We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Truly Wonderful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Quinta Do Serrado
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Much of the praises for this hotel have already been worded and in my opinion are well justified.
This is a wonderfully intimate little hotel of 22 rooms and just how we like it. Within days we were on first name terms with most of the staff and indeed, our characteristic owner, who could not do any more to please or help their guests any more if they tried.
The hotel itself is a characteristic hotel built to a high standard from stone and wood and blends in well into the mountainside with its peaceful gardens and small pool. The silence is only interrupted by the birds, frogs and erm, crickets. Our room (202) was roomy, a small balcony through the patio doors, the furnishings inside minimalistic, but more than adequate and comfortable and kept clean daily by our friendly cleaning ladies. Air conditioning is also on tap at no extra charge. The bathroom had everything one could ask for and had an almighty powerful shower, with, unusually for any hotel, almost instant hot water.
The Spa upstairs was a delight with a sauna, steam room, tropical shower small gym and a jacuzzi. The build standard again superbly done although sadly the temperature of the jacuzzi wasn't working properly.
There's also a small library room with television and a large enough array of books to please almost anyone with a computer nearby for guest use.
A restaurant and bar, full of character and colour is attached to the hotel which leads out to a terrace that overlooks the gardens.
We stayed B&B and a buffet style breakfast had everything one could wish for from a cooked brekky of bacon, eggs and beans to cereals, cakes, fruits cheeses and ham and toast. If I had to nitpick, then I have to say that I was disappointed with the water for the tea being tepid. A cuppa in the morning is how I always start my day and there's nothing worse than a lukewarm cuppa.
The hotel is set in the mountains which gives a wonderful sense of ambience and solitude but also has the drawback of being some distance from the beach. A courtesy bus is laid on by Manuel to drop and collect guests or it is a 50 minute pleasant stroll downhill if one wishes to walk. Needless to say we caught taxis back up if we didn't take use of the bus back. On a couple of occasions as we walked down, Pedro, the owners son, caught us and offered a lift and on the second Manuels wife also gave us a lift down. Another drawback of being in the mountains, (at least whilst we were there), is the morning clouds giving a cloudy atmosphere to the start of the day. This usually cleared by about mid day though.
A leaving do BBQ, cooked by the owner no less, is provided for 12 Euro for those who wish and I recommend heartily. And as we all gathered on the terrace in the late afternoon for the bus to the airport, a round of liqueurs for us all was provided and all the ladies were presented with a rose.
Would I recommend this hotel? Yes, without a doubt, but it would not be for everybody. If you want thousands of screaming kids, queuing for breakfasts and repetitive buffet dinners, drinks in plastic cups,karaoke, fighting for sunbeds, burger and chips for lunch and dinner then this place is not for you.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank davefking1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel S, Owner at Hotel Quinta Do Serrado, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Dear "davefking1954",

Thank you for your time in placing a review related with your stay at Quinta do Serrado Hotel.
We are glad you have enjoyed your holiday and had the opportunity to relax!
We look forward to welcome you again in our hotel.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

142 - 148 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2013

A great hotel. Wonderful staff, spotless throughout hotel including rooms, spa and restaurant.

Food in restaurant excellent. Hotel manager and staff could not do enough to make sure your stay was memorable and first class. Very laid back.

It is a 50 minute walk from hotel to beach but you can get the courtesy bus to the beach/town each day with a return to the hotel in the evening.

The island is small and the people very friendly.

Beaches are long and sandy.

We visited Porto Santo for a relaxing holiday and that is what we got. The hotel is located in the hills. It is very quiet and peaceful.

There is a maximum 5 minute transfer from airport to hotel and you don't hear the planes as there were only 2 flights a day.

We had not heard of Porto Santo before we visited but we would return and recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna1964_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel S, Owner at Hotel Quinta Do Serrado, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Dear "Donna1964_04"
Thank you for choosing Quinta do Serrado Hotel for accommodation on our Golden Island.
We are proud of the positive comments that you addressed, being also an incentive for us to a constant improvement of our services.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you to our Hotel in the near future.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Having just returned from Porto Santo – I thought I would share a few thoughts, primarily on the Hotel at which we stayed.
Whenever you try somewhere new, there is always a degree of trepidation – does the hotel live up to expectation, how is the food etc.
The hotel is outside of “town” - so quite secluded really, and therefore quiet – the only noise you will hear at night are the crickets! The hotel is built in a “rustic” style – very nice, very high quality and spotlessly clean.
The staff are not only friendly – they are also very genuine – there is nothing they won't do to help – I think it fair to say “service with a personal touch” - they are all a credit to the establishment.
The owner too is ever present – not some remote figure just interested in profit – he makes his presence felt in every aspect of the running of the business – including driving the “bus” with built in tours of the island!
The restaurant is again perfect – a lovely setting inside and out – we only ate inside during our stay – it was a bit chilly at night. The food was superb – fresh, perfectly done – my personal recommendation would be the kebab and of course the octopus – my partner would recommend the lamb and the tuna. Again, the staff here could not do enough for you – normally, we don't eat in hotels – but this was different.
Our room (202) was perfect – two large beds put together, cleaned every day, again spotless, as was the bathroom – we had a lovely little terrace with a sea view – the air con and TV all worked as they should – and again, the peace was heavenly!
So, we would like to express our gratitude to all at Quinta do Sorrado for making our stay just perfect – we would be more than happy to visit again.


Porto Santo itself is a little gem – if you are looking for a peaceful holiday off the beaten track. There is little to spend your money on apart from food (oh joy) – there are some excellent restaurants – I would highly recommend “Velho Dragoeiro” which is on the next street up from the main drag - and “Torres” up in Camacha. As for coffee shops, try the “juice bar” - not only is the coffee good, but the cakes are too die for!


The main attraction I suppose is the beach – and what a beach – miles of it, clean, almost empty, with the Atlantic clean and warm – you could not ask for better.


To sum up – head for Porto Santo – as yet, an undiscovered gem – give yourself a treat with the Quinta do Sorrado!

Room Tip: We stayed in 202 - very quiet, but with a nice see view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel S, Owner at Hotel Quinta Do Serrado, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Dear Kristian W

We appreciate your comments regarding your experience at Quinta do Serrado Hotel and Restaurant.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive and constructive feedback and we hope to have the opportunity in the near future to welcome you.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We have just returned from a week at the Quinta Do Serrado and although it is tucked out of the way it is lovely. The hotel is absolutely gorgeous and Manuel and his staff are great, nothing is too much trouble and they will go out of their way to help you. The rooms are lovely and clean and the towels are changed daily. There is a spa with sauna, tropical shower and jacuzzi which was great.
The weather was a bit strange, very cloudy but it is not usually like that and when you went to the beach it was sunshine.
The food at the hotel was really lovely. There was plenty of choice for breakfast, cereal, toast, eggs and bacon, fresh fruit, croissants, yogurts, cakes, fresh fruit salad, fruit, tea, coffee and orange juice. We also ate at the hotel a few times during our stay and the food was excellent, the tuna was amazing and also the stuffed chicken with cheese and spinach. On the last day we had a BBQ which was cooked by Mr Santos which was really tasty.
It is situated in the hills and there are great walks to be had, I never walk at home but really enjoyed it there. Wherever we went the people were lovely and really friendly. We made some new friends there and will certainly go back again next year.

Room Tip: We had room 103 which is on the ground floor overlooking the pool, it was very quite but then I thin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kris5011959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel S, Owner at Hotel Quinta Do Serrado, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Dear "kris5011959"

Thank you for choosing Quinta do Serrado Hotel for accommodation on our Golden Island.
We are proud of the positive comments that you addressed, being also an incentive for us to a constant improvement of our services.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you to our Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We chose Porto Santo on our travel agents recommendation having never heard of it before and were not disappointed. Friendly, quiet and peaceful, it gave us just the holiday we wanted. Hotel Quinta Do Serrado was perfect for us - the staff were great as was the food. We ate in every night not just to eat well but to enjoy the company of other guests. Situated in an attractive location with great views it's a great getaway. The courtesy taxi laid on by the hotel was welcome when not feeling like walking into the town or beach. The family who own the hotel live in ensuring that high standards are maintained.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel S, Owner at Hotel Quinta Do Serrado, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Dear Keith

Thank you for choosing Quinta do Serrado Hotel for accommodation on our Golden Island.
We are proud of the positive comments that you addressed, being also an incentive for us to a constant improvement of our services.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you to our Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Our first holiday away without the kids so we wanted to stay somewhere where we could explore and have a nice quite week as were also celebrating a 'special birthday'. We knew the island was small but were amazed how small it was when we flew in, awesome! The million other people on our plane were herded into a fleet of coaches where we were simply escorted to a minibus and traveled with one other couple in the complete opposite direction from the rest, phew! Apart from the surrounding grass and foliage being brown instead of lush green as it was on the holiday brochure images, it was just as we expected, a delightful place and we were very pleased when we were escorted to our room, we had requested a quite room and were allocated room #201, the furthest away from reception and right at the end of a corridor that only led to a fire escape so there was virtually no need for anyone to pass out door, that was a great move and we are so grateful that they listened to our request. equally the balcony was on the end of the path that only leads up to the top of the creek and therefore no-one passed by. The large room had two single beds pushed together, this is nothing new and was fine by us, The light sheets and blankets were more than adequate, plenty of pillows and extra layers were to hand. Plenty of storage space for unpacking and the bathroom was very nice, it had a full size bath with shower mixer-tap, large basin and plenty of room to spread your toiletries about. nice clean towels a-plenty If anyone has not experienced it before, its the norm to put toilet paper in a bin instead of flushing , its OK, don,t be scared, just go with the flow and please don't ignore the rule, they have to recycle as much water as possible and its for the good of everyone. The breakfast for us was included, a really good buffet style but i will give you an idea of what you had the choice of... Either bacon or sausages, depending on the day, and scrambled egg with baked beans all in help-yourself terrines, proper sliced bread (brown and white) with a proper toaster, baguettes, Croissants, Small pastries (have at least 2 a day, they are amazing) ham, cheese, spam like slices, fresh fruit and fruit salad (not tinned!), cereal and muesli, yogurts, cake, marmalade and jams, honey, fresh juices, filter coffee,a coffee machine for other types of coffee, hot water for tea, Black teabags that were UK strength and flavoured versions, fresh cold milk and warm milk for the coffee - they had it all covered! We were lucky enough to also have an evening meal included as we were half board, i know that option is not always available but it was great for us, a simple choice of meat or fish each day as a main, a choice of two or three starters and the same for deserts. My wife is vegetarian so they made here something different every day, mainly asking what she fancied where we were there and created her a main meal on the spot, fantastic. Please check my review of the restaurant separately where i can elaborate. The swimming pool was small and cold but OK to sit around the edge and dangle your legs in to cool off. There was a nice private Spa with Sauna, Steam room (with use of one or the other), Jacuzzi, shower, toilets and a great view, book at reception to get it to yourself for an hour. there was also a small glass-fronted room with a stunning view and a rowing machine and a exercise bike i think (didn't venture in really so may not be 100% accurate) the external dining area and BBQ were great, the whole place was spotless. I cannot impress on you all, and give enough gratitude to the staff, they were all amazing, from the hilarious Miceala on reception to the waitresses and cleaning staff and the wonderful Manuel, he was a real star, honest, funny, hard working and the best taxi-driver around. If they offer the 10:30am and 6:30pm shuttle services, take advantage, dropping and collecting from the center of the town giving access to the beach walks, shopping, eating and walking through the resort. if you don't fit around these time, taxis back were between 7.00 & 8.50 Euros back and the rank is where you get dropped off, right near the supermarket where 1.5 ltr of water can be bought for 0.33 Euro (Really!). we hired a quad from the Kiosk where you get dropped off, we did look around and there was only about 5 Euros in it, so 50.00 Euros buys you 24 hours of the best fun you can have with your clothes on! you can go off-road for hours, especially at the far end. of the runway as its all dirt tracks and open fields where you can go right to the edges of the cliffs on that side of the island as there are no accessible beaches.i used it for most of the daylight hours and i think it cost me 8.00 Euros in fuel! we opted to splash out on a ferry trip to Madeira, there was a travel agent linked to the ferry company who charges 99.00 Euros each for the Thursday evening (sailed at 7:30pm - 2 1/2 hour crossing) ferry there, a night in a 3 or 4 star hotel with breakfast and the return ferry Friday evening (sailed again at 7:30pm) they picked us up from our hotel and met the return ferry and delivered us back within that price, i think it was worthwhile, Funchal is lovely, take the cable car up and down but the Botanical gardens at the top you have to pay to get in seemed expensive so we didn't go in there, we found that the free ones and the general views were adequate. its a long day walking about but there is plenty to see, just pack light so you don't have to carry a heavy bag around with you. Porto Santo is somewhere i would love to live if i didn't have to work, we both fell in love with it and will return as soon as possible before everyone else finds out about it and you cannot get the flights, please go.

Room Tip: Room 201 is very quite and right out of the way
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GlenPritchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel S, Owner at Hotel Quinta Do Serrado, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2013

Dear Glen,

Thank you for choosing Quinta do Serrado Hotel for accommodation on our Golden Island.
We are proud of the positive comments that you addressed, being also an incentive for us to a constant improvement of our services.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you to our Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

When we were collected from the airport and driven up into the hills we were a little concerned at how far it seemed to be away from the beach/town, and on the first day although we got the free courtesy bus down, having walked virtually the whole beach walking back UP the hill at the end of the day was not the best idea as it wore out even even my husband who runs regularly at home, but thereon we walked down to town every day and really enjoyed the 50 minute walk, using it as a workout following the lovely breakfast at the hotel. Most days we used the free courtesy bus back in the evening and although some others seemed to find a whole day on the beach/in the town too long, we didn't. The staff - Tanya (Miceala) is fantastic, will do anything for anyone, the most helpful and kindest receptionist I've ever met (and we've stayed in a LOT of hotels!). The other staff are equally as kind and friendly, but for us Tanya was the best :-). Improvements? Some are needed to take this to 4 star for me, at a minimum we should be able to make a cuppa in our room, or be able to get drinks perhaps around the pool. The hairdryers - well, I wish I'd taken one with me it was hardly more than a breath of hot air. The pool was chilly as the sun had not been out much and that may be why it was not kept that clean of all of the kamikhazee grasshoppers, but I think investment in a cover at night would be worth it. Overall the rooms are comfortable, 3euros is a little OTT for a similar bottle of water that can be got for 80c in the Pingo supermarket, and 10euros a week for a safe seems steep, think this should be a returnable deposit if the key is lost. We had asked for a quiet room and got it but weirdly it had a double that seemed smaller than most others who had two singles pushed together and we hate fighting with sheets and blankets but understand the layering is for a reason. We have a kingsize at home so struggled for the first few nights, but quickly adapted. Room cleaned daily by two lovely and friendly chambermaids, who also went the extra mile for us on our last night :-) :-). The restaurant is very good, the alacarte has a fabulous choice but even the set menu gives two choices daily and for 3 courses at 18euros is very reasonable. Alternatives - there are plenty, give them a go - Torres is simple food (only a choice of chicken, ribs or octopus) but incredibly friendly and very reasonable. The golf course restaurant is well worth a visit, as was Pe ne Agua, Alencastre, and many others. Many do pick ups and the hotel has a list at reception of which ones do and are very willing to make the bookings for you even though it takes trade away from themselves! The leaving lunch BBQ was very good, served by the host himself, and the parting liqueur drink and rose for each lady was a very lovely touch. We were just 2 of 8 guests in the first week and loved the personal attention, which didn't change even on the second week with many more guests. This is a great hotel and the only one I would pick on the island if we were to return. Hire a quad bike, its cheaper for 24 hours as for 2 on the jeep safari for 3 hours, and well worth every penny. We saw every nook and cranny of this beautiful island with amazing views, a fab beach and v friendly people.

Room Tip: 212 is virtually over reception and was lovely and quiet, but does have a double and not too singles...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CazzaJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel S, Owner at Hotel Quinta Do Serrado, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2013

Dear "CazzaJane"
Thank you for choosing Quinta do Serrado Hotel for accommodation on our Golden Island.
We are proud of the positive comments that you addressed, being also an incentive for us to a constant improvement of our services.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you to our Hotel in the near future.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto Santo Island hotels
4 mi away
Pestana Ilha Dourada
Pestana Ilha Dourada
#1 of 1 in Cabeco da Ponta
70 reviews
3.8 mi away
Vila Baleira Resort Porto Santo
Vila Baleira Resort Porto Santo
#2 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
2,147 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Porto Santo & SPA
Hotel Porto Santo & SPA
#7 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Torre Praia Hotel
Torre Praia Hotel
#6 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
265 reviews
3.4 mi away
Pestana Colombos All Inclusive
Pestana Colombos All Inclusive
#1 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
756 reviews
3.7 mi away
Aparthotel Luamar
Aparthotel Luamar
#8 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Quinta Do Serrado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Quinta Do Serrado

Address: Sitio do Pedregal, Porto Santo Island 9400-010, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Porto Santo Island
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Porto Santo Island
Price Range: £47 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Quinta Do Serrado 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Quinta Do Serrado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing