We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect little hotel in Porto Santo!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Quinta Do Serrado
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, UK
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Perfect little hotel in Porto Santo!”
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We have just returned from a 2 week holiday here and it was one of the most relaxing holidays we have ever had. The hotel was perfect for us! During the day we both relaxed around the small peaceful pool with sunbeds and parasols and ordered lunch at the lovely restaurant (which served either a full menu or a snack menu). The hotel staff were fantastic and there was a courtesy bus which takes you down to the beach each day. We did hire a car during the second week and went to most amazing parts of the beach….the ocean was crystal clear and warm and the sand was so white! Even though the food at Quinta Do Serrado was good, we were not half board and really enjoyed using local restaurants courtesy bus services; I would recommend Panorama, Casa De Ava and Torres (which is a 15 min walk away). We booked the spa every day, it was very nice! Our room was spacious and cleaned every day and the breakfast had enough choice to satisfy us for the 2 weeks. I would recommend this hotel if you want a relaxing holiday away from the hustle and bustle!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Trinibelini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    49
    17
    5
    2
See reviews for
26
146
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

This hotel is built into the mountains in the old traditional style.

From the hotel you can climb up to Pico Castello . Well worth the climb - the views are great.
There are also many other tracks and trails you can take.

The hotel owner Manuel and his family and staff can't do enough for you. One evening Manuel took us on an evening tour to see Porto Santo by night.
He also hosts the Sardine farewell lunch - well worth attending.

Rooms are spacious and spotless thanks to housekeepers Maria and Rita.
Michaela the receptionst was always on hand to help. Book the spa it is wonderful and you get
sole use of it.
All the restaurant staff are great, special mention for Natecia ( Poncha Girl ) who looked after us so well. We ate in the restaurant most nights good food and wine.
Thurdays was a tropical evening with entertainment from an accordion player.

Very chilled out relaxing holiday.
Would definitely go back to Porto Santo and the Quinta Do serrado.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank FaffAndLol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

If it's peace and quiet and complete relaxation you're looking for then look no further than this resort and the hotel Quinta Do Serrado.

Porto Santo is like the land that time forgot, it is so unspoilt and almost untouched by tourism.

The inimitable Manuel and his staff made our holiday extra special and I must say his team are a credit to him - special mention here for Natecia, for whom nothing was too much trouble. She is an excellent waitress with a good command of English and always eager to learn more.

I can only echo the comments of other reviewers when I say that the hotel facilities are first class. We dined in the restaurant almost every evening of our 14 night stay and the standard of cuisine was excellent. Full marks to the chef!!

We would not hesitate in returning and will definitely be recommending the Hotel Quinta do Serrado to our family and friends.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank CleveleysWendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

One of the most relaxing holidays we have ever had! The Hotel has excellent facilities, including the Spa which we used every day for 1 or sometimes 2 hours. After walking the tracks in the morning, it was bliss to relax in the sauna, or steam room, and chill in the jacuzzi while looking out over stunning views. It also has a small exercise room, tropical shower, music station (take your own mp3 jack, memory stick, or CD's) toilets & showers, & balcony, So a private place to chill.
Free internet access, a well stocked book swap library, cable tv in rooms & sky tv in the bar give you plenty to do.
The breakfast is a great mix of hot, cold, fruit, cerial, cake, and more. If its not there, just ask. The one eveing meal we had there was good too, although, trying a different restaurant each night, we did find better.
It is around a one hour walk into town/beach, all downhill, and 7euros back in a taxi. The hotel does offer a curtesy bus service at certain times. We decided to hire a car as it was only 23 euros a day, and gave us freedom to come and go as we pleased, as well as finding lots of little 'tucked away' coves, bays, and restaurants. You can easily drive every road on the island in half a day, but we (carefully) followed any track we found just to see where it went, and found some lovely spots to stop, get out the cool bag and chill for a while!
This is deffinately a relaxing island holiday, so if you're after bars, clubs and fast food, it wont be for you. The busiest restaurant we ate at had around 10 other diners at the most.
The only fault (not complaint) I could find with the hotel is having no fridge in the room. As we had the car, a cool bag, and bag of ice from the shop was good enough for us to have chilled water, snacks, and beer all day.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Slidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

A beautiful, peaceful, and clean family run hotel with lovely friendly staff, they make you feel very welcome and will help with everything and anything - just ask! Every member of the team are total stars!!!

We had an excellent holiday, spending many hours walking, taking photo's of the great views, swimming (in the sea) and relaxing on the clean unspoilt beach.

Ensure you attend the farewell lunch on your last day - most enjoyable!!! Mind you we did have a great group of holiday mates - Cheers guys!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Julia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Having sampled the delights of the five star, all inclusive Pestana Hotel and falling in love with Porto Santo last year, we decided to go back to the Island and stay in the Quinta Do Serrado for 2 weeks in order to sample the real flavour of the Island and get out and about to put some of our holiday spending money into the local economy.

Porto Santo is one of the last places in Europe left to be discovered by mainstream holidaymakers and despite fairly strict building controls on the Island, now is most certainly the time to visit as development is taking place around the golf course and there is a skeleton of a hotel on the coast waiting to be finished when the economy improves. A place of contrast with arguably one of the best and longest sandy beaches in the World and tall volcano’s which provide wonderful walking opportunities with rewarding views at the top.

We’ve travelled extensively around the World and in our opinion the QDS was one of the cleanest and best run establishments we have ever had the pleasure of staying in. High spots included attentive and friendly staff, well appointed rooms with balcony, internet room (free) and well stocked library with British books, exceptional spa facilities, excellent restaurant and bar with terrace and a great place for watching sunset to name a few. However, what we really liked was the total peace and solitude of the place. No traffic noise, no light pollution (star gazers paradise), no hawkers or hassle, just a laid back, recharge your batteries kind of place. A special mention has to be given to Mr Santos (aka Mein Host) who deserves credit for the way this wonderful place is run. He is a delightful man who entertains and looks after his customers... when you leave you’ll feel like part of his family.

We will most certainly be back

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the swimming pool are the best sited
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Cardiff_Jet_Setter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

We have just returned from an idyllic week at this special hotel. If you are looking for somewhere to utterly relax and allow the hours each day to gently drift away, then this is the place for you. It nestles at the bottom of a pico (hill) in the countryside, away from the main town and beach.The area surrounding the hotel is a walkers paradise as long as you are fit!

The town is only 10 minutes away. The owner of the hotel has a people carrier which he uses to ferry guests to the town each morning at 10:30 and picks up again at 18:30. If you want to come back sooner, a taxi is Eur 6-7ish. The town isn't exactly bustling; there are only a handful or shops and a few restaurants. This was the first week of the season so later in the year it may get a bit busier.

Our room was on the 1st (top) floor at the end overlooking the gardens. It was spacious, well appointed with everything we could need. The beds were comfy, linen changed every day and extra blankets and pillows stored in the wardrobe, which had plenty of hangers. We had a balcony with chairs and a table which had sunlight in the morning but not in the afternoon so the room stayed cool. There was an air conditioning unit in the room but we had no need to use it.

A bottle of water was left on the dresser, but it cost 3 Eur and I thought that a bit expensive. But then again, that it natural for a hotel. We bought water in the town, where it was much cheaper. The bathroom was spacious with a bath and shower over, sink, toilet and bidet. As with the bed linen, the towels were changed every day and we always had plenty. A hair-dryer was provided in the bathroom along with a box containing, a variety of soap, shampoo, conditioner, shower/bath oil etc. One thing to mention. It takes ages for hot water to come out of the taps so don't panic. There is no need to worry about wasting water as the island has an abundance of water for personal use as they have a desalination plant. But, they get very, very little rainfall so the outside area's around the island are very, very brown. There was virtually no green anywhere to be seen. The room also had a TV with a lot of channels, including BBC and Sky news - though who'd want to watch TV when on holiday baffles me.

There are lots of stairs around the site. both inside and out so if you have an aversion to stairs or find them difficult, this may be something to consider.

The whole of the building both inside and out is in excellent repair, with lots of lovely furnishings and is spotlessly clean. There are terraces of gardens surrounding the sides and front of the hotel which are well kept with an abundance of different flowers, cacti and shrubs. Also, there are a couple of ponds which although lovely to look at, house a number of frogs that do make a racket at times though not at night so really they don't disturb. Lots of birds visit the gardens and we were lucky to see a Hoopoe on a couple of occasions, which is quite rare I understand. They also have outside a small, unheated, swimming pool, surrounded by loungers and umbrella's. It is cleaned every day and made a lovely place to relax.

The restaurant / and bar is adjacent to an outside seating area so you can choose to eat in-doors or outside, whatever takes your fancy. It is used for breakfast, that is buffet style consisting of breads/rolls croissants, cereal,yoghurt, tea, coffee, and juice.They also include bacon and eggs should you want. For lunch, they have a day menu of sandwiches and omelettes etc,. The evening menu was adequate though it could do with a bit more imagination and more variety as it never changed whilst we were there. However, we ate in the restaurant every night and each meal was excellent and could not be faulted at all. However, if you want something specific, all you have to do is ask, give notice, and the staff with do their utmost to accommodate you. Definitely have a jug of Sangria - absolutely marvellous.

We were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary and were surprised with a bottle of champagne and a bowl of fruit in our room. I thought this a nice touch.

One really lovely feature in what is a small hotel, is the spa. It is on the 1st floor and quite secluded. Usage is by appointment as they need notice to prepare it as after each use, it is cleaned and made ready for the next guest. They have a jacuzzi, sauna, steam room, Turkish shower, changing rooms and an ordinary shower. It is a most peaceful and relaxing area. We used it several times during the day, but it can also be used at night. They have candles dotted around so I imagine it would be absolutely lovely and romantic

Manuel Santos, the owner, could not do enough for his guests. Nothing was too much and any suggestions were taken on board straight away. He was incredibly generous and perhaps at times over exuberant but really, it was all to ensure his guests wanted for nothing. The other staff, the majority of which are his relations, are also keen to accommodate every wish that the customer should want. They speak good English so language barriers wouldn't be an issue.

I would say that the hotel would be appropriate for couples, friends, business and solo, though I would not suggest families with children under 16.

We loved Quinta Do Serrado and will definitely return. If we were able, we would go again towards the end of this year but we have already made alternative arrangements. So, it will be in May next year again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Susie2201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto Santo Island hotels
2.6 mi away
Hotel Porto Santo & SPA
Hotel Porto Santo & SPA
#7 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
202 reviews
3.4 mi away
Pestana Colombos Premium Club
Pestana Colombos Premium Club
#1 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
684 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pestana Ilha Dourada - Hotel & Villas
Pestana Ilha Dourada - Hotel & V...
#1 of 1 in Cabeco da Ponta
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Praia Dourada
Hotel Praia Dourada
#9 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
126 reviews
3.8 mi away
Vila Baleira Porto Santo
Vila Baleira Porto Santo
#3 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
1,901 reviews
2.1 mi away
Torre Praia Hotel
Torre Praia Hotel
#6 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Quinta Do Serrado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Quinta Do Serrado

Property: Hotel Quinta Do Serrado
Address: Sitio do Pedregal, Porto Santo Island 9400-010, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Porto Santo Island
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Porto Santo Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Quinta Do Serrado 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Quinta Do Serrado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing