We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bood sea food”
Review of Mar E Sol

Mar E Sol
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“bood sea food”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

next to the beach, very good seafood.very honest and frendly people. love the meal right above the beach. simple but good.and fast!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank CarinaPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    30
    9
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Camberley, Surrey
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Nice friendly manager, OK food”
Reviewed 23 February 2013

We thought we were being recommended this cafe/restaurant by our tour guide, and only discovered we should have gone to Vila Alencastre 100 yards further on! Reached from the road and the beach, this is what it is - a perfectly adequate lunchtime cafe but probably not a lingering evening meal destination

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good seafood”
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We've been for a couple of days on porto santo. The restaurant is again in the hands of the former family. Try the delicious espada with bananas or also without. or "cerna", another local fish. It's so tasty. We miss also the kind and familiar service. This place will see us again. In the summer it's also a very nice place, because it's above the dunes of the 9 km long porto santo beach. U have such a nice view on the Atlantic ocean, can have some coffee and homemade pudim or cakes and icecream. The vine is also very fine. U notice, we really miss this place...

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Joachim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parma, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“What a let-down”
Reviewed 19 August 2010

We went there based on the two recommendations on tripadvisor.
They do pick you up and the people there seem rather nice and smiling. The only positive thing was the view of the sea. The food however was horrible. The soup of the day was completely tasteless, while the fish we had was not fresh and the potatoes that went with it were swimming in oil. After this bad experience we asked our hotel manager to suggest another restaurant for the following night and we had better luck. Maybe good for a beer or an ola ice-cream during the day, but not for much else. You can do better than this in Porto Santo.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Piri66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TiagoCamacho, Manager at Mar E Sol, responded to this review, 19 November 2015
In that time was here other owner. Now the restaurant became to the oldest owners since june 2011 soo the quality will be like the old times. Take care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent service and selection with a SMILE”
Reviewed 23 June 2010

We just found this by chance - But what a find - went every day for lunch after finding (7days) and never a let down. Prompt attentive service and they pay attention to any slight amendments you want to make on order. Agree with everything madeira10 (first reviewer said)
Find restaurant (also great for coffee or beer) at second set of OLA flags down towards town from Pestana and up steps on Beach- no other signs unless approaching by road.
They will also pick up from hotel

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dealbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mar E Sol also viewed

Porto Santo Island, Madeira Islands
Porto Santo Island, Madeira Islands
 
Porto Santo Island, Madeira Islands
Porto Santo Island, Madeira Islands
 
Porto Santo Island, Madeira Islands
Porto Santo Island, Madeira Islands
 

Been to Mar E Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing