We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a find...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Quinta Do Serrado
Certificate of Excellence
Upton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A gem of a find...”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Having searched the globe for an appropriate place to celebrate (albeit belatedly!) our 30th wedding anniversary, we found Porto Santo and decided to stay at the Hotel Quinta do Serrado. From our time of arrival and being transported to the hotel, we were given a commentary by our driver of different landmarks as we passed by. Arrival and checking in at the hotel no problems at all, completed by friendly staff who informed us that our evening meal would be served once we had freshened up and a mutual time was agreed. (This was unexpected as we thought no meal would be forthcoming on the first night.) Food throughout the holiday as on the first night was fabulous. If you are looking for a relaxing holiday were you can do as little or as much as you want to, then this is the place to go. Top marks to all of the staff who are friendly and helpful and a great asset to the hotel. From Michaela on reception (the joker!) to George (fab singing voice and so talented) to all of the waitresses and cleaning staff. They are a real joy! Plenty to see on the island considering it is so small, I was even persuaded to go on the back of a quadbike which I must admit opened up the island to us and we were able to go around at our own pace. We met a lovely bunch of people - fellow holidaymakers and of course the staff - and just wish we were back there now!!

Room Tip: Room 206 was beautiful, quiet and just above the small pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wenwoo2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    48
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
25
144
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Quiet location but, on this small island, very quick to get to the beach if that's where you want to be. Plenty of places to walk starting from and ending at this hotel, to grreat for those who want to explore on foot. Rooms comfortable and clean.
Food fine - the snack menu offers really good value. If you ask, the hotel will provide extra vegetatrian options.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimbo1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Our stay at this hotel more than exceeded our already high expectations from reading up on previous Trip Advisor comments and pictures. The hotel itself is in a great, quiet location tucked away on the north of the island and doesn't fail to impress as soon as you arrive in the hotel minibus. We decided to book half board which turned out to be a great decision as the hotel restaurant served great food with very attentive service.

What really made this a stand out hotel however was the staff. We really enjoyed our banter with reception, our Portuguese lessons from the restaurant staff and like many others have said nothing is too much trouble, just ask!

Though some might not agree (My other half included) the only improvement I can suggest is wireless internet in the bedrooms. Though it was always available in and around the dining area it would have been nice to be able to check work emails for emergencies at will rather than it taking away from the first 5 minutes of breakfast and dinner.

We'll definitely be coming back someday and I have a feeling this holiday will be very hard to top.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BassJay69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We are staying in Madeira and decided to go to Porto Santo for a few days. We picked this hotel as it is in a very quiet area of the island. Wow what a find from start to finish it was superb. The staff are so lovely and Michala the hotel receptionist is so very friendly and helpful nothing was to much trouble for her. We had a junior suite which was very nice the bed was enormous and comfy. The food was excellent and was freshly cooked on ordering. The restaurant staff were brilliant and so friendly. Would highly recommend this hotel and restaurant.

Room Tip: Junior suites are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zetamay2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We arrived home in the early hours this morning from our fantastic week's stay at Hotel Quinta Do Serrado. This was a really enjoyable relaxing break which we sorely needed. The setting is quiet & the design of the hotel good. It was immaculately clean & the great staff could not do enough to make our stay pleasant & enjoyable-in how many other hotels would the staff come out to kiss you goodbye on the cheek & wave you off to the airport?! We ended up eating in the hotel every night which we originally had not planned to do as we wanted to explore local restaurants but the food was good and the service excellent. We would recommend both the Jeep Safari & Boat Trip & think both were good value for money. Great views from the hotel & our room looked over the small pool. Great beach. If you are looking for a quiet restful holiday this is the place to do it. Wishing we were back there already. L&G

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We have just spent a week at this hotel,so sorry now it wasn't more.Nothing is to much trouble,if you want something you only have to ask. The staff are great,from bottom to top even owner Mr Santos is on hand to make your stay a pleasure. The hotel is in a rural location in the north of the island, peaceful and quiet but with great views and some lovely walks on the doorstep.A shuttle bus is available each morning at 10-30 to take you to the beach and returns to bring you back again at 6-30 in the evening,alternatively a taxi will take you for about 10 Euros each way,the hotel will provide you with a parasol and towel free of charge,something you don't get at other hotels,The rooms are lovely and very clean,the food is always fresh and delicious.There is a small village about five minutes walk away with a couple of bars and restaurants and a small supermarket. The main town as all these also and a very large supermarket and pharmacy plus souvenir shops,the beach is lovely and clean,all in all this is a great place to stay and I don't think you will find a better hotel with such friendly staff anywhere thoroughly recommended

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Lovely hotel in a quiet location of Porto Santo, great for walking good views. Very generous helpful people at hotel and everywhere on the island. Hotel provides shuttle bus into town and back or taxi is less than 10 Euros each way.
Jorge and Micaela work very hard always with a smile to look after you and Mr Santos is very entertaining and does a great barbecue, Jorge has a great singing voice. Restaurant serves good Portuguese food.
Small island well worth a visit. Chill out holiday can recommended this hotel.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto Santo Island hotels
0.0 mi away
Pestana Ilha Dourada - Hotel & Villas
Pestana Ilha Dourada - Hotel & V...
#1 of 1 in Cabeco da Ponta
23 reviews
3.4 mi away
Pestana Colombos Premium Club
Pestana Colombos Premium Club
#1 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
634 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Porto Santo & SPA
Hotel Porto Santo & SPA
#7 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Vila Baleira Porto Santo
Vila Baleira Porto Santo
#3 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
1,821 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Praia Dourada
Hotel Praia Dourada
#9 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
118 reviews
3.7 mi away
Aparthotel Luamar
Aparthotel Luamar
#8 of 10 in Porto Santo Island
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Quinta Do Serrado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Quinta Do Serrado

Property: Hotel Quinta Do Serrado
Address: Sitio do Pedregal, Porto Santo Island 9400-010, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Porto Santo Island
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Porto Santo Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Quinta Do Serrado 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Quinta Do Serrado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing