We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden (not for long) gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive
Certificate of Excellence
penwortham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hidden (not for long) gem!”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

From arriving at the Pestana Porto Santo it was clear that it was going to be a great holiday. A massive well done to the hotel management for the quality of staff,which from the offset was just fantastic; friendly,warm and always professional!

The complex itself is great with good balance of gardens, pool and beach and never felt overcrowded. Poolside entertainment was discreet without disturbing those (including us) who just wanted to relax.

Restaurants were great, the organisation and professionalism an absolute credit to the restaurant and bar manager. Always great food in the main restaurant and the a la carte's were a lovely change - Mediterranean by far our favourite!

Bars and bar staff were always friendly with a great range of drinks.

Entertainment was generally good but at times a bit repetitive, the bar staff cocktail show was great though and the Columbos show excellent!

A great hotel, fantastic food and excellent staff - loved how staff just joined in on club dances! All in all, everything made for a wonderful holiday. Look forward to returning!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Stuart F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martins J, General Manager at Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear "Stuart F",

Thank you for taking the time to post such a fantastic review regarding your recent stay at Pestana Porto Santo and share it with other travelers.
We were delighted to learn you had a very enjoyable time with us!
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our Hotel.
Warm regards,

João Martins
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,475
    560
    161
    31
    20
See reviews for
846
1,046
28
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (657)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We have been staying at Pestana, on the beautiful island of Porto Santo, over the past 4 years.
During this time, there have been many changes, especially since the opening of the new adjoining COLOMBOS hotel.
In our opinion these outstanding hotels, (both latterly under the management of Mr. Joao Martins), are at their best, and compliment each other superbly.

On arrival, you are given a very warm and colourful welcome at reception who are most helpful.
The food is excellent and cooked from 'the heart'.
We particularly enjoyed the new themed restaurants.
Lovely bedrooms are spotlessly clean, and the outdoor pools and gardens beautifully maintained.
Evening entertainment supplied by 'Chapito' and Luciano, was most enjoyable. The acts were so varied, and included a circus act and fire show.
The Sunset bar staff are very obliging and jolly.
Management and all members of staff are amazing, sorry if I have forgotten to mention anyone.
As always,we look forward to our next visit.
Rita & Edward

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Rita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martins J, General Manager at Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Hello,

All the Team feel very Happy to welcome you to your second home - Pestana Porto Santo.
We feel very proud to have regular Guests growing each year.
We are already waiting for your next visit in the end of September.
Warm regards,

João & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Great welcome on arrival. Great entertainment every night. Stayed here on an all-inclusive break, was upgraded on day 1. All the staff were friendly, helpful and we ate in 2 of the a la carte restaurants and enjoyed both meals. Kids were well looked after in Kids Club. 5 stars easily!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Da1rymple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martins J, General Manager at Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive & Spa Beach Resort.
It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
We would like to take this opportunity to invite you to join our loyalty program Pestana Priority Guest which is available at our website.
Looking forward to welcome you in Porto Santo in a near future,

João Martins
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We arrived after our 15 minute transfer from the airport and were greeted by smiling and friendly staff. We were quickly checked in and our bags were taken to our room for us. The food offered every day was excellent - breakfast, lunch and dinner. The staff is the restaurant were very effiecient and took good care of us. The three evening we had in the themed restaurant were also superb - Med was the stand out for use but Koi was also excellent. The kebab in the Madeira restaurant was great. Our room was really nice and super clean.

The pools were a little cold and the spa pool wasn't at the temperature we'd expect from a spa. However, we did have access to the spa pool in the sister hotel next door which was like a bath!! The entertainment in the evenings was really good and a particular mention should go to the Animation team who were amazing. Another mention should go to the bar staff who put on a great cocktail making show. The drinks were all impressive, the free wine is passable - especially the sparkling variety - and the local beer (Coral) was as good as any lager I've tasted.

The Thomson reps on site were very helpful and knowledgable - can't be faulted.

The island itself is lovely and although small the main town has some great shops and the restaurants in the square produce some lovely seafood (my wife loved the limpets). The main attraction of Porto Santo has to be the beech. It is 9km long, sandy and spectacular!! It must rate as one of the best beaches in Europe. Because there are so few hotels on the beach it was alway practically empty. The walk to town (40 mins) was a joy along the beach.

Porto Santo and this hotel remain an undiscovered gem - get over there before it becomes over developed!!

Room Tip: Go for suite 1412. It's poolside and next to the pool bar, but it isn't noisey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martins J, General Manager at Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear "Christopher H",

Thank you for taking the time to post such a fantastic review regarding your recent stay at Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive & Spa Beach Resort and share it with other travelers.

We were delighted to learn you had a very enjoyable time with us!

Thank you for your very kind comments regarding the destination.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our Hotel.

Warm regards,

João Martins
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The hotel was amazing.
Food, entertainment, staff all fantastic.
I stayed in a suite over looking the pool which was a beautiful room.
I have since told friends to go to this hotel and they have not said a bad word.
You can walk along the beach into a little town centre.
Would go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martins J, General Manager at Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear "Sarah K",

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive & Spa Beach Resort.

We are delighted to hear you had a great time with us and enjoyed our services and facilities.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

João Martins
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

POSITIVES:
This is a fantastic hotel and the staff are brilliant. It is also the cleanest hotel we have ever been to. All the extra little touches to make your stay more comfortable are provided. Staff are friendly, professional and helpful. They will cater for your special requirement as much as they can. In particular the Brazilian omelette lady and the friendly guy who did balloon shapes for the children. The hotel grounds are beautiful with lots of trees and colourful flowers. Rooms are good size and with nice decor. It is a quiet resort with relaxed atmosphere. Unlike many resorts, the music is not loudly playing by the swimming pools; it's just peaceful and quiet. We loved it.

NEGATIVES:
Swimming pools - outside swimming pools are so cold to the point that they are unusable. At anytime of the day, you will not see anybody using them. Even children come out of the pools as they are shivering! We have never seen such empty pools in any of the hotels we have stayed in the past. In fact the atlantic sea is warmer than the pool but as it's quite choppy it's not suitable for swimming. Most people had a quick paddle in the sea but that's all. Porto Santo weather changes several times during the day which means that the hotel's large swimming pools do not have the opportunity to get warm. We found it disappointing that we were unable to use the pools during our stay and believe that if they were heated it would have been a better holiday experience, especially on cloudy and rainy days.

Drinks machines - these are complete disaster and have no place in a 5* hotel. All juices and hot drinks are from self-serving machines. These drink machines are finding it hard to cope with the volume of requests and within one hour of the restaurants being open they produce a watery horrible drink that resembles nothing that it is meant to be.

Animals - several animals such as birds, chickens and rabbits are kept next to to the children's area. Although this is a nice idea for the children, it has not been executed well. Guests ended up reporting to the management that the animals cages were not being cleaned, food and water not supplied regularly, cages being too small for the number of animals and these have been positioned to face the sun as well as the inappropriate feeding tools being used. During our stay, complaints have been made to improve the conditions of the animals and we hope this is taken seriously as it is a very sad situation and upsetting for the guests.

In general Pestana have got most things right to make it a good holiday experience for the guests but for us personally we would only consider going back if the swimming pools were heated. There is no fun going to indoor swimming pools on your holiday which smell and look like your local leisure centre!

Room Tip: Blocks 2 - 4 faces the swimming pools and have nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sherbertsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martins J, General Manager at Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for spending the time telling us about your experience at Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive & Spa Beach Resort, we are sorry that some of our facilities didn't meet your expectations.

To reach a great guest experience is a must for us, and we work very hard for it, we believe that having the chance to know what you have experienced and your opinion is the best tool we can have to improve and like this reach our promises.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at Pestana Porto Santo so that we may show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known.

Sincerely,

João Martins
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Service

From the moment you arrive it is clear you are not staying at a run of the mill 5* hotel. There is party theme on arrival that makes you feel very special and valued, all before you have even said hello. Check In was very efficient and all members of the team were professional but soft in their approach. All staff around the resort are well versed in customer service and cannot do enough for you. Particular praise must be lent to the entertainment team who work incredibly hard and provide you with a spectacular finale to your holiday (do not miss the Columbus show!)

One gripe we did have is luggage transfer service. We arrived very close to the Manchester flights arrival and due to the sheer amount of guests arriving at once we waited two hours for our cases to be transferred to our room which was far from ideal with a young child.

Value

Excellent really, you pay a higher price than many 5* hotels but receive far more in return. One word of caution, take your own iron - At 5 Euros per hour if you are taking kids with you it could be very expensive!!

Sleep Quality

The beds are massive and comfortable and the rooms are fitted with very effective air conditioning systems. If you are presented with the room that face the main road do not panic. The road that runs along the front of the complex is not a busy one!

One word of caution. If you want to lie in please be sure to put a DND sign on your door, the cleaning staff are up and around very early and will wake you if you do not.

Cleanliness

Exceptional - Every member of the team is efficient and house proud.

Location

Beautiful, wonderful, exceptional, stunning............enough superlatives?

Rooms

A good size, well equipped and perfectly serviceable. The bed is a real winner in our book!

Food

Very good in quality and there is a decent amount of variety.

Summary

If you want a total relaxation type holiday, with stunning views, beautiful surroundings and with staff that go the extra mile then this is definitely one for you.There are so many things I could write about it but suggest you go visit yourself and see if you feel that my feedback is accurate. My wife and I say we never return to a hotel for fear of tainting our original opinion - Things are about to change.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank PedroBoy79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martins J, General Manager at Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting the Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive & Spa Beach Resort, and for taking the time to post a detailed review on TripAdvisor, which was highly appreciated.

We were all very happy to learn that the hotels services and facilities met your expectations and that you enjoyed the hotel’s atmosphere and staff courtesy the most.

Your kind comments were shared with all the staff members, who were extremely happy to know of your satisfaction. It´s through guest feedback such as yours, that we are able to confirm our strong points, as well as identify any area that may require improvement. Therefore your participation has been extremely important and gratifying to us.

It was real pleasure having you as our Guest and to being of service, and we look forward to your next visit and to offering you more ‘Memorable Moments’.

Our kindest regards,

João Martins
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto Santo Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Pestana Colombos Premium Club
Pestana Colombos Premium Club
#1 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
0.6 mi away
Vila Baleira Porto Santo
Vila Baleira Porto Santo
#3 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,761 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pestana Ilha Dourada - Hotel & Villas
Pestana Ilha Dourada - Hotel & V...
#1 of 1 in Cabeco da Ponta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hotel Quinta Do Serrado
Hotel Quinta Do Serrado
#4 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Porto Santo & SPA
Hotel Porto Santo & SPA
#8 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aparthotel Luamar
Aparthotel Luamar
#7 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive

Property: Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive
Address: Estrada Regional 120 | Sitio do Campo de Baixo, Porto Santo Island 9400-105, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Porto Santo Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Porto Santo Island
#2 Luxury Hotel in Porto Santo Island
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Porto Santo Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive 5*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Porto Santo Beach Resort & Spa is located on the fantastic Porto Santo beach , a sandy beach 9 km long, and it is surrounded by a tropical garden of 30,000 m2 and two enormous outdoor pools of a natural style, making it one of the best hotels in Porto Santo. This hotel in Porto Santo operates under an "All Inclusive" regime, making it the ideal location for anyone wishing to spend holidays in Porto Santo without any concerns at all. So, if holidays to you mean time with friends and family, enjoying the sun, the sea and the therapeutic sands of Porto Santo, taking a dive into the pool, exercising in the gymnasium, playing a game of tennis on the multi-purpose court, or simply relaxing in the spa, then the Pestana Porto Santo is the hotel for you. The rooms of the Pestana Porto Santo are decorated in tones of blue and ocean green and include a private balcony. Although it is a hotel with "All Inclusive", it has 3 restaurants that offer a selection of Italian and Madeira cuisine and three enchanting bars, which includes the "Sunset Bar", which has fantastic views over the sea. The concept of this resort in Porto Santo underscores the philosophy of preserving the environment, taking into account the needs of sustainability of the surroundings where it is located. Various solar panels have been installed and the hotel has its own desalinisation plant, which has earned the hotel "The Green Key" certificate for its environmental management. The beach of Ribeiro Salgado, which is a concession of Pestana Porto Santo Beach Resort & Spa, was presented with the Blue Flag by the FEE - Foundation for Environment Education, due to the quality of the water, the information and environmental education, the environmental management, and the safety, services and support infrastructures. The main village, Vila Baleira, is a mere 5 minutes by car from this 5 star hotel, as is the 18-hole golf course, which offers you the unique opportunity of playing on a course designed by the Spanish champion Severiano Ballesteros; all this, with the sea as your horizon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Priceline, TravelUp, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Porto Santo Beach Resort & Spa - All Inclusive Hotel Porto Santo
Pestana Porto Santo Beach Resort And Spa - All Inclusive
Pestana Hotel Porto Santo
Pestana Resort Porto Santo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing