We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful island, wonderful people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pestana Colombos All Inclusive
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Arrived quite late to the hotel, to find food waiting for us, then we were given our beautiful rooms, Unfortunately it appears Thompson guests are housed in the rooms overlooking the building site, but not a problem 90 euros gave us a room with a sea view. The hotel and grounds are kept beautifully, the staff are excellent and Hugo the bar man makes THE best vodka martinins. Not much to complain about really except one lunch time some pork and pasta salad served to us was off, and the pianist in the wine bar was awful. Other than that we had a wonderful stay, and if we ever return to Porto Santo I would stay at the Pestana Columbus again.

Room Tip: If you are travelling with Thompson you will get a room with a building site view, we stayed in room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pabloGtrManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martins J, General Manager at Pestana Colombos All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Customer,

Thank you for posting your review on tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at Pestana Colombos.

I have addressed your comments to the managers of those areas to garantee improvements in the near future.

We are glad to know that your experience at Pestana Colombos was good and we look forward to welcoming you back to Pestana Hotels & Resorts.

Kind regards.

João Martins
Pestana Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (753)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

526 - 532 of 753 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

For our first holiday as a family, myself and my partner decided to go to Pestana Colombos in Porto Santo.

I must say that was a great holiday and I would recommend to everyone, specially with children.
We've stayed on the Pestana Colombos, also connected to the Pestana Porto Santo (means that we had access to everything both hotel have to offer, and it was a lot)

The entire hotel is great, bar, pools, buffets and a la carte restaurants. The room was amazing, very big bed... lovely balcony... Always clean and with dry towels.
Because we went with a 1 year old, bath time and dinner time was slightly earlier, on bed time, we would have dry swimming pool towels and the room tidy again.

We much preferred the Pestana Colombos side as it was more for adults and a bit more quiet (and with the option if you want to be entertain, you can go to the Pestana Porto Santo).

I can't write this review without mention the amazing staff... Highlights to Hugo from the bar, Joao, Carlos and Nuno from the buffet, Andrea from the client desk, Leticia, Fatima and Luciano from the entertainment team and many more that I can't remember the name.. Everyone were AMAZING. Thank you so much!!!

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. Everyone very professional and always big smile.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TeresaChao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martins J, General Manager at Pestana Colombos All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Mrs "TeresaChao",

All the Team of Pestana Colombos feel happy to know that you enjoy your stay and you will recommend our resort.

It was real pleasure having you as our Guest and to being of service, and we look forward to your next visit and to offering you more ‘Memorable Moments’.

Looking forward to welcome you in a near future,

João Martins
Pestana Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My self and Wife decided to book our Honeymoon at the Pestana Colombos in Porto Santo. We was on the first flight out there on 5th may 2014. We had to write a review! We arrived around 10pm and were greeted with refreshments whilst our luggage was taken to our room. Food was still available so we headed to the buffet restaurant in pestana PS as this was open at that time. Once we arrived back to our room there was a welcome card for our honeymoon with fruit and champagne! Great Touch. Large free standing bath and huge bed. Lovely room. Facility of both Colombos and Pestana Porto Santo can be used!

Food - i would point out that in our opinion pestana colombos was better food!
2 Buffet Restaurants
2 Snack bars
Madeira (Our favourite - Recommend)
Japanese
Italian
Mediterranean

Porto Santo island
We hired an electric 2 seater buggy from the reception and this is a great way to explore the island. Hardly any traffic and zero traffic lights. Its wonderful to pull up at sights and take photographs.
Jeep Safari was also a great thing to do. would recommend that also (lasts 4 hours)
Vila Baleira was 45 min walk via beach/road or courtesy bus from the hotel.
The beach is spectacular, you gotta be there to see it.

Weather.
We stayed a week and the weather was very varied. Overcast, Drizzle, Sun. This never put a downer on our honeymoon but for sun worshippers it may be a problem. I may point out that the island is quite breezy but it was never cold both day and night. around 21c - 25c in the day and around 16c - 18c at night. When the sun is out its very pleasant with a breeze and don't be fooled by cloud you will still get burnt.

The only criticism we could find is the entertainment. Mainly over at the pestana porto santo. Its a little cheesey and not varied enough. Same artists singing the same songs every time. Apparently there was an ABBA Tribute on also, I mean come on lets do something different! Being in the entertainment business i did find it a bit cringe worthy at times. But i must point out that 100% effort is put in by all the entertainment staff and they are very friendly! I would suggest a professional sound engineer to help out also.

We much preferred it at the Colombus as it was more for adults. Much quieter and the cocktail bar was a nice chilled place. A huge thank you to Hugo behind the bar. Again 100% effort all day everyday. The drinks were much better at Here.

We took the chance to have a massage at the spa and again this was brilliant to add to our chilled out week away!

Overall i would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. Just hope the island doesn't get to much commercialised. The people of the hotel and island are very welcoming and friendly people. The Manager at the hotels was always making sure everything was running smoothly. very professional and always a smile!

Cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank oasist1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martins J, General Manager at Pestana Colombos All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear "Oasist1",

Congratulations once again and thank you for celebrating your special occasion with us.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay and we thank you for all your constructive feedback.

We hope to welcome you back soon, maybe for the wedding anniversary !

Warm regards,

João Martins
Pestana Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Got back from Porto Santo last night and had a really relaxing time. Although we stayed at Colombus we used both of the hotels' facilities.

The reason we booked the Colombus was the ultra-modern rooms and these were not a let-down at all. Massive double bed, well stocked fridge and a great bath to relax in after a busy day lying in the sun.

The food at both hotels were also very good. The 4 al a carte restaurants are all very good quality. Our favourites were the Med (adults only) and the Koi (Japanese), both very high standard and the food was lovely. Snack bars at the resorts are very good and great for a quick bite to eat during the afternoon but if you prefer a nicer lunch then both restaurants have a buffet with a full range of food.

There are a number of bars situated around both the resorts and all the drinks we tried (alcoholic and non-alcoholic) were great. Especially the indoor bar at Colombus which was great for a drink after the pool and before/after dinner.

As it was the start of the season both hotels were very quiet and did not have to fight for a sun bed at all, although when it is busier I can’t imagine there being any problem finding some space. We got the impression that the Colombus is a more relaxing hotel with the Porto Santo one being the place for more atmosphere and activities etc (we stayed at the Porto Santo pool most days).

All the staff we spoke to were very friendly and helpful and the entertainment was good quality and always fun to watch.

As we were staying at the start of May the weather wasn’t amazing (obviously nothing to do with the hotel), but when the sun came out it was lovely and the beach was great to walk on and takes about 45 minutes each way to get into the village.

Overall, a great resort and would easily go back!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Ifordy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martins J, General Manager at Pestana Colombos All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Your positive comments about us have been really appreciated and we sincerely hope that your travelling plans bring you back to Porto Santo again, so we can have the pleasure of hosting you again to offer “Memorable Moments”.

Kind regards,

João Martins
Pestana Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The hotel have an innovative architecture, an indoor pool, and a clean pool. The suites are huge, modern and sophisticated and very well equipped.
Beach with stunning views and amazing sand, the hotel is a excelent choise in the middle of the Porto Santo Beach.
The food is very good in the buffet service and at the thematic restaurants (specially in the madeirense).
The staff is very nice and helpful.
The hotel is very good to have a realy calm vacations.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NERIVO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martins J, General Manager at Pestana Colombos All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and great photos, too)!
We are delighted that you enjoyed our hotel and our customer service.
We hope to welcome you back soon!
Warm regards,

João Martins
Pestana Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

This year we booked for the Pestana Porto Santo again, but as we were curious to see the new hotel we were invited to change our accomodation to Pestana Colombos.I haver enjoyed every minute of our stay.Free mini bar with soft drinks, beer and water, free replacement...spacious rooms with large terace, toilet separated shower with a bench so you can relax during showering...The bathtub....oh so beautiful.Very good service.. good food...We loved it!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank carsmith87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martins J, General Manager at Pestana Colombos All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

Dear Customer,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Pestana Colombos.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

We would like to take this opportunity to invite you to join our loyalty program Pestana Priority Guest which is available at our website.

Looking forward to welcome you in Porto Santo in a near future,

João Martins
Area Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Stayed at the Pestana Hotel end of August 2013, booked a two bedroom suite directly with Hotel, £99 Flights with Thompson,perfect hotel to relax. You have the choice of using both hotels resources and it adds to the experience. The hotel next door is a family hotel. The Colombos has the potential to be a Casino resort and is yet to be completed, but it is great as just a hotel.

Hotel is a nice design, Bang and Olufsen Tv and good quality fixtures and fittings, English Channels on the TV, couple of film Channels and Sport. Staff are fantastic from the reception to the pool bar. Entertainment is also very good for kids and adults.

The suite was exceptional standard, with usual refinements of a 5 start hotel. At 7pm there was plenty of room for dinner, good service and the alcohol flows.

My only complaint was the food was a little repetitive, the ala carte options were not dissimilar to the buffet options,if staying two weeks. Last 3 nights went into the center for some dinner.

More people should be encourage into the center, very nice small quite town center, lovely people and nice food, cheap to eat out and drink.

The beach outside of both hotels is fantastic great walk either way.

Room Tip: Spend the extra and book a suite if you have kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MrDyslexia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martins J, General Manager at Pestana Colombos All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Dear Guest,

We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Your positive comments about us have been really appreciated and we sincerely hope that your travelling plans bring you back to Porto Santo again, so we can have the pleasure of hosting you again to offer “Memorable Moments”.

Kind regards,

João Martins
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto Santo Island hotels
0.5 mi away
Vila Baleira Porto Santo
Vila Baleira Porto Santo
#2 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
2,096 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pestana Ilha Dourada
Pestana Ilha Dourada
#1 of 1 in Cabeco da Ponta
64 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Porto Santo & SPA
Hotel Porto Santo & SPA
#7 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hotel Quinta Do Serrado
Hotel Quinta Do Serrado
#5 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
212 reviews
1.5 mi away
Torre Praia Hotel
Torre Praia Hotel
#6 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
264 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aparthotel Luamar
Aparthotel Luamar
#8 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Colombos All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Colombos All Inclusive

Address: Estrada Regional 120 | Sitio do Campo de Baixo, Porto Santo Island 9400, Portugal (Formerly Pestana Colombos Premium Club)
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Porto Santo Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Porto Santo Island
#1 Spa Hotel in Porto Santo Island
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Porto Santo Island
Price Range: £174 - £711 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Colombos All Inclusive 5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Colombos is a 5-star All Inclusive hotel (breakfast, lunch, dinner, snacks and domestic beverages) located on the Island of Porto Santo, on the archipelago of Madeira. Just 1 minute on foot from a beach known for being heavenly, the best beach in Portugal, with 9 km of sand, warm and crystal-clear water. This luxury hotel has an indoor swimming pool and two outdoor swimming pools, a pedestrian bridge to access the beach, a Kids Club for the little ones, as well as a spa with Jacuzzi, sauna, Turkish bath and Hamman so you can relax during your stay. For dining, we have six restaurants and two snack bars. All of the rooms are large and comfortably equipped with a bathtub, modest decor and stunning views, with free Wi-Fi and also each with a television with built-in DVD player. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pestana Colombos All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colombo`s Beach Hotel Porto Santo
Colombo`s Beach And Spa Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing