We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Fantastic Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We stayed here in October for the third year running.
This time we were with four friends and like us thoroughly enjoyed their very relaxing stay at this superb resort hotel.
We were greeted by staff old and new with smiling faces and all more than helpful to assist you with any problems.
The management team are highly visible around the resort every day and are very approachable.
The new Madiera restaurant on the adjacent Columbus complex was very enjoyable for an evening meal where the staff were very attentive to your needs.
The cocktail bar in the Columbus is well worth a pre- dinner drink.
We all agreed that we would book another stay here.

Billpau

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Billpau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martins J, General Manager at Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Bil,

My apologise for the 2 weeks delay in the answer, i was on holidays for 2 weeks.

Back to work myself and the Team feel very happy to know that our Customers are proactive on TripAdvisor and starting booking their holidays for this year.

Soon i believe we will start advertising new services that we have for this year because every year we want to do better.

Looking forward to welcome you and Pauline soon.

"Abraço",

João Martins
Area Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,489)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,122 - 1,128 of 2,489 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2014

Visited here again in August 2013, the beach is fabulous, totally unspoilt. The staff here are all great , very friendly, helpful. The temperature is perfect not too hot but doesnt cool too much in the evenings either. If I have one resevation it is I'm unsure how the opening of the next door hotel and sharing facilities is going to impact on the seating avaialabilty on an evening in the sunset lounge as this is the only ' evening entertainments area'. We're not going back this year but will definately consider it next year once we see how the neighbouring hotel impacts on this.

Room Tip: bungalows are lovely and spacious - no rooms are 'bad ' really though
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sharon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martins J, General Manager at Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear "Sharon E",

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Pestana Porto Santo.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and we hope to have the opportunity next year to welcome you and your family again.

Regarding the bar outlets in the evenning we have the Sunset bar with the entertainment (Shows, Live music) and the Nau bar more with a lounge style (piano music, chill-out DJ).

I would like to take this opportunity to invite you to join our loyalty program Pestana Priority Guest which is available at our website

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

João Martins
Area Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed here in May 2013 with our 1 year old son and had an absolutely fantastic time. The hotel is beautiful and clearly a lot of hard work and effort is made to keep everywhere pristine. The location is out of this world with a beautiful quiet golden sandy beach, completley unspoilt stretching as far as the eye can see and picturesque mountains in the background. The food was excellent and the staff were fantastic, each and everyone of them could not do enough to help. We went into the town a few times and the local people on the island were so friendly. Overall a beautiful place to visit and a fantastic hotel. We have already booked to go back this May and I can not wait!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank UkSprint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martins J, General Manager at Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear "UKSprint",

Thank you very much for your kind comments and for posting that on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive & Spa Beach Resort.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share with the Team and for sure they will be very happy to know.

We would like to take this opportunity to invite you to join our loyalty program Pestana Priority Guest which is available at our website.

Looking forward to welcome you again next May.

At your dispoal,

João Martins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Pretty Damn Good.

The setting - long, sandy beaches with no other hotels and a horizon broken only by island rocks is difficult to find elsewhere. The hotel itself is just created on the principle of aesthetics - albeit to the detriment of practicalities such as a crowded restaurant (at least, in June).

All the staff were excellent, my best example being when a bunch of us were watching the Lions Rugby on telly and the pool bar staff brought us beers and wine.

Best memories were trying out all the different pools, and often being the only people on the massive beach.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Intruder2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martins J, General Manager at Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a fantastic review regarding your stay at Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive & Spa Beach Resort and share it with other travelers.

We were delighted to learn you had a very enjoyable time with us!

Thank you for your very kind comments regarding our location.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our Hotel.

Warm regards,

João Martins
Area Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Loved pestana and love Porto santo - so relaxing, lovely people, food is great and our son loved the kids club, island tour was a fun day out with great photo opportunities and we walked daily to the local town centre and got the free bus back. We want to go back which says it all really :)

Stayed: July 2013
Thank Elana73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martins J, General Manager at Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Dear Guest,

We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Your positive comments about us have been really appreciated and we sincerely hope that your travelling plans bring you back to Porto Santo again, so we can have the pleasure of hosting you again to offer “Memorable Moments”.

Kind regards,

João Martins
Area Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

This hotel is an absolute hidden gem. Excellent staff, good food, clean surroundings, excellent pools and a beach that rivals those in the Caribbean. I would definitely go back again. We stayed here on an all inclusive basis between 7th and 14th October.

Flights – plus taxi transfer to and from hotel

We travelled from Gatwick on B737 800. Luckily we had booked emergency exit seats, as legroom is not wonderful on these planes. Thomson simply has a trolley service on these shorter flights now, so we had lunch at Gatwick and then just a drink purchased from the trolley. The flight was good. Arrival at Porto Santo was interesting, in that it took ages to get through passport control, soooo slow. Bags were also slow arriving on the belt. I had read reviews that suggested getting a taxi transfer owing to the fact that almost 100% of the passengers were headed for Pestana Hotel and check in at hotel would be slow. We therefore had pre-booked the taxi transfer and that could not have been smoother, the driver was waiting for us beside the Thomson airport rep and we went directly out to the taxi. Hence arrived at the hotel before the coaches (multiple coaches). Check in took 5 minutes and front desk staff excellent.

Room

We were originally allocated room 801 in block 8 on the ground floor which was a long way from the restaurant / main areas. It was the smallest 5 star room I had ever seen or stayed in. Quality of fittings were fine, but no seating for 2 persons, simply 1 chair and a slim consol table and a fridge unit. So one of us would have had to sit on the bed if we both wanted to read. A small terrace with a plastic table and 2 chairs overlooked the side gardens and wall of a staff block I think. As we booked this holiday a very long time ago I had read many reviews and was aware that this hotels standard rooms can be double the size of 801, so we went back to reception and asked for a change to an upper floor room nearer the pools. We were shown 2 available rooms by a very helpful member of the reception staff and chose room 215. This was on 1st floor in block 2, was near the restaurants and pools, overlooked the car park area (no problem) and was quiet. This room change made all the difference to the enjoyment of our holiday. The room contained the usual massive bed, but this time also had 2 armchairs, dressing table, coffee table, sofa bed, small round table, triple wardrobe with ample shelves and digital safe. Beware some of the larger rooms have just a double wardrobe with minimal shelves.

We did find the bed very hard and although the pillows were massive and feather (we think) they were very soft and so I had to fold mine to get some firmness.

Big downside to the room was having no coffee / tea facilities. Luckily we had taken our travel kettle plus mugs and sachet tea / coffee, so we just purchased some milk from the single well stocked supermarket on the island. The fridge in the room was good and contained 2 still and 2 fizzy water bottle. The still water bottle can be refilled at any water station on the complex.

Beware that some of the blocks at the main road end may have some steps up and down into the blocks themselves (8 certainly did) and this, plus the walk to the main areas may be awkward for some guests with mobility problems. That said each block did have a lift to alleviate at least some step problems.

Bathroom

The bathroom was good, the usual bidet and toilet, inset sink, hairdryer, moveable shaving wall mirror plus full bath with fixed shower on end wall. What I did find awkward was that the access to the bath was by squeezing between a glass shower panel and the countertop for the sink. This gave about 18 inches width to access the bath. Not ideal. Also there was no hand attachment to the shower, so if you want to just wash you hair in the shower, it’s an overhead soaking job or nothing. Failing that scooping water from the sink, which I resorted to. A nice touch was the pull out washing line that stretched the full length of the bath for drying towels and clothes. There was always ample white towels and a good supply of shower gel and shampoo which was regularly replaced. So you could save on suitcase weight by cutting down how much of that you pack.

Grounds and Pools

What can I say, absolutely wonderful. Lazy river style pools, with multiple depths to suit paddling and swimming. Salt water and fresh water pools. Ample loungers and terraces, both quiet and busy areas. They also have double bed style loungers with thick padding. This reminded me of the Riviera Princess Hotel we stayed at in Mexico. They also have garden terraces with loungers at the road end of the resort for those who do not want to be near the pools, plus beach style areas cut into the dunes with loungers near the beach. I would make one comment and that is that we stayed here in early October and the loungers by the main pool nearest the beach did get busy at times. I think if you stayed here in late July and August the situation may be different and getting a lounger may be awkward. At the moment you can go ‘next door’ to the Columbus hotel, which helps. But once that hotel is fully open and busy, that may change.

Beach

I think the word stunning is not even doing the beach justice. From the moment you reach the end of the private raised boardwalk (room card opens the locked gate) and look to the right and left you are blown away by the enviable position of this hotel and the sheer expanse of the beach. It is the deepest and widest soft sandy beach I have ever seen in a European resort. When we went in early October there was hardly any breeze and the temperatures each day were between 24C and 25C. Perfect. My husband and I walked the beach in both directions twice. It takes about 45 minutes to walk into town (turn left at the end of the boardwalk) and about the same to walk to the tip of the island (turn right) and its café. Note that coffee and cakes are so cheap on this island. We paid either 0.80c or E1 for a coffee and not much more for cake and that is both in town and at the café at the tip of the island. You can walk into town and the tip of the island on the main road if you want a firmer surface.


Main restaurant

The food is good and plentiful and staff are very attentive. There is also a very good range of vegetables, rice and pasta so veggies are well catered for. The meat and fish selections were also good, about 4+ choices of each at both lunch and evening meal including the chef station. Ice creams are good. The deserts are not great, but that is not unusual and we have found this same trend in all the 4 and 5 star hotels we have stayed at. Breakfast is very good with ample choice for all of the usual eggs, bacon, sausages, hash browns, baked beans, cold meats and cheese, rolls and bread, yoghurts, fruits, honey, cereals. Help yourself coffee, tea and juice machines.

The one thing I would say is that I think the restaurant would be utter bedlam in high season (July / August), as it is quite small compared to other hotels we have stayed in. It became a queuing situation in early October in the evenings some nights – so best to eat early or late and avoid the more popular times.

Pool Restaurant

We ate lunch here several times. The choice is quite varied as they have about 8 hot baked items such as chips, fish cakes, fish, meats in pastry and you can order kebab and burgers. Also on offer is a very good range of salad items and desert cakes. They also have a tub ice cream freezer and a help yourself coffee/ tea machine. Comfortable and ample seating is both formal tables and chairs plus padded sofas and loungers.

Beach Bar

There is also a beach bar on the private boardwalk leading to the beach. It has a small amount of seating and seemed to be enjoyed by many as a relaxing area to have a quiet drink in the dune area.

Madeira Restaurant

We booked for 2 nights meals at the Madeira restaurant, which is actually housed in the Columbus hotel next door to the Pestana. The day after the first meal we went back to reception and cancelled the second night. I cannot fault the attentiveness of the staff, but the food was no better than the main restaurant. I chose a wheat soup because I thought it sounded different, but in fact it was like scotch broth.

Columbus hotel (next door)

This is like a stark square prison block compared to the attractive Pestana. We did have coffees and drinks at the bar there during a couple of evenings, which was quite pleasant. The external and internal pools were used by quite a few people and it was very quiet over there, but that is about it.

Spa

We did not use the spa services but we did sit by the large heated indoor pool and my husband swam in it. Very pleasant area with loungers on several levels.

Staff

The staff here are faultless, I think they are a credit to this hotel group and the island. Everyone single one of them had a smile and greeting for guests and could not do enough for you.

Entertainment

We did not seek out much of the entertainment services, although we did go into the main upstairs lounge bar on several nights after dinner for a coffee. There was a male guitarist who sang / played kind of bluesy stuff most nights who was quite good and we could have listened to him for hours. Quite frankly he did not need any additional singers beside him and therefore we always left the bar when his act changed.

Villa Baleira

This is a lovely small town and we walked in to it on several occasions. We were amazed at the low cost of coffee and cakes at the café’s. A cup of coffee was between 0.80C and E1. There are some interesting (hidden) clothes and shoe shops on the walk from the hotel to the town on the main road. Just past the water factory on the left side before you get into the town itself is a small collection of clothes and shoe shops. The prices and good and they have a croc shop which is full of different styles of crocs than those you might see in the UK. Don’t forget to visit the only supermarket on the island which is down by the beach near the main car park / taxi area.

The nearest ATM to the hotel is on the main road on the left hand side as you are walking into town and located in a small ‘mall’ area about 10 minutes walk from the hotel.

Internet and library

Internet access is free at the hotel, just get a slip with your passwords from reception and you get free access for your whole stay. Please note that the range is not good, so its best to access via your phone or tab from the areas by the upper lounge, dining room and pool bar. We found it reached block 2 so we could use it from the comfort of our room. The upper lounge area also has 2 computers for guests use and a very good library which must contain about 200 fiction books, mostly in English. These are books that former guests have left and you can just borrow them at will and return them before you leave. There are many new titles, these books are not old.

Shops

There is a small shop on site that bits and pieces (plus sweets etc)

Jeep Safari Trip / Trips

We intended to hire a car for 1-2 days but ended up simply doing a jeep safari. This was excellent. Pick up was 09:30 and we visited both ends of the island, heard about its history, had a birds eye view from both ends, went to a typical old house (of course was asked to try the drink and biscuits and invited to buy) and various other areas. Highly recommended.

Thomson Rep

I think Mario must rank as one of the best Thomson reps we have ever encountered and we have been using Thomson for about 13 years. Talk about enthusiasm and clarity. Shame he is off to Cape Verde – but their gain, Porto Santo’s loss. If Thomson started guaranteeing to use twin aisle aircraft for all flights to Cape Verde, we would go there.

Room Tip: If you are not happy with your room choice go back to reception and ask to view others more suitable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
23  Thank NJHNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martins J, General Manager at Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Your feedback is very important for us and future Guests.

It´s through guest feedback such as yours (thank you for being so complete) that we are able to confirm our strong points, as well as identify any area that may require improvement.

Therefore your participation has been extremely important and gratifying to us.

We would like to take this opportunity to invite you to join our loyalty program Pestana Priority Guest which is available at our website.

It was real pleasure having you as our Guest and to being of service, and we look forward to your next visit and to offering you more ‘Memorable Moments’.

Kind regards,

João Martins
Area Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Firstly, myself and my partner stayed at the hotel in June of this year - bit late for a review but you know how modern life is once you get back off holiday!

The hotel, location, food, staff, reps, entertainment were amazing!!

I would like to say a big thank you to Luciano, the head of the entertainment as he and his team did a fantastic job and we got talking to him and the guitarist Ruben one night and they are so friendly. It's that type of personal service that really sets this hotel away from the rest.

We also met one of the managers one night and himself and his girlfriend were extremely friendly and keen to know our thoughts of the hotel and our stay - again, how often do you go to a hotel and get talking to the manager? Very rare! The service at this hotel is AMAZING and I have not found it anywhere else I have been. Also a big thank you to Marta (sorry if the names are spelt wrong) for remember our drinks every time we went to the bar!!

Could not fault this hotel, the views, people, location are amazing!! If you want a relaxing holiday with staff that make you feel like a wanted guest and not a number like you can be seen in some of these other big hotel then this is the hotel for you.

Also if management read this can you please tell me if Luciano and the same entertainment team are there? They were amazing.

Thank you :)

Samantha

Room Tip: Get a pool view room - at night the pool area is lit up and you can see the mountains - its beautifu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Samantha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martins J, General Manager at Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Dear Customer,

Thank you for choosing Pestana Porto Santp All Inclusive & Spa Beach Resort for your holidays and also for posting your comment on TripAdvisor.

I will share in the beginning of the next season your comment with the Team, for sure they will be very happy.

Regarding Luciano we are at this moment preparing the next season and we hope he can join us again.

Looking forward to welcome you again next summer.

Kind regards,

João Martins
Area Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto Santo Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Pestana Colombos All Inclusive
Pestana Colombos All Inclusive
#1 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
743 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vila Baleira Porto Santo
Vila Baleira Porto Santo
#2 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
2,046 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Porto Santo & SPA
Hotel Porto Santo & SPA
#7 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Pestana Ilha Dourada
Pestana Ilha Dourada
#1 of 1 in Cabeco da Ponta
57 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Quinta Do Serrado
Hotel Quinta Do Serrado
#5 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
212 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Praia Dourada
Hotel Praia Dourada
#9 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive

Address: Estrada Regional 120 | Sitio do Campo de Baixo, Porto Santo Island 9400-242, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Porto Santo Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Porto Santo Island
#3 Luxury Hotel in Porto Santo Island
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Porto Santo Island
Price Range: £151 - £282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive 5*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Porto Santo hotel is a 5-star beach resort, on the island of Porto Santo, Madeira, and is all inclusive (breakfast, lunch, dinner, snacks and domestic beverages). Recently voted the best All Inclusive resort in Europe, it is located on Portugal's best beach, the Porto Santo beach, with 9 km of fine sand and warm water. Just 1 minute on foot from the beach, this hotel also offers 2 large swimming pools surrounded by 30,000 m² of gardens. Guests can enjoy its 6 restaurants and 5 bars, as well as a Spa area with a heated swimming pool, water jets, sauna, Turkish bath, Hamman and gym. And for the little ones, the hotel has sports fields, game rooms and the Kids Club. The rooms are decorated with blue ocean hues and each has a flat-screen TV and balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., Prestigia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Porto Santo Beach Resort And Spa - All Inclusive
Pestana Porto Santo Beach Resort & Spa - All Inclusive Hotel Porto Santo
Pestana Hotel Porto Santo
Pestana Resort Porto Santo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing