We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Quinta Do Serrado
Certificate of Excellence
Battle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A really nice stay”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Have to agree with just about all the good things said about this hotel. Lovely location (especially if you are a walker) about 15 minutes and 40 minutes to the start of two of the "official" walks, and about 40 minutes down to town and that incredible beach.
All of the staff are very friendly and helpful - be prepared for your first Portugese language lesson on day 1 from the chambermaids.
Room was very comfotable and had everything you needed apart from the previously mentioned lack of kettle & fridge, but that's not the end of the world.
The courtesy bus back up the hill after a hard day on the beach is also very handy.
Hopefully we will be back

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ray W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    49
    17
    5
    2
See reviews for
26
146
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

My husband and I chose this hotel as we were looking for a holiday to get away from the stresses of life back home. The hotel is North of the island and is about a 40 min walk to the main town or a 5 min drive. The staff at the hotel are very friendly and welcoming and are always more than happy to assist if you need any help arranging taxi's or trips. If you are looking for a peaceful relaxing hotel this is the one for you, we got to know all of the other guests by the end of the holiday and the owner put on a good bye BBQ which was very enjoyable. I would advise taking your walking shoes as this island has some amazing views from the top of the mountains or walking around the coast. We will be definitely going back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nicki c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

In August the cloudy start to the day made a welcome reprieve from the Summer sun. Though it wasn't always cloudy, it meant that we could go walking - from the top of the hills behind the hotel you can get a 360degree view of the island which was fantastic. We like exploring and I would heartily recommend the jeep safari as the best way to learn about the island and see fantasic sights. The guides were very knowledgeable, they didn't need a script and took care to answer everyone's questions as well, and it was by far the best excursion we have ever been on.The beach to the south of the island - not far away as the island is the length of the runway - had an amazing 9k long beach totally uncrowded. You can get a lift down to it, taxi or walk. But we loved the hills - take some walking shoes with you!
We liked the waitress service - half board was by far the best option - more shelter outside for after the meal would have been even better. The rooms were lovely - roomy, quiet and clean.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orpington, Kent
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Amen to all the previous positive comments on the QDS and I struggle to think what else to add! I should love to return knowing that what you get is exactly what it says on the tin!

A five minute transfer in a minibus delivered us – a brilliant start to a very peaceful holiday. My partner and I had done our homework on the location so were not disappointed with the isolated location. Whilst I cannot be ageist, I thought the hotel more suitable to guests a little older than thirty/forty somethings – whose needs perhaps differ somewhat from those like us in their mid-sixties who simply enjoy walking and are without mobility problems.

Our quiet first floor room was delightful (kept perfectly clean by housekeeping with regular changes of linen etc.) although could be a little noisy when guests were talking below us on the terrace as chatter did tend to travel – particularly late at night but this wasn’t a problem.

The restaurant (we opted for half board) was excellent value and quality and my only criticism would be that the portions were simply too huge and never once did we manage a dessert. The weather during our week was very changeable and chilly at night which meant few occasions to enjoy dinner on the more relaxed terrace; eating inside was a little crowded – tables very close together but that increased conversation and you quickly got to know all about your neighbour. There was a staff shortage (the reason was explained to us) which increased the work load for the remaining staff – but they were always cheerful and we never had to wait long for a pre-dinner drink on the terrace nor was it necessary to ask for anything twice. If indeed you wanted to eat elsewhere, the reception staff was more than happy to book this and arrange transport – most accommodating. Enjoyed the farewell barbecue cooked by Manuel – what a character and the drink before departure was a nice gesture!

We booked the spa for an hour – a treat to have it all to ourselves and thoroughly enjoyed the steam room and jacuzzi.

The pool is small – we knew this in advance having done the research – but a real treat to fall into following a long, hot walk.

The only things to improve our stay would be to see a hospitality tray and maybe a mini fridge in the room and not to have to pay E3 for a bottle of water when the same could be bought for about E0.75 elsewhere.

Room Tip: Our first floor room was quiet and encountered no problems re damp which we heard about from other g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maggi49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Myself and my husband (both early 30s) have just come back from a week staying at the Quinta Do Serrado Hotel. Firstly, the staff our great and very helpful but we did find them a little over friendly and unfortunately for us we found the 'farewell drink' and rose presentation to the women a little Fawlty Towers and dated - however, appreciate some people enjoy this! We stayed initially on the ground floor and I would urge people to avoid it - your balcony is right on top and often alongside sunbathers, the beds are very small, our bathroom had some mould and the rooms were damp. However, after complaining we were moved promptly to a room on the first floor which was much nicer. We ate at the restaurant the first few nights purely because the Hotel is so isolated. We found it to be very over priced and the staff really over worked - always polite and friendly but they could do with a few more hands. One day we sat for 45 mins before getting our drinks despite asking several times. We also found the food to be really average and were both surprised it ranks so high on trip advisor. We often ate at Torres (as mentioned by others) - although it is 'rougher', the food is fab and we ate on a terrace unlike the cramped restaurant at QDS. I also can't recommend the Golf Club enough for food - cheaper than the hotel with service, ambience, views and taste so much better. They will even pick you up and drop you off after free. This is the same with most restaurants and once you suss this, you may not go back to the Hotel restaurant! However, the staff did seem reluctant to book anywhere else for you! The location is a good 45 min walk into town so the free bus is great. Being dropped at the beach for 8 hrs is far too long so the 'free bus' will either cost you a sweaty walk back to the hotel (don't do it!!) or a 7 EURO cab ride. I highly recommend a walk up PIco Castello and the jeep safari is a MUST but do it early on. We also walked to the 'hidden' beach near the hotel - be warned - it is not a beach but a rocky alcove. Very beautiful but not suitable for swimming in and we both agreed the long walk was the steepest either of us have done (you have to see it to believe it) but we did get some great photos. Overall, I think this a good solid 3 star hotel where the staff seem to try and make up for any short comings with humour and friendliness but for us, we ate and spent most of our days elsewhere and merely used this as a 'base'.

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank katelou1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I have read most of the previous reviews on Hotel Quinta do Serrado and can echo most of the positive comments made by other contributors. My wife and I have just returned from a splendid week there and shall certainly consider returning in a year or so. The hotel is relatively isolated but perfectly situated for mountain walks and gentle strolls. And this isolation is the essence of its charm - a quiet and peacefulness, not even broken by any farmyard noises!
Many have commented on how warm and friendly the staff are, and that was our experience too. The owner Manuel is a great character. I can understand why some people might regard him as eccentric and over-chatty, as he seems to constantly worry about something, bemoan the difficulties of recruiting enough staff and generally mutter about life's frustrations. But he struck us as genuinely good-hearted, and providing a round of drinks to all the guests on our last day and giving each of the women a rose was one of many nice little touches. A cross between Basil Fawlty and Del Boy gives you some idea of Manuel.
The hotel food is very good, if a little pricey. Torres Restaurant, about 15 minutes walk away, was our favourite, offering superb main courses of ribs, chicken or octopus - as others have said, don't order a starter .....
Yes, the pool is small, but if you want a pool-side holiday, don't stay here. And yes, a small fridge in the room would be a real bonus and perhaps tea and coffee making facilities. But overall this was a gem of a hotel and one we heartily recommend to like-minded travellers.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldbourne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Really a confirmation of other reviews. Rooms were excellent - large double bed (well, two big singles pushed together - very comfortable), all mod cons, no problems with hot water, very quiet at night (room 210). We had half board and the food was excellent - couldn't fault it. Note that it often didn't sound wonderful on the menu but that is due to translation - when served it was always first class. Often too much for my wife - but I'm certainly not complaining! Being a small hotel enabled us to make friends with other guests - all very amicable. The terrace serves as the bar which is fine in general but can be a little chilly later some evenings.
Also recommend the jeep safari - take this trip early on so that you can make sense of the island. The main beach is fantastic - I doubt whether you will find better anywhere else. A 40 minute pleasant walk downhill to the beach but a slog back so suggest a taxi (7 euros) - good value. Others said the closer beach on the norht side is very steep and not so good.
Overall very good value for a gentle week. Hotel service brilliant. We will return again maybe in a couple of years.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 743Pip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto Santo Island hotels
2.6 mi away
Hotel Porto Santo & SPA
Hotel Porto Santo & SPA
#7 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
202 reviews
3.4 mi away
Pestana Colombos Premium Club
Pestana Colombos Premium Club
#1 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
684 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pestana Ilha Dourada - Hotel & Villas
Pestana Ilha Dourada - Hotel & V...
#1 of 1 in Cabeco da Ponta
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Praia Dourada
Hotel Praia Dourada
#9 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
126 reviews
3.8 mi away
Vila Baleira Porto Santo
Vila Baleira Porto Santo
#2 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
1,904 reviews
2.1 mi away
Torre Praia Hotel
Torre Praia Hotel
#6 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Quinta Do Serrado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Quinta Do Serrado

Property: Hotel Quinta Do Serrado
Address: Sitio do Pedregal, Porto Santo Island 9400-010, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Porto Santo Island
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Porto Santo Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Quinta Do Serrado 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Quinta Do Serrado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing