We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“choices so many”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pestana Colombos All Inclusive
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This siteis truly unique 2 different concepts together we stayed in the Columbus our large room/balcony great bed and walk in shower truly amazing
we take our travel kettle on all holidays so early morning late night drink sorted
Caravella rest for breakfast and evening meals all very good we qued Tuesday for a hour to get koi rest madeira and med restaurants all early seating but hey on holiday beef steak from koi on hotplate fantastic
all served good food
Lunchtimes we spent at the dunas bar on other site after lunch we would go to the beach it reminds me of CUBA apart from the sea but hey this is the atlantic and once you are in its bracing but you get used to it 10 euros for 2 beds 1 brolly signed for
we walked both ways once too town and back along the sea shore and is truly invigorating
Late checkout was interesting told one minute may not get one could we move room but could not guarantee either too 1600 hrs or 1800 htrs for 40 euros when we said no thanks and went back to the beach
on return too our room message on our bed said our late checkout request secured could we please go too front desk too pay too secure room intriguing ??? thank you though
YES GREAT RESORT V GOOD FOOD STAFF ALWAYS SMILING
weather cloudy morning sunbreaks around 1400 hrs and you can get burnt
Debate about rooms overlooking building site have posted 2 pictures too look at which gives you different takes on matter you can then decide

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trouttickler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martins J, General Manager at Pestana Colombos All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback is very important for us and future Guests.
It´s through guest feedback such as yours, that we are able to confirm our strong points, as well as identify any area that may require improvement. Therefore your participation has been extremely important and gratifying to us.
Regarding the late check-out i believe that was a problem of communication but in any case we always do our best to try to garantee that could be possible and the maximum later.
We would like to take this opportunity to invite you to join our loyalty program Pestana Priority Guest which is available at our website.
It was real pleasure having you as our Guest and to being of service, and we look forward to your next visit and to offering you more ‘Memorable Moments’.

João Martins
Area Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (756)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

500 - 506 of 756 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

Just returned from a weeks stay at the Hotel Colombus. First impression of the Hotel with its iron gate is it looked like a car park , dont be put off once inside it opens out to a lovely Hotel with a spectacular courtyard.

Pros
The staff in all areas, (Reception, Waiters, Housemaids, Bar Staff and Entertainment group are brilliant, nothing is too much trouble. I would give them all 5stars, they all work very hard to make this holiday perfect.

The Courtyard is very quiet if you just want to relax from it all and read a book.

The Pool Bar is great, nobody waits long to get served.

The rooms are out of this world, this is simply the best I have ever stayed in, luxury at its best.

Cons
The food in the Dining Restaurant could have been better, it was always lukewarm, could have been warmer, with a lot more selection. Salad Bar and Dessert section was perfect.

Lounge Bar
Entertainment was quite poor, piano player playing the same tunes every night over and over again. The Bar Staff are great how they manage to serve all the guests in a confined space is amazing, it would be better if Cocktails and Coffee could be served somewhere else as it takes them all their time to make cocktails, when some people only want a wine or a beer.

Just a few areas on the above that need some attention.

Overall this is a lovely hotel and I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing holiday, the Sister Hotel is well worth a visit, more goes on here, especially entertainment in the evening.

I would recommend going to The Med Restaurant, food amazing.

Beach is absolutely beautiful.

Thank you for a lovely stay also thank you for the lovely cake you gave us for our Anniversary.

Room Tip: Higher floors is best, especially sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anderson07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martins J, General Manager at Pestana Colombos All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Pestana Colombos.
It is always a pleasure to receive constructive feedback. We took note of the things we should improve and we will improve immediately.
We would like to take this opportunity to invite you to join our loyalty program Pestana Priority Guest which is available at our website.
Looking forward to welcome you in Porto Santo in a near future.
Kind regards,

João Martins
Area Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

It's all already been said - amazing staff & spotlessly clean. We had no problems with the food & the wine was very drinkable. Bed was big & comfortable & the pillows were the best in any hotel we have previously stayed at. There were a few niggly things that could have been done better when the hotel was being epuipped. The parasols by the pool are tiny & therefore don't provide enough shade & the hair dryer is positioned really badly (and possibly unsafely) on the left hand side of the washbasin. We would definately visit this hotel again but I would make sure I took a mirror for the dressing table & my own hairdryer. PLEASE BE WARNED Thomson do not have any full sea view rooms & these can only be requested (at a suppliment) on arrival. Thomson also have NO allocation of suites in the hotel building. The 'suites' they offer are inferior to the rooms & are located in seperate blocks away from the main building. The hotel provides robes & slippers but NOT to Thomson customers!

Room Tip: Full sea view rooms are the most private & are worth the supplement. Don't upgrade to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Thomsgran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martins J, General Manager at Pestana Colombos All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Your feedback is very important for us, it´s through guest feedback such as yours, that we are able to confirm our strong points, as well as identify any area that may require improvement. Therefore your participation has been extremely important and gratifying to us.
Regarding sea view rooms i confirm that there is a supplement and can be pre-booked directly with the hotel.
It was real pleasure having you as our Guest and to being of service, and we look forward to your next visit and to offering you more ‘Memorable Moments’.
Kind regards,

João Martins
Area Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We chose Porto Santo and the Pestana Colombos so we could enjoy a relaxing two week holiday from 9th to 23rd June. We weren't disappointed.

After a good flight with Thomsons we landed and were with our luggage and off to the hotel by pre-booked taxi (well worth it) in no time at all. We were met by Michaela and Vera and transferred quickly into our room. From landing to dinner in the restaurant took less than one hour! Michaela and Vera were delightful and on arrival changed our room from a duplex suite to a seafront room for the first week. For the second week we paid 90 Euros upgrade to one of the spacious two bedroomed corner suites. Real luxury and plenty of room with a large lounge/dining area, a circular shower and massive balcony.

I mention Michaela and Vera in particular but all the staff were fantastic.The manager and area director were also around lots of the time and made sure they talked to the guests to get their thoughts on the hotel. This was it's first full season but you would never have guessed.

Plenty of sun beds, very good food (the Japanese restaurant food was the only disappointment) and unlimited alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks ensured that we never wanted for anything.

The beach is incredible and the Jeep Safari with Sophia from Lazermar was well worth doing to get all the history of this small island. She has lived on the island all her life and her love of the place and it's history is infectious.

We made friends and talked to lots of fellow guests and all were singing the hotel's praises. Congratulations to the Colombos and in particular all the staff on giving it's guests a holiday experience to remember and enthuse about.

Room Tip: Seafront rooms are very spacious and an upgrade to the two bedroomed corner suites is worth it if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mgbfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martins J, General Manager at Pestana Colombos All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Your positive comments about us, in particular Vera and Micaela, have been really appreciated and we sincerely hope that your travelling plans bring you back to Porto Santo again, so we can have the pleasure of hosting you again to offer “Memorable Moments”.
Kind regards,

João Martins
Area Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Just got back from a weeks stay and would totally agree with all the positive comments. Simply ... Standard Room - one of the best we have ever stayed in ... Food - great choice and the feature restaurants all worth a look but book early ... Bars - excellent, both outside and night time ..... Courtesy Bus rakes you to town which again is well worth a visit as still very much "local" (but I expect for not much longer). Service - I feel this is what sets it apart, friendly, welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. We advised of our birthdays and they organised cakes etc. and welcomed us by name which added to the celebration.

Thanks to all the management and staff, highly recommended.

Room Tip: The standard rooms are first class so don't worry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mikehSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martins J, General Manager at Pestana Colombos All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Customer,

Thank you for taking the time to post a fantastic review regarding your recent stay at Pestana Colombos and share it with other travelers.
We were delighted to learn you had a very enjoyable time with us!
Thank you for your very kind comments regarding our staff.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our Hotel.
Warm regards,

João Martins
Area Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Spent two weeks at this hotel from 2nd June 2014, what can I say that hasn't already been said, this has to be one of the best hotels we have stayed at and it will be hard to find one better. Everything about it from the moment you arrive to the moment you leave feels personalised and special.
There are enough reviews about the facilities which I would endorse and say they are absolutely excellent. The cleanliness of the hotel is immaculate we stayed in room 2109 and although we didn't get the name of our cleaner would just like to say what a lovely woman she was, hard working and very caring - thank you.
As previous reviews have shown the staff are the making of this hotel they are the best we have ever encountered in all our worldwide travels. Joao and Angela the management team work very hard to meet everyone's needs and are genuinely interested in your feedback, they never hesitate to stop and speak to individuals and ask there opinions and genuinely listen to comments. (this is not just PR they really do care).
All the staff work very hard to ensure you have a good holiday, we would especially like to thank Pedro (who is so funny), Carlos, Adrianna, not forgetting Fabio who worked so hard, and everyone else too numerous to mention for making this such a very special holiday.
We visited three of the A la Carte Restaurants (Med, Madeira and Italian) the food in all the restaurants was excellent, although the service in the Italian was a bit slow but hey who wants to rush a meal when your on holiday.
The atmosphere created at this hotel by the staff interaction with the guests makes mixing with other guests pleasurable and easy -lots and lots of interaction and chatting.

With regards to the island and the beach - I think I have found my paradise.

thank you Pestana Colombos for a wonderful holiday, and for the cake and card on our wedding anniversary. Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kath & John

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank kathmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martins J, General Manager at Pestana Colombos All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Customer,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Pestana Colombos.
It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
We would like to take this opportunity to invite you to join our loyalty program Pestana Priority Guest which is available at our website.
Looking forward to welcome you in Porto Santo paradise,

João Martins
Area Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I can only guess negative reviews were aimed to keep other travellers away as this is an hidden gem if you're looking for a quiet relaxing holiday- if you want to go on lots of trips and can't sit still then Porto Santo is not for you. The hotel - we had a standard room and one of best I have seen anywhere in the World, we did look at pool villas for family trip but the main drawback were that not every one staying in the villa would have a room as nice as in the main hotel and further from all inclusive food and drinks but would make an excellent holiday home if the island was easier to access.
Food - good selection on buffets pity coffee was from a machine at breakfast but you can order espresso from the waiters and mix your own latte, went to maderian a la carte which was very nice but Luigi's was terrible in fact we walked out! Service was poor and fly in wine which waiter didn't seem to notice plus it was corked and my lasagne was super heated I suspect in a microwave pizza was awful too - if you want an Italian meal then the restaurant outside of the hotel comes highly recommended
Cocktail bar was our favourite evening spot and they are good - loved Paoulo's special g&t, almond sours and perstana fizz and next day liquid kitchen juice to detox!
General - to see the entire island rent a city bubble from the guy near reception it was 35 euros for 4 hours which was plenty what a blast

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank snowmanfrost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martins J, General Manager at Pestana Colombos All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear "snowmanfrost",

Your feedback is very important for us.
It´s through guest feedback such as yours, that we are able to confirm our strong points, as well as identify any area that may require improvement. Therefore your participation has been extremely important and gratifying to us. Please accept my apologies regarding the meal you didn't enjoy.
We would like to take this opportunity to invite you to join our loyalty program Pestana Priority Guest which is available at our website.
It was real pleasure having you as our Guest and to being of service, and we look forward to your next visit and to offering you more ‘Memorable Moments’.
Kind regards,

João Martins
Area Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto Santo Island hotels
0.5 mi away
Vila Baleira Resort Porto Santo
Vila Baleira Resort Porto Santo
#2 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
2,148 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pestana Ilha Dourada
Pestana Ilha Dourada
#1 of 1 in Cabeco da Ponta
70 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Porto Santo & SPA
Hotel Porto Santo & SPA
#7 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hotel Quinta Do Serrado
Hotel Quinta Do Serrado
#5 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
212 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aparthotel Luamar
Aparthotel Luamar
#8 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
107 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Praia Dourada
Hotel Praia Dourada
#9 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Colombos All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Colombos All Inclusive

Address: Estrada Regional 120 | Sitio do Campo de Baixo, Porto Santo Island 9400, Portugal (Formerly Pestana Colombos Premium Club)
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Porto Santo Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Porto Santo Island
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Porto Santo Island
#1 Luxury Hotel in Porto Santo Island
Price Range: £159 - £722 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Colombos All Inclusive 5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Colombos is a 5-star All Inclusive hotel (breakfast, lunch, dinner, snacks and domestic beverages) located on the Island of Porto Santo, on the archipelago of Madeira. Just 1 minute on foot from a beach known for being heavenly, the best beach in Portugal, with 9 km of sand, warm and crystal-clear water. This luxury hotel has an indoor swimming pool and two outdoor swimming pools, a pedestrian bridge to access the beach, a Kids Club for the little ones, as well as a spa with Jacuzzi, sauna, Turkish bath and Hamman so you can relax during your stay. For dining, we have six restaurants and two snack bars. All of the rooms are large and comfortably equipped with a bathtub, modest decor and stunning views, with free Wi-Fi and also each with a television with built-in DVD player. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., Ebookers, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Pestana Colombos All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colombo`s Beach Hotel Porto Santo
Colombo`s Beach And Spa Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing