We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Family Holiday!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Just returned yesterday from an amazing two week holiday at this hotel. Arrived at the hotel about 10pm with a lovely reception and check in was swift and the hotel had ensured the restaurant stayed open so all the travellers could have an evening meal while our cases were taken to our rooms. We had emailed previous to travelling as my husband turned 40 during our stay and were upgraded to a suite which was fantastic but saying that the other rooms were lovely too.
Without detailing our holiday day by day we couldn't ask for more. All hotel areas were very clean and well maintained and the staff were lovely and friendly without it being false. The pools were fantastic and we tried all of them , those at our hotel and the ones at the sister hotel the Columbus. It was great having the options, made a nice change.
The food in the buffet restaurants was lovely and there was great variety every night. The show cooking also provided something a bit extra! We tried 3 of the four themed restaurants which were great too. My husband particularly loving the steak on a stone at the Japanese and the kebabs at the Madeiran and my little boy loving the pasta and pizza at the Italian. It was really nice to eat and be served at the themed restaurants, something not always offered free at other all inclusives but all the themed restaurants were included in the price.
We also ate a few meals over at the Columbus just because we could.
There are different facilities at each hotel and its great being able to use both and they are in such close proximity. The snack bar at the Porto Santo has a grill where you can get burgers, hot dogs, speciality meats of the day, steak sandwiches and other foods too. There was always a wonderful fresh salad bar. At the columbus they have an ice cream bar and you could go over for fresh waffles and/or ice cream during the day.
The day time entertainment was mainly based around one pool which was nice for those who wanted to stay away from the music and activities and if you wanted to join in you could but there was no pressurising. We participated in hydro fit, water basketball, beach volleyball etc.
The beach is beautiful and although the beach beds are not included, as they are not allowed to own the beach, the hotel does provide free parasols and windbreaks which is great so you can just take towels down and still have shade etc. Saying that though I think that ten euros for two beds and a proper shade for five hours is really reasonable based on some others we have stayed at. There is a beach bar also as part of the all inclusive.
One of the other noticeable things about the hotel is that the staff work really hard not only to service you but also to make sure that the hotel is something they are proud of. You regularly see the management walking around the hotel regularly checking everything and conversing with all the guests.
The island of Porto Santo itself is small and friendly and is not a resort you want to come to if you want to be out clubbing every night. We did take the open top courtesy bus into the town ( runs 4 times a day) and had a good look round, bought some souvenirs etc.
We honestly could not fault this hotel and had a truly wonderful holiday and would return. We would like to thank all the staff at the Pestano Porto Santo for a memorable holiday and thank you Andreea , the lovely guest services manager, for organising the things that made my husband birthday!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Kerry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martins J, General Manager at Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Dear "Kerry D",
Thank you very much for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Pestana Porto Santo.
We are delighted to hear you had a great time with us and enjoyed our facilities and services.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon during your next visit.
Sincerely,

João Martins
Area Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,516)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

998 - 1,004 of 2,516 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

My wife & i have just returned from holiday to the Pestana & have had a wonderful stay there. the location is a great place for beach lovers and the hotel itself a equally great place. We emailed ahead to say it was one of our party,s birthday and was upgraded from a room to a suite free of charge, The suite we had was at the quiet end of the grounds, which are beautifully managed, and it suited us fine (50 somethings we prefer quiet) The staff are very hard working and helpful, food is of great quality pools are a little cold but refreshing, dunas bar by the pool side can get a little noisy but that suits some people so no criticism there.Don,t be worried by cloudy mornings as the afternoons more than make up for it with very hot sunny periods. The beach is of caribbean quality, only problem is getting beds, not sure what can be done to improve matters but does cause problems and arguments !! All in all a wonderful hotel and can,t speak highly enough of the staff, Really do everything to make your stay an enjoyable and memorable one.PS Take advantage of thr adjoining Columbus hotel, a little quieter at evenings if thats what you like and great cocktails !!!!

Room Tip: Our room was 1522 which is ideal if you want to be away from the main areas of pools, bars and you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank noggin160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martins J, General Manager at Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a fantastic review regarding your recent stay at Pestana Porto Santo and share it with other travelers.
We were delighted to learn you had a very enjoyable time with us!
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our Hotel.
Kind regards,

João Martins
Area Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Pestana Porto Santo during the last week of July 2014. I didn’t really know what to expect and I must say how small the airport was scared me just a bit. That’s alright though, I guess, for it’s a very small island off the coast of Madeira with a huge stretch of fine sand and a very calm sea. Ideal for families and for anybody else who needs a rest away from it all, no matter where you choose to stay. But let’s focus on the Pestana… The resort is composed of two parts, the newer Pestana Porto Santo, where we stayed, and the Pestana Columbus (there’s a house on the island where Cristopher Columbus once lived). If you’re staying in any of them, you’re free to use the other’s facilities. So, the resort consists of impeccable rooms in villa like buildings, with a nice balcony, all very modern and very clean. It’s the same for the entire resort. The main restaurant changes menus often enough and you know for sure you’re most probably not going to get sick (just as you’re not always sure in other resorts). Then, there are four theme restaurants and surprise, surprise, they’re very good: the food is great and so is the service (I only tried the Madeiran restaurant and the Mediterranean restaurant – there’s also a Japanese restaurant and a pizzeria) and, contrarily to what happens in most resorts in, say, the Dominican Republic, they’ll offer you an entire bottle of wine, not just a measly glass. But they have really nice cocktails there, I heard you say? Sure, but the cocktails here are good enough too – if you ask for a Piña Colada, maybe it’s not the best you’ve ever tried, but it definitely is a Piña Colada. Or the traditional Poncha, do try it in the upstairs bar in the evening. And the espressos, Jesus, at last I spent some time in a resort where they have true espressos! The resorts have several swimming pools and the one at the Pestana Porto Santo is the very best, nice and big, even though you can’t get drunk in a middle-of-the-pool bar if that’s your thing. The beach is amazing and protected (you get in and out with your card), with its very fine sand and its calm sea, ideal for long walks along the shoreline. One warning though: to avoid the usual chaos, you’ll have to pay a reservation if you want to enjoy the seats under the shades during your stay. There are three lifeguards on duty, but you’ll have to wonder what for when the sea is so very calm. It’s not tropical hot though (or maybe I was a bit out of luck): the sky was cloudy most of the time and the sea temperature could have been better – but people from northern Europe seemed to enjoy it thoroughly, so I suppose that’s subjective. There’s also some nice animation, of course, but I could have lived without it. To sum it up, it’s modern, clean, the service is very good (plus, I noticed the personnel spoke several languages), hence in the league it belongs to, it’s actually a five star resort, not a three or four star disguised as five as usually happens. It’s also very calm and all you have to do is get back from your holiday and notice how confusing things are after a week in whichever airport you land on. Don’t forget to visit the village (just get out of the hotel and take a walk to the right, always straight ahead) or the other side of the island (same thing to the left) – there’s a restaurant there where the chef kindly prepared a typical açorda de peixe for us even though it wasn’t on the menu. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank Jorge S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martins J, General Manager at Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Dear Customer,
We appreciate very much your very detailed comments regarding your stay at Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive & Spa Beach Resort.
It is always a pleasure to receive positive and constructive feedback and we hope to have the opportunity in the near future to welcome you again.
I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks.
Pestana Porto Santo continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.
Sincerely,

João Martins
Area Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We enjoyed our holiday so much in 2013 that we just had to come back again. There is so much to be positive about this place - with only a few minor negatives. The hotel and facilities are clean and superbly maintained, and the staff are friendly and helpful at all times. It was busier this year than last, but never overcrowded. The beach is fantastic when you can drag yourself away from the hotel pools and bar. The Animations team provide a feel god factor for all ages with the daily 'Flash Dance' and bond well with kids, teenagers and adults alike with a variety of activities. Most of them have been circus trained at the Chapito Cirkus in Lisbon and are talented gymnasts, acrobats and dancers - providing most of the evening entertainment as well. Given that Porto Santo is an island with a population of 5,000 and 1,000+ miles from the mainland, the Animations team provide a good standard of entertainment, but singing is not their forte! Never mind, the bar staff provide their own entertainment. Meals in the main buffet restaurant can be crowded and the food a bit bland. However the restaurant in the adjoining Columbus hotel is better, less crowded, quieter and has a wider selection of food. There are 4 'premium' restaurants on site that need to be booked in advance using a voucher system. Beware though that they may try to restrict you to one booking per week at each of them to ensure equal access for everyone, although you can override this with a bit of persistence.

What are the negatives then? It just isn't quite 5 star - food and entertainment don't justify such a high ranking. You need to pay for sun beds on the beach - ouch! And you need to pay for a late check out from your room, which is worthwhile for a final shower and freshen up before the late flights home.

Portuguese passport control at the airport is hideously slow both arriving and departing but that doesn't detract from the hotel. When you have endured a slow passage through passport control the welcome at the hotel is refreshing and quite speedy; we certainly didn't experience any delays that a recent review commented on.

Overall, its a fantastic holiday hotel. No complaints!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Lambo51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martins J, General Manager at Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive & Spa Beach Resort.
It is always a pleasure to receive positive and constructive feedback.
I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks and will take notes for improvements.
Pestana Porto Santo continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.
Sincerely,

João Martins
Area Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This is your typical all included resort hotel, where the food and the bar service are the worst things you'll find. The customer attention and room quality are above average like the Pestana Group offers you everywhere, but all else is nothing but plain. The food is buffet like, tasteless, the wines are nothing but low end and not recommended to anyone who likes portuguese wines. There's the theme restaurants if you want to escape from the buffet meals, but the quality does not justify the extra price you'll have to pay to access those theme restaurants. Besides that, everything is in it's right place, all the little details are there to make your stay as confortable as possible. Beach umbrellas everywhere, direct access to the beach or you can stay by the pool that is big enough for everyone. Everything you'll need, except that food quality that makes you want to stay there just one more day...

Room Tip: avoid the pool side, it's noisy in the evening. the villas near the bar and restarants are the 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Luís L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martins J, General Manager at Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Dear Mr "Luis L",

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Pestana Porto Santo.
I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.
I would like to clarify the following:
1. Our regular wines are Portuguese (served by bottle) and produced by a famous Portuguese wine maker. We have Premium brands for Customers that would like to spend some extra money in wine, we were more than happy to provide you the wine list. Of course we could serve reserve wines and different brands but to do that our final package price was going to be different.
2. If Customers are staying with us less than 3 nights theme restaurants are not included, the supplement is 20,00 euros per person with the drinks included. Sincerely, i don't think is expensive.
At Pestana Group we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations; therefore your feedback is very important to us, please note that we have different products with different brands and prices (value for money). We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you in the future.
Sincerely,

João Martins
Area Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The hotel and all facilities were spotlessly clean. Food was excellent. Staff generally were nice however there were a few surly and unfriendly ones. We were concerned with regard to the patio doors which can easily be pushed open whilst locked.No drinks in bar can be brought after midnight. My main upset was after paying £6.000 for the hotel without being informed they charged us 15 euros a day for sitting on the pestana sunbeds on our beach !!! Also i booked the hotel hairdresser a week in advance for my birthday and they cancelled the day before!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank linefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martins J, General Manager at Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for your stay at Pestana Porto Santo and also for posting your comment on TripAdvisor.
Usually our staff is one of the most positive and mentioned things from the Customers, my apologies if someone were not with you.
I would like to inform that the beach in Portugal is public and owned by the government and not the hotels for that reason the access to the concession area is not included and is restricted with a price. Please note that usually this information is on the travel agent brochure.
My apologies for the cancellation of hairdresser.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.
Sincerely,

João Martins
Area Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We received a very warm welcome on arrival -check-in was smooth and the hotel was open an extra 40 minutes for the late arriving guests. The room was perfect-two double bedrooms and living area was just right for us as a family.
The food was a bit bland but the snack bar was exceptional as hot fresh food available all day in a BBQ style.
We didn't hang around for the evening entertainment but it just wasn't our thing.
I would recommend the Jeep tour, there is more to this little Island than you think.
The Pool was too shallow and would benefit by having a deep end and have to say even in that warm weather the water was too cold so maybe some heating should be installed.
The hotel is low rise but it's partner hotel next door ruins the atmosphere as it looks more like a hospital block.
The best part of this hotel is the beach- absolutely wonderful sandy beach.
They have additional restaurants to choose from which have to be booked but none were available for our chosen dates and the Italian Resturant was very poor.

All in all we had an enjoyable stay and had a relaxing time.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martins J, General Manager at Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your constructive comments regarding your stay at Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive & Spa Beach Resort.
We would like to take this opportunity to invite you to join our loyalty program Pestana Priority Guest which is available at our website.
Looking forward to welcome you in Porto Santo in a near future.
Sincerely,

João Martins
Area Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto Santo Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Pestana Colombos All Inclusive
Pestana Colombos All Inclusive
#1 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
753 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vila Baleira Porto Santo
Vila Baleira Porto Santo
#2 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
2,089 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Porto Santo & SPA
Hotel Porto Santo & SPA
#7 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Pestana Ilha Dourada
Pestana Ilha Dourada
#1 of 1 in Cabeco da Ponta
59 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Quinta Do Serrado
Hotel Quinta Do Serrado
#5 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
212 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Praia Dourada
Hotel Praia Dourada
#9 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive

Address: Estrada Regional 120 | Sitio do Campo de Baixo, Porto Santo Island 9400-242, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Porto Santo Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Porto Santo Island
#3 Luxury Hotel in Porto Santo Island
#3 Spa Hotel in Porto Santo Island
Price Range: £149 - £273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive 5*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Porto Santo hotel is a 5-star beach resort, on the island of Porto Santo, Madeira, and is all inclusive (breakfast, lunch, dinner, snacks and domestic beverages). Recently voted the best All Inclusive resort in Europe, it is located on Portugal's best beach, the Porto Santo beach, with 9 km of fine sand and warm water. Just 1 minute on foot from the beach, this hotel also offers 2 large swimming pools surrounded by 30,000 m² of gardens. Guests can enjoy its 6 restaurants and 5 bars, as well as a Spa area with a heated swimming pool, water jets, sauna, Turkish bath, Hamman and gym. And for the little ones, the hotel has sports fields, game rooms and the Kids Club. The rooms are decorated with blue ocean hues and each has a flat-screen TV and balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., Expedia, Prestigia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Pestana Porto Santo All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Porto Santo Beach Resort And Spa - All Inclusive
Pestana Porto Santo Beach Resort & Spa - All Inclusive Hotel Porto Santo
Pestana Hotel Porto Santo
Pestana Resort Porto Santo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing