We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent personal service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Firstly, myself and my partner stayed at the hotel in June of this year - bit late for a review but you know how modern life is once you get back off holiday!

The hotel, location, food, staff, reps, entertainment were amazing!!

I would like to say a big thank you to Luciano, the head of the entertainment as he and his team did a fantastic job and we got talking to him and the guitarist Ruben one night and they are so friendly. It's that type of personal service that really sets this hotel away from the rest.

We also met one of the managers one night and himself and his girlfriend were extremely friendly and keen to know our thoughts of the hotel and our stay - again, how often do you go to a hotel and get talking to the manager? Very rare! The service at this hotel is AMAZING and I have not found it anywhere else I have been. Also a big thank you to Marta (sorry if the names are spelt wrong) for remember our drinks every time we went to the bar!!

Could not fault this hotel, the views, people, location are amazing!! If you want a relaxing holiday with staff that make you feel like a wanted guest and not a number like you can be seen in some of these other big hotel then this is the hotel for you.

Also if management read this can you please tell me if Luciano and the same entertainment team are there? They were amazing.

Thank you :)

Samantha

Room Tip: Get a pool view room - at night the pool area is lit up and you can see the mountains - its beautifu...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Samantha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martins J, General Manager at Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Dear Customer,

Thank you for choosing Pestana Porto Santp All Inclusive & Spa Beach Resort for your holidays and also for posting your comment on TripAdvisor.

I will share in the beginning of the next season your comment with the Team, for sure they will be very happy.

Regarding Luciano we are at this moment preparing the next season and we hope he can join us again.

Looking forward to welcome you again next summer.

Kind regards,

João Martins
Area Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,450)
There are newer reviews for Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,104 - 1,110 of 2,450 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2013

This hotel was a find, if you want to laze about and do nothing this is it, spotlessly clean, friendly staff nothing to much trouble, the grounds are beautifully laid out and well maintained, the pool area is clean and there were always plenty of sun beds,if you prefer you can go on the beach at extra cost for beds and umbrellas well worth it at 15 euros. the food was ok you wont starve but we have had a lot better, The evening entertainment was grim I suggest a trip on the free bus into town to escape and mix with some of the locals and other tourists .we did the jeep safari which was very interesting we learnt a bit of history of the island .The tour rep at our hotel was brilliant we did a beach walk with him into the town( which is very small ) husbands will be pleased to know not much chance to spend, but nice for a stroll around, the weather was very pleasant we had one poor day. Would we go again? yes.

Room Tip: pool facing, near reception, as its a bit of a walk with drinks in your hand back to your room from...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank spikesswansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martins J, General Manager at Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback regarding your stay at the Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive & Spa Beach Resort.

We are delighted to hear you had a good time with us. We are also glad you enjoyed the quality of service we provide.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon during 2014.

Sincerely,

João Martins
Area Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We spent a week at the beautiful Pestana in Porto Santo. I can honestly say that this holiday was perfection in every way.

Location - Firstly Ignore negative comments about the location (I am certain these people must have never been or are from a rival hotel) as everywhere on the island is within easy distance as the island is so small. We walked every day in to town, we strolled along the beach & along the road both very pleasant.

Food - Once again I do not understand any negative comments we had a party of eight people with very different tastes in food & everyone thought the food was fantastic with a great variety. The fruit is to die for make sure you try the banana-passion fruit they are divine. Also make sure you try the steak sandwiches from the Dunas bar.

Rooms - Set out perfectly with great attention to detail. Very clean & spacious, never felt cramped even when there was five of us in one suite. Beds very comfy & air conditioned rooms meant a pleasant nights sleep.

Facilities - Well words fail me at just how good they are, the pool do not only look stunning but they are so well maintained. The spa is great with so much to choose from, plenty of fresh towels on hand. There is also a sand football pitch, table tennis, climbing frame, basket ball & tennis courts all of which we never had to wait to use. What also great is they do not detract from how stunning the resort is, not noisy or an ugly area anywhere.

Staff & reps - Well you could not ask for better in anyway. Mario the rep is awesome in everyway, so helpful, friendly & informative.
The Pestana Staff couldn't have done more for us, always going the extra mile even carried drinks the length of the pool so the children didn't have to. So attentive & friendly was every member of staff we came in to contact with.

The Beach - Well its so die for, you walk out of the resort on to the most amazing view of the beach & sea. We walked from one end to the other it is simply stunning. Never over crowded & no rubbish or dirt in sight.

Must do -
Safari trip of the island which you can arrange with Mario
Boat trips around the island which staff are only happy to help arrange
We hired bikes and cycled the whole island definitely something worth doing, the children loved it on their tandem.

Cannot recommend this holiday any more, we cannot wait to go back. And everyone who has spoke to us or seen our photograph's cannot wait to get there. Its a little piece of paradise!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank KatIves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martins J, General Manager at Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing this very detailed review regarding your stay at Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive & Spa Beach Resort.

It was real pleasure having you as our Guest and to being of service, and we look forward to your next visit and to offering you more ‘Memorable Moments’.

Kind regards,

João Martins
Area Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed here last year for one week. My wife, son, daughter, three grandchildren aged 15, 12 & 11 and of course myself, came here again for two weeks this year from 14th October 2013. If you've read all the previous reviews you'll gather that this is fabulous place for a holiday, young or old. The staff and management here go out of their way to make sure you have a great time.

We went on the jeep tour of the island which was entertaining and educational. It's something not to be missed which lasts about three & half hours with a wine tasting stop and also a refreshment stop too. We also hired a couple of quad bikes for a two hour run around the undiscovered parts of the island. Quite expensive, but great fun.

The Columbus sister Hotel next door doesn't look as nice as this hotel. So, we decided to have a tour of the Columbus with one of the management team. She took us there on one of the hotel buggy's, which my grandson loved! Inside the Columbus is fantastic, with very large rooms, power showers, top of the range tv;s (it's nice to watch the news while away) and impressive furnishings. You can't judge a book by looking at it's cover so they say!

Where to next year? I know it's early, but we've already made a booking for us all to stay at the COLUMBUS hotel for two weeks next October 2014.

I'm sorry to hear that Mario the Thomson rep will be moving to Cape Verde next year, our loss, their gain. He'll be a hard rep to replace.

There's some photographs enclosed.............

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bandit600widnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martins J, General Manager at Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review about your recent stay at Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive & Spa Beach Resort and also about Pestana Colombos Premium Club.

Thank you for the great photos, too!

We are delighted that you enjoyed our rooms, facilities and our customer service.

Looking forward to welcome you again next year!

Warm regards,

João Martins
Area Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Stayed at the Pestano porto santo between 21-28th October. I can honestly say that this was one of the best holidays my husband and I have experienced , especially if you are looking for a totally relaxing holiday. The beach was wonderful. I enjoyed the food (ignore the negative comments). There was plenty of choice for all tastes. Our room was on the ground floor (villa 8)and overlooked beautiful gardens. We did not mind being on the ground floor and if you were not happy with your room allocation the hotel staff would try to allocate a more suitable room.
The hotel staff and animation team worked really hard to entertain all guests and continued to offered a great service up to the last minute of our holiday , which was the last day of the season. Do not hesitate to book your holiday for next year before the resort is spoilt by too many tourists. I will certainly book again as this little island is a little gem!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angel652013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martins J, General Manager at Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Dear Customer,

Thank you for posting your review on tripadvisor regarding your recent stay with your husband.

We are glad to know that your experience at Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive & Spa Beach Resort was excellent and we look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Kind regards.

João Martins
Area Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Pestana from16th-30th September 2013 and we thoroughly enjoyed our holiday. Check in was a bit manic but we were upgraded to a suite which was fabulous, the room was so spacious and really nicely decorated. It was room 614 in Block 6, at the top of the complex so it was nice and quiet. The staff are so friendly and helpful, especially Marcia, who made the scummy omelettes in the morning, they all work so hard and for long hours, full credit to all of them. Out of the a la carte resteraunts, the Maderian was our favourite, the food was excellent, followed closely by the Italian, the Buffet was ok too, there was always something to eat, Bucks Fizz at Breakfast, Chocolate Fountains at Dinner, what more could you want, we ate at the Pool Bar every lunchtime, great hot and cold snacks, sweets, ice-cream. The Sister Hotel next door was closed, but they kept the Cocktail Bar open so that we could use it, such a relaxing quiet area and the cocktails were out of this world, especially the Raspberry Mohito's can recommend them!!! The gardens and walkways are well maintained. The pools were really cold so we used the Spa every evening before going to get changed for Dinner, sometimes we were the only ones using the indoor pool and jacuzzi, it was like our own private pool!! The Beach is awesome, we have never seen one like it, you can literally walk for miles, we walked in to the City along the Beach and followed the road back, it was a truly memorable moment when we stepped on the Beach for the first time, one we will never forget. The Jeep Safari is a trip not to be missed, one of the best trips we have ever been on, excellent value for money, it is such an interesting tiny island. We can highly recommend this wonderful hotel and this stunning Island and will definitely return. We would both like to say a huge THANK YOU to ALL THE STAFF for making our holiday so memorable.

will definitely return

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TripDetective097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martins J, General Manager at Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear Guest,

We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Your positive comments about us have been really appreciated and we sincerely hope that your travelling plans bring you back to Porto Santo again, so we can have the pleasure of hosting you again to offer “Memorable Moments”.

Kind regards,

João Martins
Area Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

The Pestana Porto Santo is a pleasant and well run property with its own access to the wonderful beach. Rooms are in groups of "villas" arranged around the swimming pool and gardens and are well presented and kept very clean by the friendly maids.

The hotel operates on an all-inclusive basis as is the current trend in the industry which whilst agreeable to the guests must be to the detriment of the local bar/café/restaurant owners. Signs of the impact of the economic downturn are there to be seen.

My wife and I were unhappy with the room originally allocated to us on the ground floor at the back of one of the villas but were pleased with the response of the staff who were able to relocate us on the second day. The new room had a pool view but substantially less floor space which we thought was a reasonable trade off.

We take our holidays out of school holiday time and on this occasion were rewarded by a wonderful calm and quiet environment which we found very relaxing.

My only criticism is the food. There was always something available that was acceptable but it all seemed to lack imagination and differentiated tastes and flavours. Menu repetition was also an issue but perhaps that was because we stayed for 14 days, those that return home after 7 days may see it differently. I also got a sense that they try very hard to keep food costs as low as possible with the offering of a tripe and bean stew being one example.

My criticism is based on my experiences of other properties elsewhere that offer all-inclusive deals which have had much better food offerings. In that regard in this competitive sector the Pestana Porto Santo failed to meet my expectations. There are better places out there.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OhMightyOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martins J, General Manager at Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive & Spa Beach Resort.

At Pestana Porto Santo we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

In our Resort we serve food for more than 5 different markets and we need to try to have everybody happy. For example the tripe and bean you mention is a traditional dish from the North of Portugal.
Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to improve our services.

We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

João Martins
Area Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto Santo Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Pestana Colombos All Inclusive
Pestana Colombos All Inclusive
#1 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
720 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Porto Santo & SPA
Hotel Porto Santo & SPA
#7 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
214 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vila Baleira Porto Santo
Vila Baleira Porto Santo
#2 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
1,997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Pestana Ilha Dourada
Pestana Ilha Dourada
#1 of 1 in Cabeco da Ponta
45 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Quinta Do Serrado
Hotel Quinta Do Serrado
#5 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
209 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Praia Dourada
Hotel Praia Dourada
#9 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive

Address: Estrada Regional 120 | Sitio do Campo de Baixo, Porto Santo Island 9400-105, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Porto Santo Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Porto Santo Island
#3 Spa Hotel in Porto Santo Island
#3 Luxury Hotel in Porto Santo Island
Price Range: £148 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive 5*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Porto Santo hotel is a 5-star beach resort, on the island of Porto Santo, Madeira, and is all inclusive (breakfast, lunch, dinner, snacks and domestic beverages). Recently voted the best All Inclusive resort in Europe, it is located on Portugal's best beach, the Porto Santo beach, with 9 km of fine sand and warm water. Just 1 minute on foot from the beach, this hotel also offers 2 large swimming pools surrounded by 30,000 m² of gardens. Guests can enjoy its 6 restaurants and 5 bars, as well as a Spa area with a heated swimming pool, water jets, sauna, Turkish bath, Hamman and gym. And for the little ones, the hotel has sports fields, game rooms and the Kids Club. The rooms are decorated with blue ocean hues and each has a flat-screen TV and balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Prestigia, PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Porto Santo Beach Resort And Spa - All Inclusive
Pestana Porto Santo Beach Resort & Spa - All Inclusive Hotel Porto Santo
Pestana Hotel Porto Santo
Pestana Resort Porto Santo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing