly say that the service level did not drop off at all, in fact all of the staff did their very best to make our stay as enjoyable as possible throughout and right up to the last minute.
I notice that previous reviewers have criticized the food. I'm surprised by this. I found the quality and choice excellent. You would certainly struggle to go hungry here. I would single out the pool bar for praise here. The choice and quality were so much better than the usual pizza, burger, chips selection I've experienced at other hotels. Having said this I should point out that I preferred the informality of this for my lunch option but in no way am I taking anything away from the restaurant where a massive lunch choice was on offer every day.
We had a suite in block 8 with a pool view. I was thrilled with our room choice and could want for nothing more. There was free WiFi throughout the hotel too - a bonus for those who like to keep in touch with home etc.
The location was awesome, the beach is to die for. I shall certainly be returning and next time I hope to bring my golf clubs too!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coolcattie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martins J, General Manager at Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review (and great photos, too)!

We are delighted that you enjoyed our facilities, food and our customer service.

In Porto Santo island we have a 18 hole Golf Course with amazing sea views, you should try next time.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Warm regards,

João Martins
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

A bit of a late review. We stayed here back in August after being recommended the hotel. We had a fantastic holiday and the hotel is outstanding. Even though the weather was a little changeable for some of our stay this did not ruin our trip. We had a room in block 1 over looking the pool on the 1st floor. It was more than adequate for myself,husband and daughter. Really comfortable and cleaned to a high standard every day. The only gripe that I did have was that the only mirror in the room is in the bathroom . The bedroom really needs a mirror as well , as it is difficult to all get ready and need the mirror in the bathroom ! The food was good and it was great to be able to use the colombos facilities . The restaurant there was often quieter . We ate at the Italian a few times and this was also very nice. The beach is amazing and I have never been to a beach that is so clean. You could always find a nice quiet spot to sit and watch the world go by . I have to say as well that the staff were amazing. All really friendly and helpful, nothing too much trouble.
All in all we had a fantastic holiday and have already booked again for next summer. We cannot wait ! Thanks for a brilliant holiday .

Room Tip: A pool view room is worth the supplement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pepsicola10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martins J, General Manager at Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a fantastic review regarding your stay at Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive & Spa Beach Resort and share it with other travelers.

We were delighted to learn you had a very enjoyable time with us!

Thank you for your very kind comments regarding our staff.

Thank you for booking again for next summer.

Warm regards,

João Martins
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed here in September this year having found the holiday hiding towards the back of the Thomson's brochure - what a gem!!
I do not usually say much about my holiday to friends or family but after this couldn't recommend it enough to everyone I spoke to.
Although we wanted a quite relaxing week - if you wanted there was always something on hand to do with the keen enthusiastic entertainments team.
Accommodation was immaculate truly a 5 star standard with a great choice of food in the restaurants and all of very good quality.
Entertainment at night was excellent with 'real' singers and musicians.
All staff friendly and helpful - must recommend the jeep safari to see the Island and at great value.
Unfortunately we have a large expensive family holiday booked for next summer to Dominican - need to try out the Dreamliner !! but will most certainly be back to Porto Santo in 2015.

Room Tip: Block 6 - great views from a quite area at the back of the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martins J, General Manager at Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Pestana Porto Santo Beach Resort & Spa.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks.

Pestana Porto Santo continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

I would like to take this opportunity to invite you to join our loyalty program Pestana Priority Guest which is available at our website

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in 2015.

Sincerely,

João Martins
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
308 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 605 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

The majority of people on your aircraft will be going to this hotel, which makes check-in a long and tedious process, as the reception area is quite small. Having said that, the friendly staff work quickly to process everyone and get them to their rooms as soon as possible. The porters are quick to follow with your luggage.

ROOMS seem to vary considerably in size and shape, if you look at the floor plans. We had a decent sized room at the back of block 8, overlooking the gardens and Stalag 17 (the Columbus). The room was nicely decorated and furnished in pastel blue. The bed was massive, at least seven feet wide; with a drawer and lamp either side as well as over bed reading lights. We had a sofa and two arm chairs, a dresser unit and flat screen TV with excellent range of English channels. There was a reasonable sized wardrobe with sufficient hangers and a large free safe. We also had a kitchenette area and fridge. Air Conditioning was also very good. The balcony was a reasonable size with a table and two chairs and double rails.

BATHROOM was a good size and had large mirrors, toilet, bidet, wash basin, good hairdryer, and bath with decent shower. Strange about the window looking into the bedroom. The blinds are on the bedroom side. Whilst the room was well cleaned and fresh flowers appeared, the replenishment of things like face cloths and shower gel, was haphazard.

POOLS & GARDENS. There are extensive mature gardens all around the hotel and two large swimming pools. The top pool is fresh-water and runs from the "greenhouse" down to the main restaurant. The bottom pool is sea-water and runs from the snack bar to the kids club area. There are more than sufficient sunbeds and umbrellas, including several "poser" beds. The pools are criss-crossed with bridges and both pools are nicely lit at night. My only criticism is that the pool exterior could be cleaned more often and that the walkways could be better illuminated at night.

MAIN BUFFET RESTAURANT is too hot and claustrophobic. It is a pain having to wait to be seated at all servings. Tables inside are virtually side by side, too close to be acceptable There is slightly more spacing outside and it is also cooler but space is limited. One solution would be to space the tables out more, thereby loosing a number of tables and to operate a two sittings system to counteract the reduction. Food was good and plentiful with good choice of meat and fish, pasta, salads and cold stuff. Tasty soups and good choice of sweets. Breakfast juices were poor and we experienced some problems with lack of plates and certain food items running out and being slow to be replaced and Chinese night was probably the worst.

SNACK BAR/POOL BAR. The snack bar is ideal if you want a lie in and a late breakfast. No bacon and eggs etc. but plenty of things to choose from and better orange juice and coffee from the bar. It is also great at lunchtime if you prefer a snack to visiting the main restaurant. There are a variety of hot and cold foods to choose from, breads and soup plus sweets as well as a choice of freshly prepared burgers and pizzas, plus daily specials. The bar staff work long and hard to provide a quick and friendly service.

LUIGI'S ITALIAN RESTAURANT. Visit as many times as you like. Reservations at guest relations in reception between 11.00 and 13.00. If you have eaten in Italy, do not expect the same but it is as good as what you will find in most moderate Italian restaurants at home. Nice help yourself starters and sweets. A reasonable selection of Pizzas, Pasta and Risotto choice for mains, brought to your table. You can also choose your own toppings from a list if you like.

MADEIRANESE RESTAURANT at the Columbus. Same as Luigi's, visit as often as you want subject to reservation at guest relations. Once again, help yourself to starter. Order one of the two soups. The tomato, onion and egg soup is a Madeiran speciality and is delicious. Order your main course and side dish. The Espada (Scabbard fish), Espetada (Skewered meat), both specialities are delicious as is the spicy chicken, though not very spicy. There is also a daily fish selection, sardines are very good. Fried polenta is a good side dish. Help yourself to sweets. The apple strudel like pie is fantastic. You also get a lovely glass of Madeira wine and bread with your starter.

At all restaurants, you get a bottle of water and a bottle of wine; red, white or rose. If one of you wants red and the other white, you get a bottle of each. White and rose come with the ice bucket. The restaurants will try and tempt you to pay for something from the wine list but the local free stuff is perfectly acceptable. You can also have beer if you prefer.

SUNSET BAR. Situated over the main restaurant and Luigi's. There is an outside seating area overlooking the pools and the sea. The main bar area is where the entertainment takes place and to the left of that and slightly lower down is a quieter area with TV, two computers, pool table and extensive library. The bar offers a good selection of drinks. You can have small or large lager beers, stout (slightly fizzy) and if your that way inclined, non-alcoholic beer. The usual spirits, cocktails including non-alcoholic, liqueurs, cava, port and Madeira wines as well as tea and coffee and super Irish coffees and the bar staff work like Trojans.

ENTERTAINMENT. The animation team do a fantastic job all day long. They have daily activities if you want to partake, kids club, teens club and do several shows on an evening. The team is headed by Joana with Luciano as deputy. Luciano is a real nice guy as well as being multi-talented. He does a couple of good magic shows and some good acrobatics as well as a mean impression of Ray Charles and Stevie Wonder. Ricardo and Rita are reasonable musicians but Joao Bengala, whilst not a bad guitarist and pretty fare when doing the blues, is unfortunately let down by the appearance of Celia Celas, who lacks soul, personality and singing ability. They manage to empty the bar almost every night. An improvement would be to bring in different professional acts, at least three nights per week.

SPA. This is where the indoor pool is situated. There is also a Sauna, Turkish Bath and a well equipped gym. You can also have a range treatments from a basic sports massage (50 Euros) upwards, if you would like to be pampered.

THE COLUMBUS. The finished half of this complex is rented by Pestana. It is the most grotesque building imaginable; reminiscent of T. Dan Smiths concrete monstrosities, hence Stalag 17, which was probably better looking. Cocktail Bar, a waste of space. No more to be said.

OVERALL. This is a great place to relax with for the most part, very friendly staff, who will do their utmost to make your stay more enjoyable. There is a superb beach with therapeutic sand. Brollies and windbreaks free, just lie on the sand or towels provided. You don't need to pay the government charge for beds. Do explore the island. Although small, it is very diverse and there is much to see. I would certainly return and feel that it is a great shame that this hotel is not open all year round, as Porto Santo has a temperate climate. Finally I would like to pay tribute to Mario Kovacs, who truly is Thomson's best rep. More's the pity that all the others you come across, are not up to his standards.

Room Tip: Rooms at the top end of the complex are quieter than the ones nearer the bottom end. Ground floor an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidaymanWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martins J, General Manager at Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Your feedback is very important for us and future Guests.

Thank you for the fantastic pictures, they look professional.

It´s through guest feedback such as yours, that we are able to confirm our strong points, as well as identify any area that may require improvement. Therefore your participation has been extremely important and gratifying to us.

We would like to take this opportunity to invite you to join our loyalty program Pestana Priority Guest which is available at our website.

It was real pleasure having you as our Guest and to being of service, and we look forward to your next visit and to offering you more ‘Memorable Moments’.

Kind regards,

João Martins
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto Santo Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Pestana Colombos Premium Club
Pestana Colombos Premium Club
#1 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
661 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Porto Santo & SPA
Hotel Porto Santo & SPA
#7 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
198 reviews
0.6 mi away
Vila Baleira Porto Santo
Vila Baleira Porto Santo
#3 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
1,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pestana Ilha Dourada - Hotel & Villas
Pestana Ilha Dourada - Hotel & V...
#1 of 1 in Cabeco da Ponta
29 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Quinta Do Serrado
Hotel Quinta Do Serrado
#4 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
201 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Praia Dourada
Hotel Praia Dourada
#9 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive

Property: Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive
Address: Estrada Regional 120 | Sitio do Campo de Baixo, Porto Santo Island 9400-105, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Porto Santo Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Porto Santo Island
#2 Spa Hotel in Porto Santo Island
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Porto Santo Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive 5*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Porto Santo Beach Resort & Spa is located on the fantastic Porto Santo beach , a sandy beach 9 km long, and it is surrounded by a tropical garden of 30,000 m2 and two enormous outdoor pools of a natural style, making it one of the best hotels in Porto Santo. This hotel in Porto Santo operates under an "All Inclusive" regime, making it the ideal location for anyone wishing to spend holidays in Porto Santo without any concerns at all. So, if holidays to you mean time with friends and family, enjoying the sun, the sea and the therapeutic sands of Porto Santo, taking a dive into the pool, exercising in the gymnasium, playing a game of tennis on the multi-purpose court, or simply relaxing in the spa, then the Pestana Porto Santo is the hotel for you. The rooms of the Pestana Porto Santo are decorated in tones of blue and ocean green and include a private balcony. Although it is a hotel with "All Inclusive", it has 3 restaurants that offer a selection of Italian and Madeira cuisine and three enchanting bars, which includes the "Sunset Bar", which has fantastic views over the sea. The concept of this resort in Porto Santo underscores the philosophy of preserving the environment, taking into account the needs of sustainability of the surroundings where it is located. Various solar panels have been installed and the hotel has its own desalinisation plant, which has earned the hotel "The Green Key" certificate for its environmental management. The beach of Ribeiro Salgado, which is a concession of Pestana Porto Santo Beach Resort & Spa, was presented with the Blue Flag by the FEE - Foundation for Environment Education, due to the quality of the water, the information and environmental education, the environmental management, and the safety, services and support infrastructures. The main village, Vila Baleira, is a mere 5 minutes by car from this 5 star hotel, as is the 18-hole golf course, which offers you the unique opportunity of playing on a course designed by the Spanish champion Severiano Ballesteros; all this, with the sea as your horizon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Porto Santo Beach Resort & Spa - All Inclusive Hotel Porto Santo
Pestana Porto Santo Beach Resort And Spa - All Inclusive
Pestana Hotel Porto Santo
Pestana Resort Porto Santo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing